Loki and the HummingbirdsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #cat6 years ago (edited)

Our new kitten has noticed the Hummingbirds feeding in our window. That didn't take long!

This is 1080 video up real close, if you look carefully you can see the Hummingbird's tongue, with little Loki creeping below! This is way too cute.

Now every time Loki walks by this window, he must be sure to check for Hummingbirds to scare away. If there are none, Loki carries on his way. However, if Loki sees a bird then he will jump at it and try to scare it away. We shower him with praise for this behavior and he seems to absolutely love it.

What Do the Hummingbirds Think?

In past posts about these little birds that grace our yard, we discuss how they will feed right from my hands when I am outside. So these birds really do trust me.

When I am outside, I have noticed the birds can see Loki. The Hummingbird will hover in front of the window, turn to the side, and angle down so one of their eyes is directly on Loki. It feels like they are asking themselves...

Is that a tiny little cat down there?

The first few times I was outside and I noticed this behavior, the birds would actually hide behind me. Like they were scared of the little kitty in the window. I explained to the birds that Loki is harmless when he is behind the glass. And I am not joking about this next part...

The little birds flew out from behind me, and drank from our feeders, even though Loki was there watching it all happen.

Now the birds do not seem to be as scared, Loki can still frighten them away if he tries. But they always come back for more and it feels like everyone is having lots of fun playing together.

I do not get the feeling Loki wants to kill the birds. Loki just wants to play with them, until they stop moving. LOL!

No worries, Loki is an indoor cat who will never go outside alone again in his life.

Nap Time

Scaring birdies away is a hard business. Very tiring, going to take a cat nap now, at the bottom of this window... With one eye open, just in case!

Sort:  

Well he sure seems to be doing his best to not get scared by LOKI ;)

While I have never got that close to bird and get a shot of them :(

Seems like you sure are lucky in that way buddy !

We shower him with praise for this behavior and he seems to absolutely love it.

Fewer things bring me more joy than one of the cats after they kill a bug in the house or scare something away from outside and giving them a little praise and and them getting all proud and happy. Great post, so awesome the new cat is having a great life with you and yours.. plus the birds (if they last).

Loki just looking for the opportunity you know it hahah

I'd say that's an awesome kind of "Kitty TV" for little Loki! And I'm sure he enjoys the view from his cat perch by the window, as well.

=^..^=

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33