BE VERY CAREFUL WITH CAT BITES!!!!

in #cats6 years ago

IMG_0058 2.jpg

So this is my wild child, I raised him from a tiny hurt kitten that I found on the road almost two years ago. He was limping bad, his back leg was hurt I believe he was tossed away unwanted like garbage. He has a kink in his tail that probably came from him being thrown......... enough said, he is our furry child now and he is spoiled rotten! He will climb me and wrap himself around my neck, just to be near Dad...... kitty Love.....

Now being a kitty Dad can be dangerous, as little furry children just love to play and boy kitties play hard. So I have had my share of battle wounds, but I wanted everyone to understand that the saliva in a cats spit has bacteria that can be lethal.

So just to let everyone know before I get started, everything did turn out OK........ but it might not have.
This is my better half's hand 24 hours after trying to put a pill in the mouth of our other cat, I don't have a photo of him he is shy. He is a very good boy, a very gentle boy, but he did not want a pill shoved down his throat.
IMG_0031.jpg

24 hours started the swelling and infection. She didn't really think much about it as she had previously had infections before and fought them off...........so, 4 days later............ emergency room, and admitted to Hospital. The infection was traveling up her arm fast and bag after bag of several antibiotics at a time were being administered.
Three doctors including an Infectious disease doctor were brought in and talk of opening up her arm to the elbow to look and remove all of the infection. They were afraid of hidden abscesses near the puncture.

IMG_0034.jpg

It got worse before it got better, with the IV not usable after a couple of days the had to put in a " pic line "( you need to look it up ) for more and more bags of different antibiotics trying to see which one was working. The hospital was so kind they let me sleep in her room on a futon, and four and a half days later the antibiotics were working and we got to go home.

We were told she might not get the full use of her hand back. I had the idea because she is a flute player ( and lead vocal in our band ) that I would just play my guitar slowly while she played the flute and we would use this to rehabilitate her hand.

Within 2 weeks, she was 70% healed and the rest came over time to about 99% !

That was two years ago and her hand is good, and as for me well when I play with my wild boy I am much more careful to not play too hard.......... well sometimes, he is my baby Mountain Lion!

Thanks everyone for reading this, @silvertop

Sort:  

Cats don't brush their teeth. Not something good to have puncture your skin. Yuck!

Posted using Partiko Android

So very true, so deadly........

howdy sir silvertop! oh my gosh man, I've never heard of anything like that from a cat bite but thanks for the warning and I'm glad your wife is recovered, wow!

It was so quick, the infection traveled fast......

howdy there silvertop..that's indeed scary so the lesson is to get to the hospital fast if it isn't healing up.

The Doctor said don't wait next time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87