9 Lives 8 to go steemCreated with Sketch.

in #cats5 years ago

a thankful nearly drowned kitty

Yai can be joor hero baby

The other day I heard a strange sound coming from the municipal drainage system and immediately knew what the combination of gurgling, whaling, and aspirated cries for help were.

I dropped everything and sprinted to the source of the struggle and found this fur baby clinging to life and fighting a strong current of grey water.

I had to lay down and extend fully into the drain and barely snatched this kitten up before it was swept through the piping of sure death.

Just moments before I had seen a black adult cat dead in the road and surmised this must have been the mom. I assumed the mother had been struck by a car but I later found out a pack of mongrel dogs had attacked her and mauled her to a gruesome end. Yikes!

Having had attempted too many rescues my wife and I were not up for taking in this fighter, unless we absolutely had to. Luckily we managed to clean it up and get it adopted the same day. He as it turns out is now one of 3 cats and very happy and healthy at his new home.

I asked Miss Shasthi if she wanted a sibling and she said no thanks dad! Spoiled rotten and wrapped around my finger..

having a heart to heart

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Oh my Gods! Thank you for rescuing her!! <3

Twas my duty as a sentient being 💜

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Well done 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks mate, simple case of right place at the right time

Posted using Partiko Android

That was quite a rescue and you all have a roommate extra now.
I hope it wont end like mom.

I am your neighbour on the Redfish Power UP League list and wish you a great day with ☘💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Yea I saw you kicking ass ! The rescue kitty has a good safe home so hopefully lives all 9 lives over many years.

Posted using Partiko Android

With 9 lives it might live longer as you. There are cats over 20 years old!

Posted using Partiko Android

My moms cat is 21 and she got her when I was 17 and still living at home..

For awhile there it seemed certain that cat would out live me. I've slowed down my wild ways but yes you're right, you never know..

I've got a turtle that will sure out live me..

Posted using Partiko Android

Good on you mate, for me the ability to show kindness and compassion to animals is the very definition of our humanity .. and it says a lot about character. :)

Thanks @perceptualflaws I can't imagine not trying to help animals in need.. 🙏

Posted using Partiko Android

Snap dude! Sadly, plenty walk on by :(

A difficult truth to process 🤕

Posted using Partiko Android

Good for you, this story made me so happy to read. Glad there was a purrfect ending😻

Posted using Partiko Android

Yesss @crypticat I was elated to be able to share a feel good, happy ending cat "tail"

Posted using Partiko Android

Well done you. I can't stand cats but I wouldn't like to see one drown in a drain.

Yeah I've found one in nearly the exact same spot that wasn't so lucky. Not a fun time at all 😔

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22