The Cailleach Warned Us

in #catsofsteemit5 years ago

So if you're unfamiliar with the odd American tradition of Groundhog Day, in early February, a groundhog named Phil does or does not see his shadow, which is supposed to predict if the warm weather is coming soon, or more cold. Phil lied. He said warm was coming, but it is cold!!!

The Cailleach, however, told the truth. If it's warm on Imbolc, it's because she is out gathering more firewood to last the rest of the winter. It was around 60° F on Imbolc. Trust the wisdom of the Crone Goddess! :)

In this vein, I told @lyndsaybowes that I'd try and get photos of Yuan burrowing, which I caught him doing the other day (normally he is not a burrowing cat). I got photos where he had halfway covered himself with the blanket, does that work? : D

Hee hee hee. The other day, the only part sticking out was an ear and part of his face. I'll keep an eye out for adorableness!

Stay warm, Steem fam!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I don't much trust that weather predicting rodent! Although we had a couple of nice days of sun, we saw a few more snowflakes this afternoon... about done with this whole "winter" thing!

I do like to "burrow," now and then... especially if there's fresh laundry, still warm from the dryer!

=^..^=

I was looking forward to the warm, but it is definitely the opposite.

We haven't had any BIG snowstorms, but we've had frequent, nonstop snowstorms, so there has always been some snow on the ground, and that is just abnormal for Denver. Usually there is enough warmth and time in between storms for it to melt!

Awwwww, stay warm! My MIL and I just did the experiment where you throw a glass of hot or boiling water outside and watch it turn into fog as it sublimates. It was very cool to try! But it is the extent of going outside that I have planned for now. :)

Cool! You should film it! I wonder how cold it has to be to do that? It's sunny out right now, but the temp reading says 12 degrees F.

Pretty sure it has to be well into the negative degrees Fahrenheit. Not sure if I can tape it, maybe a photo or two tomorrow if the conditions are right.

Cutie fur😇

Omg yes it works!! Oooh thank you Phe those photos of Yuan are purrrrfect....he looks so funny in that last one too, like really not impressed with his Hooman catching him burrowing!

"Can't I do anything without you playing paparazzi, Daddeh?"

Congratulations @phoenixwren! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 8500 comments. Your next target is to reach 9000 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Cats are such interesting creatures. My cat Hugo "holds" a blanket in his mouth when he's getting comfortable... i've always had cats and never seen a cat do that20190121_021631.jpg

Aww! What a sweetie!!
Yuan chews knit fabric, and I swear he's flossing, the way he goes at it...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17