Glowing Gravestones! ✞

So our good friend @melinda010100 kinda has a challenge going to encourage people to post some cemetery photography. Kind of a neat subject and equally neat entries, as it's interesting to see how cultures handle their dead in different parts of the work. My photos come from a cemetery along the southern coast of Iceland.

CemeteryPhotos00b.jpg

During the holiday season, families adorn the graves with all kind of lights. We didn't know that until we happened upon it this past December. We saw several some churches with little graveyards in the distance and didn't know what was going on, at first. Once we got to a destination near this cemetery, we the lit up graves and crucifixes. Pretty neat stuff!

CemeteryPhotos00a.jpg

Thanks for reading!


Sort:  

That is so cool! It is really a very beautiful tradition for a place that spends so much time in darkness. Fantastic photos and thanks so much for supporting my challenge. Resteem and tip!

Dear melinda010100 is the cemetery photos a continuously challenge and does it change challenge? I would be grateful if you direct me to the guidelines to participate.

It is ongoing. Continuous. And when ever you want to do a post. If you include your link on my post in the comments, I may be more likely to see it, than if you just use the tag. No prizes for now, just an upvote and maybe a resteem.

Yet of course, I see it more like a challenge it is just to have the excuse to share, so we can sl gather with the tag, sure I will mention.

Yes. Many Thanks!

Hi @customnature! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: Rust Art Wednesday Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Earn daily income on steem: @tipU distributes 100% profit + 60% curation rewards to all investors.

Wow! This is an amazing. I would like to visit here some day.

wow I find this amazing

I have never seen anything like this, each country has its customs and traditions that is what makes it unique.
beautiful photos, @customnature

I've never seen anything like this! I love the concept of lighting up a graveyard instead of emphasizing the sadness of it all. It's light but still very respectful. What a lovely insight into a specific bit of culture :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69735.97
ETH 3533.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72