Cemetery Photos Challenge

in #cemeteryphotos6 years ago (edited)

Cemeteryphotos Challenge- by me- @melinda010100

Established in the late 1700's, St. Louis Cemetery No. 1 is the oldest cemetery in New Orleans.

image

image

I took many photos when I was there, but just want to share a couple today for the Cemetery Challenge. I plan on sharing more next week.

image

image

image

image

image

image

In 2010 Nicolas Cage erected this pyramid shaped tomb as his future resting place.

image

image

Wall vaults were often used as temporary resting places. Family vaults could only be added to after 'a year and a day' after the last burial, so if more than one family member died within the year, they could rest in a wall vault until the family tomb could be opened.

image

image



I've used the tag #cemeteryphotos. If you have some cemetery photos, use the tag and feel free to post your photos in the comments and I'll do my best to upvote them!


Riverside Cemetery, Anamosa, Iowa

Natchez City Cemetery

Cemetery Photos- The Turning Angel

Cemetery Photos- Mt. Olivet

Cemetery Photos-Stones River

Cemetery Photos-Asheville

Cemetery Photos- Charleston

Cemetery Photos- Italy

Cemetery Photos-Portugal

Cemetery Photos- High Desert of Arizona

Cemetery Photos-Lincoln's Tomb

Cemetery Photos-The Gap, Wisconsin

Remember to take a Shadow photo for this week's contest!

Shadow Photo Contest-Round 18- WALL SHADOWS


Sort:  

It's beautiful, Melinda, and your photos show it wonderfully, love the decadent corners, the shadow cross, the pyramid.
Here is my entry, my dear:
https://steemit.com/wiwcontest/@nolasco/wiwcontest-week-25-landscape-with-white-structure-and-cemeteryphotos-challenge-wat-suan-doc-chaing-mai-thailand

1wat suan doc monks all temple1.jpg

Xoxo!

Excellent post and photos Melinda!! I would love to visit New Orleans one day and would definitely love to see the cemeteries there! I made a post this week if you would like to check it out. Only Flat Markers in this one! https://steemit.com/life/@deerjay/a-special-cemetery-visit
lakeview1.jpg

Wonderful photos! I love cemeteries that are alive with nature.

Wonderful photos! I love cemeteries that are alive with nature.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

Thank you so much for sharing this here. I had heard the name of that battle, but never knew any of these details, and had never seen the monuments. I learned a lot from you.

I am very happy that you can inform you about the war !

Congratulations @melinda010100! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Wow, what a place! I love your photo tour! Thanks for sharing this post @melinda010100

It is quite amazing. I divided the photos up and will do a couple more posts with the statues and grave site momentoes. I'm glad you liked it!

Our cemeteries are not quite that old and definitely not as elaborate. These places amaze me.

Me too. I think those tombs are rather fascinating.

It is quite amazing. I divided the photos up and will do a couple more posts with the statues and grave site momentoes. I'm glad you liked it!

That is a neat one! I've passed two cemetery's up lately because I had no time to stop. I thought about his contest both times. lol

You will have time to stop one of these days! I always look forward to seeing your photos!

Very interesting the angle in which you take your photos and above all I am struck by the rustic style that has this cemetery

You are very observant! I am unable to walk, so most of my photography is done while sitting on a mobility scooter. That might be why you notice a different angle! It is a very interesting cemetery.

I understand and the truth in spite of that to achieve an excellent job is very nice to see that you are passionate about photography and how well you do it

Congratulations @melinda010100! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Hello friend, your publications are very good. check my blog, regards

Thanks! Happy to see you here!

I invite you to read my blog. yours is very good

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72