Riverside Cemetery, Anamosa, Iowa

in #cemeteryphotos6 years ago (edited)

Cemeteryphotos Challenge- by me!

imagepublic domain

The iconic painting entitled American Gothic was painted by artist Grant Wood. It hangs at the Art Institute of Chicago, so I have enjoyed seeing it several times. The man in the painting was Wood's dentist and the woman was his sister.

Grant died of cancer on February 12, 1942, at age 50, and was buried at his family's plot in Riverside Cemetery in Anamosa, Iowa.

image

image

His name is on the steps leading up to the family tomb.

image

Near the cemetery entrance is a large Civil War monument.

image

The cemetery sits on the banks of the Wapsipinicon River. It is a quiet, peaceful place. No one else was there and the birds were singing merrily on the day I was there.

image



I've used the tag #cemeteryphotos. If you have some cemetery photos, use the tag and feel free to post your photos in the comments and I'll do my best to upvote them!

Natchez City Cemetery

Cemetery Photos- The Turning Angel

Cemetery Photos- Mt. Olivet

Cemetery Photos-Stones River

Cemetery Photos-Asheville

Cemetery Photos- Charleston

Cemetery Photos- Italy

Cemetery Photos-Portugal

Cemetery Photos- High Desert of Arizona

Cemetery Photos-Lincoln's Tomb

Cemetery Photos-The Gap, Wisconsin

Remember to take a Shadow photo for this week's contest!

Shadow Photo Contest-Round 17-Shadows On You


Sort:  

What a peaceful place to put a graveyard.

I recently got to visit a Pioneer graveyard. You could not even read many of the headstones anymore.

108.JPG

Those old marble headstones just didn't stand up, did they? It's too bad. I suppose a lot of history has been lost because of that.

Have you ever done gravestone rubbings with chalk and paper? I'd say it's fun but somehow that seems disrespectful....but it's interesting :)

Waw!!! thank you so much for this bit of history and for the great photos!
Here is my small contribution to this challenge.
https://steemit.com/cemeteryphotos/@ginga/5wrntm-cemetery-photos-challenge
Have a nice day dear Melinda!

Thanks, luv! I would love to visit that cemetery! Thanks for sharing it here!

This is one of my favourite cemetery shots @melinda010100. Sadly the post I used it for is well past the 7 days but it's worth reposting the photograph I think

I hope you agree! 😊

I believe good pictures are always worth reposting! I missed it the first time, and this is certainly a good one! What a beautiful cemetery. Where is it at?

It's in Cornwall in the UK @melinda010100. I'm not surprised you missed it. I think most people did as it was in my early days on Steemit when I had almost zero visitors. 😊

I repost things often, but it's usually because I can't remember if I ever posted it!

I make a note of the stuff I post otherwise I'd be posting the same stuff again and again @melinda010100. 😂

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

That’s a majestic tombstone with the lion. Grant wood painted an icon picture. I wonder why he has them both pursing their lips. Hard times maybe?
My photo of St. Margaret of Scotland pioneer cemetery here on P.E.I.
150839BD-A74C-4649-963F-EC7463AB43A4.jpeg

Stoic Iowa farmers perhaps. I have read that he never offered much of an explanation for the painting, and he frequently changed his interpretation of it. That looks like a cemetery with a view! The benches are perfectly placed.

It is a beautiful location. Link to my post about the cemetery. https://steemit.com/cemeteryphotos/@redheadpei/pioneer-cemetery

I'd love to see that painting in real life, Melinda. You are very fortunate to have:)

I have been fortunate to see some of the world's great treasures in museums around the world. I am always in awe!

wow. excellent narrative writing and photos!
congratulations dear friend.

Thanks, my friend! 😘

Interesting history on that famous painting and graves.

Great post Mel. I love how you bring history facts into your posts. This was very interesting.

I laughed out loud when I first opened the post because I saw the photo....I love that photo. So expressive.

It is certainly one of the most parodied paintings! I love it, too. The way he looks right into your eyes, but she refuses to look at you. The dour expressions. There is so much going on there.

He kind of looks like my GP!!! lol, seriously. She definitely does not look amused.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00