Pioneer Cemetery

in #cemeteryphotos6 years ago (edited)

My entry to #cemeteryphotos initiated by @melinda010100.

Hubby and I happen to come across the sign for a pioneer cemetery while in Bear River, Kings Co., P.E.I. I wanted to check it out.

After passing St. Margaret’s Church, we followed a well maintained, long dirt road. A few farms were among the heavy forested area and I thought,

”There can’t be anything to look at out here.”

I was pleasantly surprised as we came upon this beautiful, peaceful resting place that overlooks the sea.

I didn’t see many residents in the area but it was once more densely populated than it is today.

St. Margaret Of Scotland Pioneer Cemetery

FED797CE-70FC-406A-BCBC-2398909B25C1.jpeg


This is a closeup of the monument under the wooden Celtic Cross that graces the entrance.


F8BAE955-9E63-478F-9867-23A3CDEDB595.jpeg


This cemetery was in a state of neglect until restoration in 1973-74. By that time many of the headstones had been broken, while many more had fallen over.

Although the cemetery is well maintained now, many of the old headstones could not be repaired and are on the ground.


89A7C5C5-F987-49A7-90F8-1C1D0343DC0A.jpeg


The low stone border was unearthed when the renovations were done.


50CD31E9-CCC0-4DE9-98FF-AEC065B4B025.jpeg

There are over 600 burials listed. The cemetery was used by the St. Margaret’s Roman Catholic congregation for nearly 100 years.

The names of many area residents are not always recorded. Because of the harsh life of the pioneer settlers there could be up to 1200 people interred here.


In this enclosed case near the entrance are pictures of the renovation that went on to restore and beautify the cemetery.


E5039602-2C32-46CD-B5FB-E3B864305CE3.jpeg


There was pleasant feeling in the cemetery. I believe those resting there were at peace.





Cemetery Challenge Info

Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada.

Photos and stories by @ redheadpei. All Rights Reserved


F0E33BE1-23F2-4B8B-BDBD-068BF127059F.jpeg

#thealliance






The STEEM Engine


A0F3EE4F-F2FB-4016-84E6-5CB3E23FDA78.jpeg

Sort:  

Congratulations @redheadpei! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

What a beautiful Pioneer cemetery!

I’m glad you think so Deb @debralee. The day I was there it was nice and sunny and the place seemed so peaceful.

Wow, I have never seen a cemetery on the sea like that. So unique. Thanks for sharing @redheadpei

Thanks Robert. It does make it a special resting place. Many of them laid to rest would have been seamen.

The location makes it rather unique, I think! Such a beautiful setting. I'm so glad local folks realized it's value and restored it!

I think so too, Melinda. It’s great to see the old cemetery looked after.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=redheadpei
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=pioneer-cemetery


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Guess where I was today? Beautiful post and photos Jo! I'm glad that restoration was done. I can just imagine how peaceful it must have felt visiting there! ❤

Who did you visit there? There was a wonderful vibe in that cemetery, Dee, perhaps because of the love and care of the people who restored it.

Today was the first time I visited my parents "place" since my moms funeral! It was beautiful Jo and the birds were singing so nicely. I took video to capture the sounds and photos. I love visiting cemeteries. The one you photographed looks like a lovely one and I bet it does have quite the vibe..love that people are taking care of it!!

I’m glad you went Dee and it was a beautiful day with birds singing. I take it as a message your mother is at peace.
My parents have been gone a long time but I think of them often. ❤️

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by redheadpei from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

What a beautiful view for a cemetery, and I love the info also..

My church's name is St. Margaret of Scotland

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19