The monument for Nathan A. Baldwin

in #cemeteryphotos5 years ago

The monument for Nathan A. Baldwin

This is a post for #Cemeteryphotos Challenge by @melinda01010
I haven't joined this challenge often, but when I did a couple of my walks around Milford recently I walked through the Milford Cemetery and this memorial/tomb is quite moving and I thought I would share some shots of it.

1 Tomb Nathan A Baldwin.jpg

Sony A7iii 62mm F5.6 1/500 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger



This is in Memory of Nathan A Baldwin and in the four corners are statues that are crowned Faith, Hope, Charity, and Love.

1 Tomb Nathan A Baldwin-2.jpg
Inside the glass is a woman, weeping over the grave

Sony A7iii 46mm F5.6 1/800 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


Nathan was laid to rest in 1898 and as you can see his memorial is still in pretty good condition, especially when compared to some headstones in the same cemetery from that time.

1 Tomb Nathan A Baldwin-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 63mm F5.6 1/400 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


I was not able to find too much about him other than that he was involved in the manufacture of Straw goods in a well known New York Firm and had acquired a handsome estate.

1 Tomb Nathan A Baldwin-4.jpg

Sony A7iii 59mm F10 1/160 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


As you can see from these shots, you will also note that there are many other quite ornate looking memorials and headstones in this cemetery, I am not sure why but i general feel hmmm what is the word awkward taking photos in the ceetery, but I may take and share some other shots from ther ein the future

That's all Folks


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA-jj2.jpg

steemusa is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord



tatooddj.png

thealliance_tattoodjay.pn?update=true


!steemitworldmap 41.2251977 lat -73.05223 long Milford Cemetry Milford CT d3scr

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks for the resteem Appreciate d;)

Congratulations @tattoodjay! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 74500 replies. Your next target is to reach 75000 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-monument-for-nathan-a-baldwin


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wow, that is pretty impressive and very moving. I agree with you. That family had to have quite a bit of money to put up something like that. I am more of a spread my ashes in the forest type of person ;)

I bet in its day the cost of this must have been huge but it does make a powerful memorial

I like you are for the spreading of my ashes but in a river or the ocean for mine :)

I see you found the grave of Mr. Baldwin! I actually love that cemetery, believe to be one of the oldest surviving in the United States.

I love the Victorian memorials/graves, they are so ornate and unashamed in their mourning of loved ones. I had never seen one with a window looking in like that. And the life-sized women adorning it, the details are still very prominent. I have to admit, I am addicted to the beauty of graveyards. Especially when they have monuments such as these.

Thanks for being such an awesome Guide on #SteemUSA!

!tip

It is such an amazing cemetery and this memorial is impossible to not see if you ever go in there for sure, it really grabs one attention, I don’t think I have ever seen anything like this before, seeing in and the woman crying over the Coffin is so touching and powerful for sure

And thanks kindly. Aunt Tippy :)

It was the first time I ever saw a glass-enclosed piece like that. And the weeping woman over the coffin is truly powerful.

You skipped Discord today. I wonder if they left you a pink slip?

Edited... Maybe next time. I just saw you were there. LOL

LOL Phew i just got in on time, Funny thing is I normally pop into discord on the train and then doze off to sleep this morning i did not want to sleep on the train and i think I got out of Synch :)

The littlest thing make my day go off on a different tangent. I hardly ever pop in until I am safely sitting with a coffee in hand, toiling away at my day. :)

Habits.

Yeah I think we are all creatures of habit and one little change can change the whole day

I would wait till I am sitting with coffee in hand but I seldom sit still for long and never have coffee lol

I can see that as a potential problem... :)

Ohh yeah without a doubt

I wonder what straw goods consisted of? There must have been good money in it! That is a very elaborate Memorial.
I don't feel awkward taking photos of the historic monuments, but the more recent ones make me feel like I might be invading the privacy of someone's grief if there are still people around who knew and loved the person.

I did wander that myself the only things i could think of were straw hats and maybe thatched roofs, but yes for sure must have been good money in it

Yes I can relate to what you are saying it does feel fine to e taking photos of older headstones and monuments but not new ones

🎁 Hi @tattoodjay! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Rising In The Kindness Of The Soul And Set In The Wisdom Of The Mind. Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Great shots of a beautiful memorial! I agree with Melinda about taking pictures of the historic graves but not the newer ones.

Thanks and yes I think we all feel the same way about the newer Graves

That sure is a beautiful memorial.
I have seen many big statue memorials, but nothing like this one.

I had never seen one as ornate and touching as this one before either ;)

Wow! what a huge memorial. It certainly is in great condition considering it is just over 120 years old.

One of the biggest and most impressive I have seen, there is some wear on the faces of the four angels but otherwise it is in amazing shape

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88