A Resting Place at the Foot of a Mountain


Whenever we visit an unfamiliar town, we love to walk around and look for interesting subjects. Whatever or wherever it may be. Walking by the road in this provincial town, this old cemetery caught my attention. A cemetery below the mountain, a bit hesitant to enter but we went inside anyway. Join me today as I show you around this old cemetery in the Philippines and this time around we will go Monochrome.


 

A Resting Place at the Foot of a Mountain



Visiting cemeteries is something we do not usually do unless it is All Saints Day. There are some cemeteries in our country that are unsafe. Some are hiding places of dangerous people and it has been known to be a crime scene in some places. Although there are those that are guarded, but visiting at night is not advisable. Behind every cemetery there are always stories about things that creep in the night. Well, that is a part of our culture tales of the supernatural and superstition.

 


This cemetery is small compared to the city cemetery that we have in our city. My wife looked at me funny with a little worry when I told her that I wanted to check it out. Since there were houses and people outside the cemetery I figured that it should be safe to go in. But still it is best to always be extra aware of your surroundings. I told myself that if I felt that something was not right. We would be out of there in a flash.


In cemeteries that are always statues of angels around. With wings wide open, angels guard the entrance to this place.


This one seems to watch the motorists that pass by this cemetery. Watching all those vehicles with praying hands and will continue to watch the passers by as time passes by.


It was time to go inside the cemetery and my wife preferred to stay near the entrance. There are a few people inside and spending time with their deceased loved ones, with that I felt a little at ease. We saw this statue which is commonly found in most cemeteries. I could not tell if it is a depiction of a cherub without wings. Painted with white paint and seems to be fading thru the passing years. I told my wife that I would be real quick and just see what is inside.


As I started my stroll inside, this angel caught my eye. I looked for a way inside, there was a small gap that I could pass thru.


An angel than reminds me of the movie Interview with the Vampire, gothic and mysterious. As I was taking photos, there was an old man behind me. I was a bit startled as he gave me a weird look. He might be thinking what would a guy be doing in a cemetery taking photos. In my response, I gave him a smile, greeted him good afternoon and he went back on what he was doing. I realized that he was there cleaning up the grave of a loved one.


I took my final shots in that area and moved along.


The place is very narrow and I needed to find another way. I don't want to pass by the narrow spaces between the graves. Who knows what could be crawling around, there might me snakes since we are in an area with a lot of wild growth around.


The style of the graves here in our country are similar in different parts of the country. Crowded together, some are just plainly cemented, some are improved with tiles and marbles.


There are those which are gated and has a large area. This is to prevent vandals from desecrating the grave site of their loved ones.



I went further inside and somehow I felt a little bit un easy. I checked back the trail where I came from and made sure I know where to go just in case I needed to leave quickly.


At this point I didn't know anymore what I was doing here. I saw two tombs that has been abolished and I do not know the reason behind it.


As I further explored, I was getting a bit paranoid and kept checking if someone was hiding behind the graves. Maybe it's because of all those horror movies that I watched.


This area is very quiet and reminded me the time when I was young. I do not believe in ghosts, but in our family some of my cousins and nieces had very hair raising encounters. They said that have a third eye and was also passed down to their children. One story from my niece, he was going home around 10 pm and passed by an abandoned lot. As he walked he heard a sound "Psssst.......pssst", here it is a sound that you make to get someone's attention. As he looked at the abandoned lot he saw a headless figure. Immediately, he hurried back home and his brother told me that he was all pale and could not speak for a couple of minutes. After that he told us about what he saw in the abandoned lot. But that was not the end of it there were more encounters and that is just one of my nieces.


I went up an elevated area and checked how far this cemetery goes. I saw some steps and decided that would be my last stop and I would head back.


I go to the area where I wanted to go and here I was not alone. There were children playing around in this cemetery. There are two of them here standing on the grave and I hope you could spot them. No supernatural encounter here they are just children from the nearby houses. I am not looking for any encounters here just to be clear, I just wanted to take some photos of this old graveyard. But you know what they say, "If you are looking for something, it might just find you instead."


There are things that thrive here and one of that is this tree that blossoms white flowers. I do not know what it is called but it balances the aura around this place.


A grave with no name, no indication who lies within this grave. When we die we would not want to be forgotten, but remembered how we lived and our final resting placed marked with who we were.


Graves that looks very old and only marked with names that are barely readable. A white cross that has a stain that looks like mud of some sort, maybe it was just kids playing around or someone else.


Another style of graves that we have here are those that are piled up on top of each other. I guess they would add another layer once the need arrives.


On the left side there were houses just right beside the cemetery. How would you like to live right next door to a graveyard?


It was time for me to go back as I know my wife is very anxious to leave. I'm glad that it turned out to be just a quiet and somehow different walk for me this time. Just another place that we visited in this town and probably a place that we would not go back to. But I'm glad I spent a few minutes here, mixed feelings, got to think about stuff and just did what I love doing, taking photos.


Thank you for spending a little time with me today and please let me know what you think.

If you want to read more about this town in Laguna, Philippines. You could visit some of the sites that we visited and I will be sharing more in the days to come.

In Search of Fried Duck

A Thousand Steps to "Tatlong Krus"

"Tatlong Krus" at the Summit of Mt. Humarap

Paete Church

Thanks again and stay safe everyone.



 

Follow @surpassinggoogle to witness an extraordinary person in this platform and vote for @steemgigs as witness


Discovering exceptional content in the community follow @curie and vote as witness

To have a glimpse of awesome content from the Philippines check out @bayanihan

All photos are original and taken with

Lumix GX85 with 12-32 mm kit lens









Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://watersnake101.vornix.blog/2018/09/13/a-resting-place-at-the-foot-of-a-mountain/

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=watersnake101
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=arestingplaceatthefootofamountain-7q70ywh70j


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This was fascinating to read @watersnake101!

I happen to love taking cemetery photos, although it may sound macabre to you, here in the States they are peaceful places of rest for the most part. The statues guiding the souls to their next journey are interesting and usually carefully chosen by the family.

How terrible that they are not safe to go through, but, people have discovered long ago that some are buried with jewelry and other expensive things.

Wonderful shots and post! I hope you have a wonderful day!

Hey @dswigle how are you? The cemetery there sounds peaceful and pleasant to visit for a quiet stroll. Here I am always a bit hesitant because since I was young there has been a lot of stories that are not good. Some even dump bodies in cemeteries back then. Although not all cemeteries here are unsafe and things have changed since then. Still it is known that some unsavory people still hang out there.

I always get an uneasy feeling whenever visiting a cemetery. I'm sure most people are the same way.

I find it sad and disheartening that people have to put up fences to keep others out.

Yeah some people even steal the marble gravestones where the names are engraved. Although not all though, maybe life if really hard for some people which leads them to commit such acts.

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Thanks to my amazing family in this community. Much love!

Black and White photos are always great!

It's been a while since I last did B&W thanks for checking my cemetery post.

All photograph are awesome friend..
Nice article...

Hey thanks I appreciate you checking.

O oh! I am so sorry I missed this I would have loved to have resteemed it and now it's almost at 7 days. What a fantastic post and I'm so proud of you for being so brave. I grew up across the street from a cemetery so I guess I've never felt fear. This is the bad part about Auto voter I know that I'm voting on your posts and so I get lazy about coming by and actually reading them. I'll do better. Your photos are fantastic. Tip!

Hey my friend. How are you? I had to scout first to be sure it was safe, safety is always should be a priority. I recalled that I wanted to check out the cemetery in our city but you convinced me to go thru it as it was unsafe. This time around it turn out a pleasant walk. Thanks you very much I'm glad that you caught it.

You certainly got some great photos! Being safe always comes first!

Hi @watersnake101! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @melinda010100!

Check out @melinda010100 blog here and follow if you like the content :)

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98