Fifty word story challenge and some FUN things

in #challenge6 years ago (edited)

Welcome to the 50-word short story challenge! In this weekly challenge, Fifty Worders write micro-fiction stories in just 50 words. I encourage you to read their wonderful work. And then I hope you will give it a try.

This post includes a mini fiction writing workshop to help new and seasoned 50-word short story writers alike.

It also includes a review of last week's 50-word stories, a few story highlights, and a new challenge prompt.

But first....

FUN stuff!


I discovered something exciting today. A Steemian who goes by @see-it-feel-it is running a contest to reward quality content. She has a list of nominees, and you can vote on people from the list whose work you enjoy. The winners will become "SteemAngels" and will be rewarded with SBD.

And guess what! Several of them are regular Fifty Worders! (Including me!) So, please take a moment to go to the @see-it-feel-it's nomination post and vote for your five favorites.

Here are the members of the list who participate in the 50-word challenge:

@agmoore, @ahmadmanga, @enjar, @erh.germany, @dirge, @eaglespirit, @fromage, @jayna, @kimberlylane, @theironfelix, @tygertyger

But... oh dear. We can only pick five. There are also others on the list whose content I really enjoy too, like @brumest, @anomadsoul and @vermillionfox. No idea how I will choose! But I wanted you to know about the opportunity.

Fiftywords banner

(Image credit: Original image by rawpixel, Pixabay)

Mini writing workshop


Today's workshop is about what makes a story a story. As you might expect the content of these workshops is intended to support you in your development as a writer, if improving your writing craft is your goal. If you're just here for the fun of it, that is fine too!

What makes a story a story?


I have to share a little story (ironically) about this very thing. I read someone's comment on another post this week and was a bit startled. The person wrote:

"I don't normally do the traditional conflict/resolution curve in my work, because I find it boring and stiff, and not really competitive as a modern art form."

Um, what? After I collected my wits, I responded:

"That’s interesting. Can you explain? I guess I have to say that to me the conflict/resolution paradigm is timeless. It defies any trappings amongst fads and trendy thinking because it mirrors the human condition. We see or experience strife or sadness or loss or relationship complexity and we become emotionally present, interested, and keenly observant of the outcome. #mytwocents"

He never responded. But I digress.

The thing that makes a story a story is the telling of events that involve conflict and resolution. Yes, there's more to it than that. We need characters that are meaningful, intriguing and believable. We need a setting and a place. But for a story to be successful, the central conflict of the story must build in suspense or intensity in some way (the story arc) before that final resolution.

So, let's look at an example of a storyline without conflict and resolution:

The duck swam around the pond and ate some lovely grubs. The other ducks were very friendly and shared their grubs and played nicely. It was a great day.
This is cute, but nothing really happens to make us (the readers) care about this duck. He has no issues. None of the other ducks try to take all the grubs. No hunter comes along with a gun over his shoulder thinking about duck soup. The duck story is (to quote the aforementioned commenter) "boring and stiff."

So, we need conflict. It helps us readers to become emotionally involved, and if we are emotionally involved, we care about the outcome. If we care about the outcome, we will keep reading. Why? Because we want to know what the story resolution will be. Is the duck alright? Did he get enough grubs? Did he escape the hunter?

Now, you and I know that it's very difficult to write a complete story in 50 words. And in fact, most of the pieces we write here are not technically stories; they are vignettes. And that's okay. That's why we have this challenge! It gives us something to shoot for each week, and if you really spend some time crafting your piece, it's a great exercise in tight writing.

In the accompanying information in her 50-word submission this week, A Taste of Childhood, @bex-dk explains the key differences between vignettes and stories. Be sure to give it a read!

Okay, let's survey the 50-word stories from last week.

Last week's story collection


I’d like to welcome our newest contributors, @gaby-crb, @andersonrivas and @rensoul17. Thanks for joining the Fifty Worders!

Here is the complete list of stories inspired by last week's “chocolate” prompt:

If I missed yours, please let me know and I will add it! I always try my best to list them all, but I do occasionally miss one.

Highlights of the week

Each week I highlight a few well-crafted stories from the previous week's collection as inspiration for us all. Enjoy this sampling from all the wonderful contributions from last week.

We eat this cake in remembrance of you ~adifferent9/11, by @intothewild

In this piece, the author remembers someone who has passed on.
A Bird of Paradise had sprung from the ashes. It was the only visible life form where the plane had crashed.

A sign from him, that life will go on.

9/11 means more to us, now, than ever.

We celebrate him with this chocolate cake. Our last meal shared together.

A Taste of Childhood, by @bex-dk

As I mentioned in the writing workshop portion of this post, @bex-dk provided a nice description of the difference between a story and a vignette in her 50-word post, which was the inspiration for this week's workshop theme.

While her story is technically a vignette (as many our "stories" are), I loved how deeply it touches on memory, and what a beautifully sensory piece it is.

When I broke the skin on the chocolate pudding, my mouth watered. A tiny taste sucked from the upside-down spoon set my heels kicking the chair. I was a little kid again, sitting on the tall orange stool by the stove, getting to scrape the pot when Mom finished cooking.

Chocolate Dreams, by @roxy-cat

This is a beautiful story of hardship, and it demonstrates how children under these circumstances often look beyond their own immediate needs and discomforts.
"I would like you to eat the porridge. It is late."

"Mom..."

"No, dear. You must finish the breakfast."

"But it has no taste..."

"I'm sorry, son. This is all we have."

"One day, mom... One day I will have chocolate for breakfast, lunch and dinner. And you will too."

Sweet Temptation, by @alheath

This author beautifully captures the rivalry of siblings.
Florence smiled. “I made brownies. Your favourite.”

Lily shook her head. “Not hungry.”

“Sure?” Florence set down the plate. Lily sniffed and rich chocolate filled her nose.

Alfie looked up, smiling. “Can I have it?”

“Mine, greedyguts.” Lily snatched the plate. “To eat later.”

He got everything else. Not this.

A Hot Mess, by @negativer

I will preface this story only by saying that we have a few 50-worders who have mastered the plot twist, and @negativer is one of them.
Finally. Evie’s mom put down the chocolate bar. Evie stared at it. It called, beckoning from the kitchen counter.

Mom wouldn’t mind if she had a bite. She stood on tiptoes, grabbing it.

Five bites later it was gone.

Her mother returned from the bathroom. “Hey, who took my Ex-Lax?”

The Job Interview Did Not Go Well, by @preparedwombat

And this story, which also has a fun twist, just makes me smile.
“That guy shows up, without an appointment, to apply to be our Chief Chocolatier and he didn’t even bring a résumé?”

“Yeah. And then he went off the rails talking about all kinds of candies we don’t even make.”

“He left his card, God knows why.”

“Willy Wonka.”

Excellent work, everyone!

This week's 50-word story prompt


The prompt for this week is “chase." Deadline for this week: Saturday, September 22nd, with a grace period until the new prompt is published.

I look forward to reading your stories, Fifty Worders!

Guidelines


Please review and follow the guidelines for proper use of images.

Note that

  1. Write a story in 50 words. (Try to hit 50 words exactly!)
  2. Use the #fiftywords tag, and post the link in the comments of this post.
  3. Be sure to read and upvote the work of the other participants. It's all about community!
  4. Use only artwork that you have the right to use, and attribute it properly. See the following guidelines.

Proper use of images

Proper use of images means one of the following:
  1. The image is public domain, or under creative commons licensing rules.
  2. It is your own image.
  3. If it is not one of the above, you must have actual permission.
Be sure to properly attribute the image’s source or mention that the image is yours. And if it's not public domain, under creative commons license, or your own image, be sure to state that you have permission.

I have two resources for you, from my friends at @thewritersblock:

And speaking of @thewritersblock, it's a great place to hang out and rub elbows with other writers. Check them out on Discord.

The 50-word story clan


I'm mentioning you here if have participated in the #fiftywords short story challenge in the past. Please let me know if you would like your tag removed in this or future posts. (Note that I do trim the list. Those who have not participated for a long time or are not active on Steemit will eventually drop from the mentions.)

@ablaze, @adigitalife, @aggroed, @agmoore, @ahmadmanga, @akdx, @aksounder, @aleli, @alexandered, @alheath, @andersonrivas, @anikekirsten, @anixio, @anonymummy, @anutu, @aresbon

@bagpuss, @beginningtoend, @bex-dk, @blueteddy, @botefarm, @brectar, @bryarose23

@caleblailmusik, @carn, @celsius100, @cheekah, @cizzo, @clacrax, @creatr

@damianjayclay, @dbzfan4awhile, @deirdyweirdy, @desmoniac, @diebitch, @dirge, @donnest, @drahries

@eaglespirit, @elbrujo, @elementm, @emergehealthier, @emwalker, @enjar, @erh.germany, @eroticabian, @esttyb, @evgsk

@fairyhedgehogg, @feebie, @felixgarciap, @felt.buzz, @ficciones, @four20, @foxfiction, @foxyspirit, @fromage

@gaby-crb, @gaming-stuff, @girlbeforemirror, @gmatthe2

@haisa, @happyhairdays, @henry-gant, @hlezama

@iamthegray, @intothewild, @isa93

@jadams2k18, @janine-ariane, @jasminearch, @jayna, @jluvs2fly, @jonknight,

@kaelci, @kally, @khadija14, @kimberlylane, @kingspiration, @ktfabler

@lightoj, @liverussian, @lucylin, @luiskrupaz

@marciabon, @marie-jay, @mineopoly, @mizdais, @momzillanc, @mydivathings

@negativer, @niallon11

@olakunle10, @opiman

@paintingangels, @papacrusher, @phillyc, @pizzachain, @poeticnest, @poetrybyjeremy, @preparedwombat, @prydefoltz, @purpledaisy57, @pyrowngs

@ravencorinn, @rensoul17, @riottales, @rodrigocabrera, @roxy-cat, @rvag5

@sidequest, @spalatino, @stbrians, @steemgiant, @steemitdiversify, @sue-stevenson

@tanglebranch, @thatlovechild, @theironfelix, @therosepatch, @thinknzombie, @tuwore, @tygertyger

@vaitelavicius, @vdux

@yeceniacarolina, @yimiipsa, @zen-art

Thanks so much for reading! I hope you try the 50-word challenge. It's so fun to see what can unfold in a mere 50 words!

Animated signature

 


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://jaynalocke.com/2018/09/16/fifty-word-story-challenge-and-some-fun-things/

Sort:  

This is my first entry. Whoa Ra!

@gaby-crb gave me a nudge and reminded me of this very fun contest.

Oh damn it, I did write an entry, but somehow got confused over the prompt. Oh well, another time.

You have plenty of time! The very loose deadline is end of day Saturday. Or just post what you wrote. :-)

I did, that's how I found out I had the wrong prompt.

Hello hello Fiftyworders! Hope all is good in your world. Here is this week's story. Enjoy 😊 🐔🐥

https://steemit.com/fiftywords/@ablaze/what-a-race-a-fifty-words-story

goose-3396261_1280.jpg

an interesting proposition, Creatr, to set up boundaries and write within them. I don't do this and it's for the same reason I don't write in standard poetical forms and meters or write haikus or micro poetry. It's not that I don't think there's a place for that, it's simply that my creativity doesn't work like that. When I say I have no idea what my characters may do, I'm not being artsy - I literally have no idea what my characters may do. I don't even set out to write a novel. I may start off trying to write a short story that gets totally out of hand and becomes a novel, and ...well, you get the idea. I've also admired people who know exactly what they think. I have no idea until I open my mouth and begin speaking or sit down and begin typing. But I digress...of course I do - it's what I do :)

I think I write the same way you do, @johngeddes. We are "pantsers." (Meaning, we fly by the seat of our pants.) I truly admire writers who plan and plot and know exactly what they are going to write before they begin. (What is that like?)

You are a very prolific writer, and you have found your voice and style. That's wonderful. I don't think the 50-word short story is for anyone in particular. It certainly isn't only for new writers, or experience writers, or writers who like structure. Rather, this is an opportunity for people who want to play and discover and find out what if.

What if I wrote a whole story about a walnut that was ashamed?

What if someone gave me one word and it inspired me to write something meaningful in just 50 words?

What if I had no idea I had something interesting to say until I wrote a micro-fiction piece and saw that indeed I have beautiful words inside me?

Or... what if I thought the only way to write fiction was to spend days and days at it, so I simply never try it?

It sounds like you were lured here by @creatr, a wonderful and cherished Fifty Worder who brings passion and fun to this little exercise. You certainly are welcome to give it a try, but if it's not your thing, no one will be hurt.

Thanks, jayna, for your thoughtful response. I began writing stories several years ago on a site called Storypraxis monitored by Andy Meisner. He would give a prompt each day to spur creativity and by the end of the year I had an archive of 400 stories. Eventually, he ran out of prompts and I came up with my own and carried on from there.

So, I found an external stimulus challenging at the start, but once I got going, I found the process artificial and stifling - but it did provide the scaffolding for my initial experiments and for that I'll be forever grateful.

And yes, we are pantsers, lol - I love that word. I was writing my reply specifically to @creatr but I'm glad it caught your eye and we had this chance to chat

Hi, John,

I didn't see this sequence until today... because it doesn't show up in my feed. Glad I tripped over it.

I enjoy and appreciate @jayna's prompts, they challenge me to write. :D

Thanks for that, @johnjgeddes. I find it so interesting to learn about what inspires and motivates different writers. I think it's a little different for all of us.

Hi, @Jayna! My name is Diego and I'm new to Steemit. Last week I participated in your challenge (but I uploaded it late) just because I wanted to write something... anyway, here is my entry to this week's challenge! Hope you like it, please let me know what you think (feedback is always welcome).

Hi @deigoam. I’m sorry I missed your first 50-word story. I will read both stories and will add your story from last week to the list collection in the post.

No need to worry about the first one. At that moment I was thinking about my best friend and just wanted to write about her... and so I did.

Love this initiative, by the way! Really glad I've found you!

Welcome! I'm glad you joined us.

#mytwocents I love it! It's nice to see you're still hosting the fifty word shorts, I know a lot of people enjoy them <3

finds very large stick and prods Caleb from afar Well, did you write one?

Ummmmmmmmm.... hehe D:

Maybe the next prompt?? sigh

I miss me too D:

Jk, I miss youuuuu!

Heh heh! Some things never change. You’re nutty as ever!

That's impossible! I think you're the one who's become nutty and, because I'm so normal, I look nutty to your nuttiness.

is an English major

That's half of a 50-word story, right there. All you need is a setting, an opposing character to create your conflict, and you would have a submission for the challenge. "If you think I'm nutty, go jump in the lake! Wait! I was being facetious!" There, now you've got your opposing character and the prompt word. Do a little work to resolve the conflict, add an image and you're done. This is fun.

Finds very large stick
And prods Caleb from afar
Well, did you write one?

                 - bex-dk


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

You're a very STUPID bot, aren't you? I keep telling you to quit trying to earn money off the intellectual property of others. I keep flagging you for trying on mine. GO AWAY.

Heyyyy, @caleblailmusik, so good to hear from you! Jump back in and write one of those #fiftywords stories, will you? Miss ya!

I guess I have to, seeing you asked all nice-like and stuff. :P

@jayna,

I totally agree with your commentary about conflict/resolution. We often think everything has to be reinvented. That everything is improved upon by "being experimental."

We didn't invent words or the way in which the brain processes them. When someone can demonstrate even half the effect of Shakespeare, I'll be the first on board. Some things become "classic" ... because they work.

Quill

There was a problem with steemit maybe later I can post lol

My entry:


Table of Contents

"Moonfall"

As always, thank you, Jayna.

😄😇😄

@creatr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16