Rod's Bait and Tackle

in #challenge6 years ago

Hi friends! This my 11th hour story for last week's #fiftywords challenge prompt, "bait." This word has been a doozy as a prompt. If you haven't seen the other entries for this past week, you must! They are completely loco, and I love them. Just check out the #fiftywords tag. Tomorrow I will post a new prompt!

Rod's Bait and Tackle

fishing-2669219_960_720.jpg
(Image source: Pixabay image by mirandableijenberg)

Three customers arrived in a shiny Jeep Grand Cherokee. They swaggered in, smelling of Old Spice and joking about the sexy blonde admin at Harris, Maddon and Schmitz.

“So, what kind of bait for walleye?”

“This here,” Rod said, knowing there was no walleye to be caught in Bass Lake.



Thanks so much for reading! Have you tried the #fiftywords challenge? If not, perhaps it's time. It is such a fun challenge to see what you can do with a mere 50 words.

Here's my complete collection of 50-word stories:

Hank’s sudden change
Mystery of the snowbank
Going below
What remained
In that moment
The space between
Elsie’s view
Just a tree in a field
Nathan’s waterfall
A walk in the woods
The church mouse
The farmers' market
The tiny hunter
The map
Ghost fair
Departure from Castle Island
Conspirators and lies
Getting to know you
The man in hiding
Mermaid dreams
Time to say goodbye

jayna_gifsignature.gif

Sort:  

Only spotted this now... The sneaky so and so... I can picture the scene perfectly in my minds eye.. You painted it very well..

Thanks, @ablaze!

11th hour is best hour!

I like your sassy bait story. Now I want to want to know what kind bait Rod gave them. Maybe something to attract mosquitos? :)

Ooh mosquito bait! That would have been a clever angle. This 50-word challenge continually gives me fits. I was trying to suggest that he gives them walleye bait, but it’s pointless because there are no walleye in the lake. I suppose it’s possible the bass will like it too!

Ah, the old "bait and switch," give 'em what they ask for, not what they really want...

Didn't know you were capable of such cruelty, Jayna! ;)

😄😇😄

@creatr

Ha ha! Well, it's my social commentary. Rod doesn't like how they swagger in, acting like they are all that and speaking disrespectfully about their secretary. So he decides they don't deserve what they really want. :-)

Yep... I got all that, in 50 words... Nice job! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10