Selena in Sepia, Micro-fiction

in #challenge6 years ago (edited)

Young woman in woods
Source: Pixabay image by DanaTentis

Selena in Sepia


When Frankie left, the color drained away from the world, taking with it all meaning, and Selena lived in a chocolate brown existence, dark as an old sepia tint photo, until spring when sunlight warmed the earth, tiny green shoots emerged, and she shook off the gloom and lived anew.



This is my story for the current 50-word short story challenge. The prompt is "chocolate."

For this story, I wanted to capture that feeling of needing to find light again after a period of darkness. I am not sure what percentage of people experience this, but I suspect it is more than we think. Especially after a break-up or loss of a loved one, deep sadness or depression can linger and feel like a bland color, or even colorless-ness, surrounding us. But after working through grief, usually we find that the light returns like the change of seasons and the new growth of spring.

Another thing I attempted with this story (as I'm sure you noticed), was to write the entire piece in just one sentence. It was a fun exercise, but perhaps ill-advised. "Kids, don't try this at home!"

Thanks so much for reading. I look forward to your comments.

Animated signature


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://jaynalocke.com/2018/09/13/selena-in-sepia-micro-fiction/

Sort:  

I like the one-sentence route here. Gives it a long breathy flow, and works great for 50 word micros. I don't think I've tried that before, but now I will. An excuse to write a post, at least!

Thank you, @negativer! It was certainly a fun exercise. Thanks so much for reading and commenting!

One sentence and fifty words. Nicely done. I'm not sure I could do it, maybe just try it and see how it goes. 🙂
I loved your story. And using just one sentence gave it a sense of hope...time flies so fast and it has a strong healing power. All is forgotten when Spring comes...even the dark brown chocolate tint. 🙂

Thank you, @roxy-cat. Yes, I think that is really the feeling I was going for -- that one can get through a difficult time, and tomorrow comes, and the next day and with each one a feeling that you can heal and begin again.

Wow, absolutely amazing photograph.
I really like this picture.

Thank you. I cannot take credit as I found it on Pixabay to illustrate my story. But I agree. It’s a beautiful photo.

Beautiful portrayal of dark spaces. Light always comes back; the regenerative cycle of life. Does not look that bad when you put chocolate in it.

True! Haven't studies been done that show chocolate is a mood lifter?

Absolutely. Unless you suffer from migranes, in which case it is more of a pain lifter :)

Really? I thought chocolate could actually cause migraines for some people

Sorry, i might have used the word "lifter" erroneously. I was trying to play with the pattern: mood lifter (increase of good mood)--pain lifter (increase of pain).

Chocolate does aggravate headaches, I am myself a migrañoso

Congratulations @jayna! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27