The Road to Steemfest, true confessions, breaking the ice, and other silliness

in #challenge5 years ago (edited)

I am really looking forward to getting on the plane for Steemfest in two days. Why? Because my life is way too busy at the moment and I can't breathe. That said, I should have been preparing for this all along, reading all of @anomadsoul's posts and following the #roadtosteemfest tag which would have introduced me to all kinds of fabulous people I will get to meet! But harkening back to the aforementioned theme of not breathing, I will confess that these things have not happened. So I'm also looking forward to Steemfest so I can meet and greet people in real life.

For this particular challenge, we are to meet three requirements. Here goes!

Requirement #1: Tell us your most embarrassing moment in life.


@anomadsoul, my friend, if someone asked me how not to get people to participate in a challenge, I would say "I know! Ask them to talk about the most embarrassing moment of their life!"

Ha ha.

Um... I've apparently blocked it out. No, I mean, I've never done anything particularly embarrassing. I only do unembarrassing things!

Actually, my family keeps a running list of really dumb things I've said at random moments. Especially my husband, who will never ever let anything slide. If you burp unexpectedly, he points it out, for example. Fortunately, I am a person who laughs at myself, so we have had a lot of laughs over this stuff.

The funniest and most embarrassing time that I can remember (after all, I did a bit of partying in college) was in Rome. We were in Italy for our one-year wedding anniversary in October of 1997. Here's what happened. We were walking among some ancient buildings, one of which had been designed by Michelangelo. We had seen a lot of Michelangelo works while in Italy, including the Sistine Chapel and the statue of David in Florence. All of these works are massive.

What I said at that moment was so dumb. I intended to say, "Michelangelo liked to create big things, that's for sure." But instead I said "Michelangelo liked to create big things, that's okay."

As I replayed what I had just said in my mind, I gazed off into the distance, hoping my husband hadn't heard that oddball expression, or that he could be charitable for once and overlook it. (I had pregnant brain, after all!)

But no. He said, "Well it's great that you approve."

I began giggling.

He continued. "I'm sure Michelangelo would appreciate that you support his goals and dreams."

By this time he was laughing too. We both just thought this whole thing was so hilarious that we were falling over each other laughing. People were stepping around us on the path, staring at these two ridiculous Americans laughing like hyenas.

Maybe you had to be there. Anyway, for some dumb reason I still actually blush when I think about that.

Requirement #2: If you were stranded in a deserted island with 3 Steem Fest attendees, who would they be and why?


Easy enough! My friends @rhondak, @gmuxx, and @enginewitty, whom I met at a meetup a few months ago in Tennessee. They are great people. But most importantly, they all love to laugh. (So looking forward to seeing you guys again!)

Requirement #3: For the thumbnail of your post, make a funny face


Oh gosh. Well, I am not great at making funny faces. But I will share a picture my husband took on my birthday yesterday. I was co-celebrating with my friend Kat, and the person who supplied the cake calculated our combined ages (109) and put those numbers on the top. So in this picture I am laughing at that!

Jayna and friend

Thanks for reading. If you will be at Steemfest, I look forward to meeting you!

Jayna's signature


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://jaynalocke.com/2018/11/04/the-road-to-steemfest-true-confessions-breaking-the-ice-and-other-silliness/

Sort:  

Your most embarrassing moment...is not so bad. Although I can imagine the local Italians shaking their heads and muttering about silly Americans.

Have an excellent time at Steemfest and all the other related activites!

Oh my gosh, in the rush of getting out of the country I completely missed your comment. Yeah, my embarrassing moment isn’t that bad, and I worry that if I’m not humiliating myself on a fairly regular basis, maybe I’m living too careful a life!

Woot woot! I fly out Wednesday so will see you in a few days sweets!!!🤗😋🙄

Posted using Partiko Android

Hooray! See you in a few!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Regards! :-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43