The tear-down

in #challenge6 years ago (edited)


The tear-down was going well. McWhacken and Son had purchased the place for a song. Old Riley McWhacken thought the claims of hauntings were ridiculous. He looked forward to getting the tenement built and collecting rent.

“Dad? Dad!” Connor called from inside.

“The freaking walls are filled with bones!”

Thank you for reading! This 50-word story was inspired by the #fiftywords challenge prompt, “tear” and the image of the building being razed.

Jayna's signature



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://jaynalocke.com/2018/07/06/the-tear-down/

Sort:  

Well done. You had me even from your catch title. Blessings.

I like your creative use of Mc-Whack-en as the name of the person doing the demolition. I wondered if Old Riley was a play on the name O’Riley. Your photo was perfect for your post. I’ll have to try that. What picture would inspire me to write? Hmmm

I do like to play with words! Thanks so much for reading and commenting, @jluvs2fly.

Tearing down old buildings always makes me a little sad. I hope the bones were placed there to defend the house, and now are free to get their revenge on their attackers. Go forth, boney defenders!

I totally agree! Old buildings should be protected. Sounds like you're imagining a sequel...!

Ooo. 'Zombie Bone Army Takes Out Contractor Workforce', News at 10pm?

Keep going. By my calculations, that’s only 11 words. 🤣

Crypt of Paris: above-ground bugaloo. But that would be creepy to find when somebody bulldozes a home and finds human remainders.

Yeah... what would you do with them? And what sort of mysteries might be unlocked? 😊

@jayna, your story reminds me of a remodeling show on HGTV called “Good Bones” where a mother and daughter team try to bring back to life historical homes. I love the illustration of the bones at the end of the story.

Thanks, @pyemoney! I have not heard of that show, but it's a great title. "Bone" would be a great future prompt, now that I think about it. Homes have "good bones" if they have a good structure and foundation. Writing has bones too, as Natalie Goldberg described in "Writing Down the Bones." So there are many great uses of that word! (I'll add it to my list.)

Great write-up mam
Please, how do you convert a link to a clickable word or sentence on steemit @jayna

Thanks @olakunle10. Fortunately everything you want to do on Steemit is searchable on google. Creating linked text is easy. Just put the words you want to link in square brackets [like this], and right after that, without any space, put the link in parenentheses like this (your link, starting with http...). That’s it!

Thanks a lot @jayna
It really helped
Steemit would have been incomplete without you.

Aw, thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34