Tears for Fears :: 50 Word Short Story

in #challenge6 years ago (edited)

And with our Joan of Arc, @jayna, leading the 50 Word Story charge against...um...larger and more verbose stories (kind of lost the metaphor a bit), we're moving on to the next prompt in her 50 Word Story Challenge.

Now we are offered the prompt word: tear.


Some may recognize the story title as the name of an 80s pop band, Tears for Fears. (Man, don't go looking for photos of favorite pop bands from the 80s on Google; it's slightly depressing to see how much they've aged over that ... 30 or 40 year span. Damn.). Anyway, one of my favorite bands from so very long ago. Although the band has nothing to do with the story itself, I did get to use 'tear' twice in the story. So that's a win for me.



It was like a tear in the space-time continuum. The end was nigh. What had she been working for all this time? What had she gained?

She stared at her shaking hands.

“No. I will be strong.” She looked in the oven again, shedding a tear for her collapsed soufflé.






Title by @negativer using Canva and image from Pixabay.

Join us at The Writers Block on Discord.
A great community of writers there, helping each other get better at what they enjoy doing.


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://negativerealm.com/tears-for-fears-50-word-short-story/

Sort:  

At last!

A manageable disaster... :D

😄😇😄

@creatr

Haha, finally! Something not apocalyptic, right? :)

Brilliant ending, and great use of both tears. I was thinking space then you brought me right down to ROFL.

Excellent, thanks! Not a lot of room for misdirection with only 50 words, so I do what I can with what I have :)

I love humor, especially when it is done well. It is ironic that your entry is on a failed soufflé because I just made a chocolate cake yesterday that failed. My failure of course was not funny. Wasted butter, eggs, cocoa and more importantly, time.

Was it edible, though? When I was young, sometimes my mom's baking or cooking would turn out horribly incorrect, but was still edible. Sometimes actually very good. We called these 'yummy mistakes'.

It was edible but I am not young anymore. I only make and eat chocolate cake every blue moon and even then, I give it away after I have a couple of slices. I couldn’t offer my “yummy mistake” to my friends. They look forward to eating my culinary delights because I limit my sugar. I’ll remember that term though, . . . a yummy mistake next time when my sons are home. They are more forgiving. 😁

I love Tears for Fears! I’m a big 80’s music fan. (It may have something to do with the fact that I was living my young adult years during that time.)

Oh the heartbreak of a failed cooking masterpiece!

I still love those beautiful earworms of the 80s. So many catchy riffs and simple melodies. Back when they had people that sung songs instead of autotuned them. Ah, the olden days.

git off my lawn

Ha ha! You’re too young to be a curmudgeon!

Ha ha ha... Great bit of humour!! Great punchline at the end!

Thanks! Gotta pack something into these tiny stories, and a decent punchline is one of the easier things to incorporate.

You made me giggle. I actually found time to work on an entry myself. It has to sit overnight then I hope to post it tomorrow.

Ha, thanks! I hope to read yours tomorrow; I'm not sure I've read a 50 word from you before.

I haven't entered before. I wrote one in another context... a micro version of one of the stories iI wrote for an exercise. Never write the microfiction first.

Wow, fun! Looking forward to it @bex-dk.

Yes the art of cooking is serious for connoisseurs of food. I have a sister who is a great cook and it upsets her when a certain dish does not meet her expectations . Great ending.

I'm pretty sure if I spent hours making some fancy bit of food and it turned out badly, I would go on a rampage.

This is why I stay out of the kitchen. It's for the good of all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99