June 30 Days Writing Challenge - Life Hacks - Day Nine: Ginger Up a Poor Digestion

in #challenge30days6 years ago (edited)

Food being an "indispensable ingredient" of our lives I thought to share with you today in my #challenge30days post a "hack" that I am using for some time at every "heavy" meal. Or at least most of them. Especially these square meals that I sometimes feel like taking a nap on the chair after having them.

Reviewing my eating habits and history I don't consider myself as a "junky" or an "ignorant" in terms of healthy and unhealthy foods, as I was a vegetarian for about five years. However throughout time I had to face some digestive problems with which I still have to deal even now. I was to the doctors for investigations and followed their treatments, but I'm not a fan of chemicals so I made my own research to help myself the green way.

One powerful and very accessible ingredient that I found on many researches on the topic was GINGER. That spicy root that grows in some parts of Asia, I believe, and is used in many Asian recipes. Getting more into its powers I found it very very useful for my past gastritis and actual IBS thus I am adding it to my food every day. Its benefits are amazing and are not only digestion related as you can discover, but I think I already covered that topic in an old post so I won't spam you repeating myself.

I use ginger as a useful digestive ingredient in two ways. The first is as simple as you can imagine: cut a raw slice and eat it as it is after having lunch or any other substantial meal, when the stomach gets very often to "crowded". I don't have any problem at all with its taste which I am already used with and I actually find it cooling, especially in summer.

ginger-1714196_1280.jpg
image source

The second way I use it is to grate it fresh and make some kind of a powder out of it. This version of it you can also find in stores already prepared so you can save yourself some efforts, but I like handling business myself so I make my own version. The powder can be added in almost every food, before or after cooking it. I usually prefer it after and especially on stake, potatoes or beans. As I said, is the "hard ones" that bother my digestive system and the most to get treated with ginger.

Before introducing it in your diet, if you have like myself a poor digestion, I would advise you to ask a doctor at first and why not do your own research. As in the case of the cold showers post that I wrote two days ago I recommend taking it gradually. It might have some nasty side effects when not eaten in proper quantities and the best voice to "judge" that is your own body so take it easy and listen it carefully.

Hope you found this spicy and highly ingredient for a poor digestion useful and haven't fell asleep while reading the post about it. See you to the next life hack post from @dragosroua #challenge30days and hopefully see your hacks also.

PS: If you like this writing challenge feel free to read the introductory post of Dragos and join the fun with your life hacks posts. If you find this man cool enough why not check his steem.supply app and see when you will be paid and how high is your potential growth on the Steem platform. I would encourage you also to give him your witness vote as he "really witnesses" and cares about our favorite blogging platform.

As he earlier wished me I wish you too: Steem on! :)

Thanks for reading and wish you a great day!

Sort:  

Ginger has many medicinal properties
👍👍

Rumors have it ginger can prevent sea sickness also.

That spicy root has a lot of power in it. It's one of my must haves in the fridge. When having a cold I used it a lot in making tea with it.

I've been hearing about all kinds of uses for ginger root. I like ginger, just don't eat a whole lot of it. Guess I should probably look at recipes that actually include it, or just get a hunk of the root like you seem to do and just hack off some after meals. I don't generally have digestive problems, but they do occur, as well as colds, so it would be nice to fend those off, along with other properties ginger is supposed to have.

If you will read extensively about ginger you will find out that it is named super food. I mostly opt for the raw slice after lunch or other substantial meals. But there's many ways in which you can introduce it in your diet.

I've heard about a lot of things being a superfood, and then someone comes along and says, "That's not a superfood," so it's all very confusing to me. We used to have a large root of it, but I don't think it got used much. I need to do that research, though. Need to make some kind of changes.

Interesting today's topic, I've never tasted the root, only the ginger candies, when I have snoring and it's very spicy.

Nutrition is health. Green is the way.
I have been taking a suppliment drink lately, trévo.
But the wonders of ginger are enormous.
A good life is a healthy lofe. Eating right is something people dont consider these days

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11