June 30 Days Writing Challenge - Life Hacks - Day Thirteen: Zoom Out And See The Bigger Picture

in #challenge30days6 years ago

Another day and another post with one of my life hacks dedicated to the #challenge30days initiated by @dragosroua. In yesterday's post I wrote about myself never going on an empty stomach on shopping at the grocery store in order to avoid useless food buying and precious money spending.

Today I will share with you how I very often "zoom out" my attention lens in different life situations, conflicts solving and day to day tasks and activities, in order to see the big picture and connect the puzzle pieces of details faster and more efficient. Now, since you read all this on the Steem platform I will give you an example related to our beloved blogging community and my experience on it to perfectly describe what I am talking about.

Soon after I got my confirmation e-mail from Steemit I made my introductory post, followed by many other posts on whatsoever I had in mind or found interesting to share around here. Having also the incentives of earning Steem with my posts and seeing that I don't get that much of it I stubbornly posted even more of these spending hours on my laptop while gathering only frustration and a few cents in upvotes which was far from what I was imagining when I first heard about this community.

magnifying-glass-1015477_1280.jpg
image source

Then, I stopped "spamming" with my posts and zoomed out a bit from this exhausting and useless activity. I began reading other articles and interacting with the authors while still posting from time to time, but after taking my head out of the whole I was making on my blog and peaked at others and communicated with them some upvotes started to show on my posts. So I realized that from the very beginning of my experience on the platform I zoomed in too much in my blog posts forgetting to see the big picture and get to know the play ground first and its players.

This attention focusing technique that I call "zooming out" can be applied in much more life situations where we very often get lost in details. Especially in couple relationship problems where a beautiful dinner can be spoiled from some complete nonsense that he or she said. It is not easy though to notice on time that you have to "zoom out" your attention and make some changes in your behavior or current tasks, but not impossible either. Sometimes you will get your head out too late and watch the fire behind you, but that's a lesson learned and a step forward and treat it as it is. At least you tried.

I'm not a master yet in seeing the big picture of...anything, before jumping to conclusions or start connecting details, but am working on it and I find it one of the "life hacks" gems in my portfolio, thus I considered sharing with you also. If you read carefully the post and got the idea, make some room for it in your memory and use it when needed. There will be plenty opportunities to put it into practice for sure os don't hesitate. And if you haven't got bored or fell asleep 2 minutes after opening this post a resteem won't hurt the author or any future reader.

PS: If you like this writing challenge feel free to read the introductory post of Dragos and join the fun with your life hacks posts. If you find this man cool enough why not check his steem.supply app and see when you will be paid and how high is your potential growth on the Steem platform. I would encourage you also to give him your witness vote as he "really witnesses" and cares about our favorite blogging platform.

Thanks for your attention,
Ace

Sort:  

Such a good point...perspective. So many of us post and myopically hit the “refresh” button over and over only seeking comments and upvotes on their post instead of looking around steemit and connecting with others. That’s where the real potential is...as you know. That’s how we met :)

Yes. If one only hits that refresh button over and over again and admires only his own garden he will be a lonely gardner, but when admiring others and talking with other gardners creativity and rewards will never stop flowing. So, nice to have met you gardner 😉!
Hope you don't mind my methaphoric answer.

Perfect metaphor 💐

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88