30 Days Challenge Fall 2018 - Day Twenty Five: Discipline

in #challenge30days5 years ago (edited)

There are days in which nothing seems to work out as expected, no matter how much you struggle. You know the type: tons of stuff to do, and not the tiniest speck of will to even look over the task list, let aside to actually start doing them.

Today was one of these days. Although it started ok, as it went along I realized I'm completely detached from the "doing" vibe.

And yet, I had a lot of stuff to finish.

Including this post.

So, I summoned that boring lady called "discipline" to the rescue.

Discipline is not nice, is not funny, is not cosy, is nothing like this. It just does the job, no matter if you feel like or not. It just makes things happening, regardless of your energy level, your inspiration, your mood, regardless of anything else. And this is boring.

But, as boring as it is, I came to respect discipline and, in a strange way, to love it. You can't really love discipline, but you can befriend it. You start to build a special relationship, the kind that sometimes appears between lifetime friends: even if you didn't see each other for years, you're always ready to pick up from where you left, like it was yesterday.

I first encountered the unpleasant side of discipline back when I started my first business, more than 18 years ago. There were certain days during which I had no intention to go to work, not because I was lazy, but mostly because I was exhausted, overworked, depleted. And yet, I had to finish that project, to fulfill that contract, to pay salaries and taxes.

Years after I sold my first business I bumped again into discipline, this time in a completely different activity: ultra-running. If you really want to finish a race longer than 200km, or still be on your feet at the end of a 48 hours race, then you have no choice but to keep training. And keep training. And keep training. No matter if it rains, if you're sleepy, if you're tired, you still have to put that foot in front of the other and keep doing that for countless hours.

Discipline is highly underrated. Discipline beats motivation anytime for me.

Especially during days in which motivation is simply non-existent.

Like the one that is just about to end, but which will end with the 25th post of the challenge written, although, when I started to write it, out of sheer discipline, I had no idea what I will write about.


Previous posts in the challenge:

Steem on!


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

I learned about discipline when trading futures. No matter what strategy you have, if you are not disciplined you end up burning your account.

Tell me about it. If I would have a dollar for every revenge trade I went into...

Day 25. Great post @dragosroua about that tough lady, discipline :) I have the advantage of time zones. I get to read your post everyday for motivation before I write mine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00