June 30 Days Writing Challenge - Life Hacks: My Own Timetable

in #challenge30days6 years ago

unnamed.gif
Credit

In this fast-paced world, each second is already loaded with a lot of things we should accomplish. Our brain tends to be wired with a lot of things that’s why sometimes we want to do everything at once. Hold your horses and calm down!

Multi-tasking is not really healthy because that hinders you to think and focus on the given task. You’re distracted and stressed out. Seeing how this can affect my everyday performance, I made a to-do list everyday of what am I supposed to accomplish. I want to share with you how I go about accomplishing tasks.

IMG_20180609_074226.jpg

Similar to the Pomodoro technique, what I do is to only allot 1 hour for me to finish each task on my To-do list. I have 8 task for the day that represents my 8 working hours. When a task I am doing is not finish on time, I stop doing it and proceed on the next task. If I finished early from the next task, I allow myself to do the next task after that. When I have finished until the last task, I allow myself to get back on the previous task that I haven’t accomplished and do my best to finish it before 5:00 PM. Of course, this only works if there are no urgent tasks on my list. If there is a priority task, I most likely allot 2-3 hours to finish it. My technique won’t work with a priority task because my boss will reprimand me if I didn’t finish it within the day.

I like this timeboxing or time table technique because it gives me a sense of discipline and motivation. What’s more is learning how to do everything in a fast yet accurate manner. The funny thing was before, I don’t follow such technique and I am a happy-go-lucky folk. However, my boss ask me what I do in a day and seems like clueless to what I really am doing in the company. I laughed because I think he thinks I’m just waiting for a client to come by and don’t do anything else besides assisting clients. I mean, hello, I do almost all of the needed documents on Sales & Mrktg. Department such as on contracts, inventory report, liquidations and etc. So this experienced made me realize that I should keep a To-do list and stick with it. This way I am hitting two birds with one stone - my boss won’t question me and I will be more productive.

This Pomodoro technique by Francesco Cirrulo is a productivity framework which suits me perfectly. It promotes discipline, a sense of achievement, a clearer mind and focus. I’ve been doing this technique on my work for a year now and I think it is one of the best productivity techniques out there. If you haven’t tried out Pomodoro technique then I highly suggest you should start now. I promise you, you won’t have regrets in the end.

June 9, 2018 - 8:00 AM

emdesan (1).png
received_1899007856785127.gif

Sort:  

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

I try to make a list but I do a lot of multitasking so far so good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78