May 30 Days Writing Challenge - Day Fifteen: How Many Posts Per Day Do You Write? Why?

in #challenge30days6 years ago (edited)

When I first started my career in Steemit I posted about 4 times a day. I would do one of those endless color challenges, then a poetry or fiction piece, then a reaction to something I read, heard or have today and lastly a zappl post.

I also believed that more was the way to go because it gives more chances for some people to like different aspects of what I post about. All of these, of course, would be cents and sometimes zero especially for the Zappl post because it is not really notable however I have to say that I had some Zappl posts that people responded to my cry for help.

image.png

From Unsplash - Raw Pixel

In line with my May 30 Days Writing Challenge - Day Fourteen: What’s Your Favorite Writing Topic? Why? I write different topics and I really don't have a schedule of what kind of post to do unlike @glenalbrethsen who has His The Maya Series and Grandpa gets to eat which he publishes on certain days.

What I do have is a series of topics I list down in my notebook that I carry all around. It is a small notebook of doodles, quotes that I heard and like, or something someone says that I find unique and may eventually find itself in a book that I am trying to finish.

Armed with different topics I am usually able to write 1-3 posts a day but usually, just 1-2 posts as I try to balance being able to post, be active in a few Discord groups that I am in, work on projects like the donation drive for our @giftinkindph, some online Steemit projects and be able to comment about 15-25 comments a day and mind you these are not good job, nice post kinds of comments!

So I usually write my 1st post when I get home and these writing challenges have been helpful in giving me something to write about. Then off to comments and replies that I have received and hopefully cover everything.

Then do some discord networking and engaging because I look forward to these interactions with people that I have grown to like. It is a wonderful bunch of funny, quirky, inspiring and knowledgeable people that I look forward to interacting.

Believe me, it is a time wormhole but I would not stop it because you are building relationships and that is an important key to your success in Steemit.

I would then sleep (to be honest nap) for a few hours and then when I wake up it usually to attend a meeting in one of the communities or to walk my dog.

I would then start drafting my 2nd post if I can. It could be anything from my list of topics or a reaction to a Steemit issue or project that I found interesting and would like to highlight.

If I can finish and post it then I would be very happy but most of the time I get distracted and leave the draft and will post it after I get back from work later that evening.

Do you think I should write more and engage less? Be someone that posts 10 times a day? How often do you post?

ono-communityvolunteer.jpg

Footer by @ameliabartlett

MAVERICKINVICTUS.gif

Centurion Mave.png
Click here for your Mannabase Income
Click here for your Kryptonia access for Superior Coins

Sort:  

ihave not heard about zappl yet :/ thank you for posting - followed.

No worries I don't see a lot of people using it now but last year I used to be active in using it.

I think posting more than once is a lot to be honest. I personally can't keep track with reading it all, but I don't know what's the best way to do it. Maybe it's better to post more...I'm not a Steemit expert =). I would say definitely 1 per day is the minimum. I feel bad if I miss a day...

Yeah and I am only able to do it because if these challenges ahahha or by joining contests which I was not able to write something for the Promo-mentors challenge ahhaha but I didn't want to intrude and make your life hard hahahah.

I feel bad as well if I am not able to write anything at least once a day.
Maybe I will try vlogs lol.

Well, now that I'm actually mentioned in your post... :)

Thanks for the shout out. I feel the need to point out it's more of a Grandpa Gotta Eat thing than it is a Grandpa Gets To Eat. Although, I suppose I could change it. :)

I think where you're at now, you could publish more if you could get to it, and it would probably benefit you. Before, as you saw, publishing four or so posts didn't really help.

There's guidance given, I think in the Steemit etiquette compilation posts, to comment and upvote most, and then maybe post once a day, at best, until people know who you are. I wonder how many of us really follow that? I've only been doing it for the last nine weeks because of the engagement league. Meaning, a significant amount of commenting and curating versus the amount of posts. Maybe by the end of June I'll reevaluate that strategy.

Most people when I was starting recommended posting as much as you can as the cents added up but I don't know it was not working for me because when I tried at least once a day with a quality post it yielded better results with a curie or ocd gracing me with their presence.

Ahhahaha sorry Glen if I made the wrong title to your series.

Since they gave the option to stop being paid for comments, I've been contemplating doing it as an experiment to see if I might actually get more engagement. Right now, it's kind of a courtesy to do that, and I wonder how many people are avoiding it because they don't have enough SP to spread their votes around.

As it is, the value of comments aren't in the rewards you can get. It's in the engagement and the opportunities talking to others can provide. If gentlebot shows up randomly and drops some rewards, cool, then the comment becomes something. Otherwise, we're always fighting the dust threshold, and even more so than posts, not all comments are worth the same.

All feel a bit inspired and want to start posting and commenting more maybe just read a few posts in succession after reading about how you and others have these routines dedicated to not just steemit but dedicated in general.

I am a very go where the wind blows kind of person. I like plans but just the planning part.

Each person has their own pace in a marathon except when you want to be a podium placer which means that you most likely have a cheetah running after your ass and wanting to take a bite out of your ass ahhahaha.

I often take a very chill method as well and Comment when I can or post when I am inspired.

Yip a cheetah will get you going but to survive you would need something badass that can't run faster than Bolt , maybe a granny with a chainsaw. Just spitballing now.

It is good to make a routine of it like with your notebook, else even when inspired one might not post and commenting can be quite a mental drain so maybe I should time it better as to not think I am going to read posts and comment at 3am haha.

Thanks for sharing these activities you were doing when you were still a newbie. Will be picking three blogs from you to discuss it with our meetup! I was not able to go through the color challenges though in which I guess it is the easiest activity that is being curated here on steemit.

Yeah the color challenges were okay especially if you don't have a lot of time although I rarely do those now as I like writing challenges more.

Yeah, but I honestly dont have enough time to create enough posts but I do want to post more than once. I also want to create more videos.. But yeah, I do wish I have more time

Yes I think you should espeicially open mic and vlogs would fit you.

You can even do a curation post of posts that you liked or resonated with you. A great way to highlight other people's posts.

Go ahead and make use of videos as your medium.

I post once a day, rarely twice. I do it for two reasons: lack of time and inability to post promote the second post on Discord because most of the communities I am part of accept only one post per day.
As for the topics, I write pretty much about anything that sparks my creativity. I don't have a predetermined schedule. I have seen some users do, but it won't work for me because I always write on the run.
Now let's see about comments: I comment daily on my favourite authors, then I comment again on posts from different communities where I promote my post. Later on I look for artists for the TNA curation and I leave some comments again. Before bed, I usually read and respond to the comments I got in my posts.
All together, I spend about 2 -3 hours on writing and commenting which leaves me little to zero time for chatting on Discord.

For the Steem Engine even if my post is two or three days old I would promote it since they have a one post a day rule and it does okay I get featured a number of times and works well to promote my posts.
I always look out for your post there because I know you will have something interesting.

Yeah Discord can be a huge time black hole getting time away from me being able to write or comment more but it works for me as I get to network and connect to people.

I spend an average of 6 hours of nnSteemit on a daily basis.

I can barely do one decent post a day Mave! You are doing very well and I don't think ten posts a day is that productive. The quality of those posts will get lesser and lesser as you hit your 10th post. ^^ Aja!

Hahaha Haijen doesn't seem to have that problem lol and he gets a lot of money for it hahahahahha.

You should post more but I know how busy you are holding multiple jobs, family and travelling hahha.

You got a 1.82% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @maverickinvictus!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25