How To Make Steemit.com Better

in #challenge30days6 years ago (edited)

*revised 6:05 pm 7.5.2018



@dragosroua started a 30-day writing Challenge on May first.

He asks a question each day. You write a post to answer his question.

This post explains the whole shebang.



Question: Name 3 Things That Must Be Done Immediately To Make Steemit.com A Better Experience

Answer: See below



Over the last two weeks, I keep hearing about a Steemit.com rule that I have been told has always been in place.

The rule is "A post or comment needs to receive at least 0.02 worth of payout at the close of the payout window, otherwise, it gets rounded down to 0"

Now here I will say that we all should do our own research when it comes to dealing with money. Steemit.com gives you a chance to earn free money through your hard work. Most of us here have more than benefited from this and am thankful for the chance to be given the gift that it is.

Steemit.com give a lot of people with nothing hope. It gives a lot of people the feeling like they are doing something that matters to help out their family financially. All of us here do not have money to invest in STEEM but we do have time. I am grateful for this site for those reasons and more.



BUT



This rule, as stated above, keeps coming up in conversations in Discord channels I have been in. I wanted to find out more about this rule to so I have been asking questions. These are some of the answers I received.

"The intention was never really for one new person's vote alone to have any influence on rewards."

"If you are only adding value for one person, and it is a person with almost no stake - then it really shouldn't be rewarding you to earn, users should either be trying to add value to groups of people (to get lots of little votes) or too large stakeholders."


Both legitimate reason and reasons that make a ton of sense to me.



Last night I was talking to a friend that wanted to see if this was really true. They wanted to test it out. They wanted to see if they got paid or not for a .01 or .02 cent vote they had. I happened to have had a comment that was paying out in 2 hours.



The two hours went by. I went to my post and looked at the comment. This is what I saw.



I was not the happiest of Campers when I saw the above photo but I was willing to check my wallet and hope that it the payment was in there. It wasn't.

Now comes the tricky part. Did the price of Steam go down in those 2 hours and make that .02 cent vote worthless?

If the hard fast rule is .02 cents is needed for a payout, and I have it on good authority it is, then this is another reason to think about how much you are voting on posts or comments so your vote is not wasted.



So to conclude: Many things might need to be changed on Steemit.com but to me, this is the most important thing.

All the voting power I now know I wasted has me a tad upset. Now I have to at least, for me, vote each post and comment at 30% to give someone a .03 cent vote.

This changes how I and you should be thinking about voting.

Do I know what to do about this to make it better? No, I don't. This problem is way beyond what I know I'm capable of dealing with. Getting the word out in a constructive way to those who might be able to do something about this rule that has always been there is the only thing I can do.




This is an informative post only.




This post did get written because I'm trying to do the "30-day writing Challenge". I really don't like getting involved with political things and this has political written all over it.

So why write the post? Well, this all happened last night. With the question @dragosroua came up with today, let's say I really didn't need more of a sledgehammer to hit me on the head than that to write this post.



Thank you so much for stopping by!

Snook



ezgif.com-video-to-gif (4).gif



Sort:  

I really hadn't realised the impact of this particular rule, and it has a big impact because I always upvote my good post comments - to promote them to the top of the comment section and as a little reward.Obviously I now need to use a greater percent of my upvote to get 0.03 or higher so the people I am upvoting do actually get something.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

yes, if you look at the rule deep enough it makes a bigger impact then one would think........

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.45$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Brisby reads post. Thinks about all of the time she thought that at least voting with her two cents was giving something. She sips her coffee, contemplating.
Outside, a squirrel was chilling on the roof of a neighbor's home. Suddenly an angry "DAMMIT!!" echoes through the air, scaring the bejeezus out of the critter.

could not agree more :(

Oh I will need to up my vote to be sure it gives more than .02. Thanks for writing about it and sharing!!!

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Holy cow. I never knew this! I ALWAYS upvote all comments at (I believe) .02 UGH. I suck at noticing things like this. THANK YOU for pointing it out. I'd rather not waste my votes!!!

don't feel bad I had no idea!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thanks for shedding light on this @snook. I can see where this can be frustrating to many. I know I have giving .02 votes especially when my voting power is down.

So I will be interested to see what some others have to say about this.

I just recently learned about dustvotes, or the .02 rule too and it was very disappointing. I was voting most of the comments on my posts at .02 for the longest time, then I learned not only were they not getting rewarded, I was wasting my voting power at the same time for nothing.

So instead of upvoting their comment I upvoted one of their posts, since it would payout if the total was more than .02. Just bought a small delegation and adjusted some autovoter stuff so I'm out of the .02 window now but still...I agree, that's a rule that needs to change. Thanks for the post @snook!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61275.32
ETH 2983.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76