France is the new world champion

in #champion6 years ago (edited)

We have come to the end of the FIFA world cup tournament, Russia 2018 and I am happy to announce to you all the the winner is France.

images.jpg
source

France emerge as the champion after defeating Croatia 4 - 2. The goal scorers were
Mario Mandzukic (Croatia) - 18min [own goal]
Ivan Perisic (Croatia) - 28min
Antoine Griezmann (France) - 38min [pen]
Paul Pogba (France) - 59min
Kylian Mbappe (France) - 65min
Mario Mandzukic (Croatia) - 69min

It was a very interesting final match as both team showed us all that they did not get to the final by fluke, though Croatia had more ball possession.

France really deserve to win the trophy with the class of players they have. I think they have the best set of players in this tournament. I want to also salute the team spirit of the Croatian team and their fighting spirit.

This is the 2nd time France will win the world cup. The first time was in 1998 (20 years ago) when the hosted and won the trophy.

i-817 (2).jpg
source

France also played in the 2006 final but lost to Italy after the famous headbutt by Zinadine Zidane. So, this means that France played in the world cup final 3 times in 20years.

unnamed.gif
source

These are some of the awards for this year's world cup

Winner - France
2nd place - Croatia
3rd place - Belgium
Best player of the tournament - Lucas Modric
Young player of the tournament - Kylian Mbappe
Highest goal scorer - Harry Kane

unnamed.jpg
source

2018 world cup statistics

Match played - 64
Total goals - 169
Yellow cards - 219
Red cards - 4
Passes completed - 49,647
Top scorer - Harry Kane (England) with 6gpals
Team top goal - Belgium with 16goals
Most attacking team - England with 321attacks
Team with highest passes - England with 3336passes
Most defending team - Croatia with 282 (clearance, tackles and saves)
Player with most attempt - Neymar (Brazil) with 27 attempts
Must distance covered by a player - John Stones (England) covered 69km
Most passes completed by a player - Sergio Ramos (Spain) with 285 passes
Keeper with most saves - Thibaut Courtois (Belgium) with 27saves
Team with best Jersey - Nigeria 😂

All in all, it was indeed an interesting and a great world cup.

Congratulations to France

Let us all celebrate France with Right Said Fred song, Stand Up (For The Champions)

I was built to be the best
Number one and nothing less
Leave me to my destiny
I have waited patiently
I have vision' oh I believe
I know I can count on me
(chorus)
So stand up for the champions
For the champions stand up
Stand up stand up
For the champions for the champions
Stand up for the champions
For the champions stand up
Stand up stand up
For the champions for the champions
Stand up
Here we go it's getting close
Now it's just who wants it most
It's just life that's how it is
Cause we have our strength and weaknesses
Oh I have vision' oh can't you see
I'm on the move make way for me
(chorus)
4x
And when I fall down
I have to pick myself back up
So stand up stand up for the champions
For the champions stand up
Stand up stand up
For the champions for the champions
Stand up
4x
Stand up stand up
For the champions for the champions
Stand up

I remain my humble self @fatherfaith

Don't forget to participate in the Fatherfaith referral bonus to earn free sbd as reward for inviting new members to join steemit: https://steemit.com/promo-steem/@fatherfaith/fatherfaith-referral-bonus-frb-week-35-get-free-sbd-by-inviting-people-to-join-steemit-5cfa087c27902

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84