THE TROUBLE WITH MY CHINESE NAME

in #character6 years ago


All Malaysian Chinese have their Chinese names. Even for those who can't speak any Chinese language.

Take mine for example.

Lee Phaik Kee is the translated version of my Chinese name 李碧芝. The English version has more usage than the Chinese as it is what shown on my identity card/passport and how people address me.

So where ever I go, I use Phaik Kee*.

The problem was... people would either call me Peggy or Maggie, sometimes even Pinky. A Nepalese that I met on Himalayas called me 'pancake'** because there was no way he could pronounce my name.

It was quite amusing how 'Phaik Kee' becomes 'Pan Cake'. All I want to say is, I have stopped trying.

To my foreign friends, I introduced myself as 'Lee'. And sometimes I added — 'You know Bruce Lee the kick ass fellow? Yes the same Lee.'

Share with me if you have a name that difficult to pronounce. Or how your name turn out weird in another language.

 

  • Except for China

** Pancake was the most popular food ordered by tourist in Nepal

 

////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://pkwalkstheworld.com/the-trouble-with-my-chinese-name/
Sort:  

@pklee, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34