A Helping Hand : A selfless act by random people

in #charity5 years ago

Hello Steemians,
I hope you are well and doing great and a happy thanksgiving to all my American friends.

When I was a kid, I always thought of helping the poor and helpless. And I believe many can relate to that feeling. The only problem was I had no money. Now I had been working for almost 6 years and realized that I can never have enough of it. But the thought of helping the poor was always there. I am taking a break from my regular posts to talk about something that we all wanted to do but for one reason or another, we don't. Community service.

11NOV2018 presented me with a wonderful opportunity to help some random people who were trying to do some good to the old peoples at an old age home. Before I start yapping about my feeling I would like to thank @bala41288 who has asked me to tag along I think some time in May or June but being me I was not able to jump on the wagon till November, But I am glad that I did.

Before this event, I couldn't imagine that I was able to spend a Sunday morning without any hangovers. It was different from the other days. @Bala41288 has called up for a meeting at 08:00 AM, for which I already called and apologized, I mean 08:00 AM was too early for me. And thanks to the luck that I was having that day I couldn't find any Autorickshaw on the OLA services and when I finally found one I was about an hour late. I finally reached the destination point and was a little surprised to find myself inside a Temple. There were many gentlemen and ladies doing various tasks. Bala was kind enough to introduce me to them, meanwhile messing up my name (Its OK, Bala. You are not the first one to get it wrong ;-) ). The place was nice and quiet and I swear I could feel the serenity, Which I thought would not be possible If you are in Chennai, a city with 9.8 million population. I was hearing the birds chirping, Then I realized that I was under the illusion that Chennai has only crows. (#nodisrepecttocrows). This calm feeling also forced me to ask the question 'When was the last time I was in a Temple?'. There was the Idol of Lord Krishna and Lord Rama. Lord Hanuman's Idol was there too. And in the backside was the Gautam Buddha, And A big cross. While on the other side there was inscription with a green star. A fellow volunteer showed me around (I am really sorry, I couldn't recall his name because I am writing about an incident which happened about 10 days ago, Please don't ask me the reason for the delay. I have many, And talent to make many more up). He has also given me the history of the place and that's is when I learned that they had been helping these people since there school days. That is when it hit me, That you don't need money to help people. You can help them even when you don't have money all you have to do is show up and help money has nothing to do with it. Ok, Money is a factor but by extending a helping hand would also get you the same satisfaction. I was a fool to think another way around it. The quick tour ended in 15mins and I was back in the main hall. Where I was again consumed with the feeling and the concept of God.

IMG_20181111_134207.jpg
Photo courtsey - My New Mi6Pro

IMG_20181111_134334.jpg
Photo courtsey - My New Mi6Pro

The first task that I got was to chop Brinjal for Sambhar. I pushed my feelings and questions related to God and the religion to the other side of my brain and got to work. And I know how to dice those purple veggies, so no problem there. There were at least 12 members present in the hall, we were sitting forming a circle and with smiles on everyone's face. Guys were chopping Brinjals and Carrots. I too showed my skill I finished the vegetable chopping without losing a single digit on my hand. Awesome, Right?!!!

But then I heard Bala who is told me to get to work of grating carrots for the thayir vadai (Dhai Wada). Grating carrot, Now I never had any hand on experience with the tool that I was provided. So I started slow. The best part was there wasn't any quiet moment in the hall, the Small talk was always there and some jokes in between. Most of the conversation that was going on was in Tamil but I was enjoying it even though I had a very little knowledge of the language. And some English comments in between was fun. I noticed one guy was doing some serious numbers with carrot, which got me pumped up too and I started picking up speed. But then I heard someone asking for Band-aid, Which was a good thing otherwise it would have been Me. (Better him than me, No hard feeling Bro) My back was aching and I assumed that everyone felt that way, But that pain had no impact on anyone. Not even a single person complained about the torment slowly grating carrots can be. But then I figured that must be the 8 years of training on community service.

IMG-20181111-WA0009.jpg
Photo courtsey - My New Mi6Pro

Next came the Mango grating challenge it was for the Manga thokku (Raw Mango Chutney) which again was a challenge, even though I had 15mins of grating carrot experience, Raw mango was whole new game. Luckily an elder woman was there to help, She guided us on how to grate a mango. Good thing, Not many of those tangy buggers were there another 15mins and we were done.

It was time for a little tea break, It was nice. I got my cup of tea and started what I am good at strolling around the place. Looking at mundane things and watching people smiling. Again the same feeling started to boil inside me the God, the religion but thankfully It wasn't such a worry this time. I was enjoying myself in that place. Then all the Volunteers went to meet the old people to ask about how they are doing and I followed them to say hi to complete strangers.

When I got to the room It felt very strange to me. All the fellow volunteers mostly were college and school student rushed into to the room and started talking casually to the elder peoples. I am finding difficult to put in words. The reaction of these volunteers was the same as mine when I use to visit my grandparents. There were talks and laughs and a lot of chit-chats. I also tried talking to an elder woman, and what a luck she knew English. She was very happy to see me, And I didn't even know her. She asked my name. I gave a valid response. Then she asked me about Job, Even though that was the last thing I wanted to talk I told her what I do. I asked her name and how she was feeling. And pretty soon I ran out of questions. I saw her reading a book and asked what it is about. She replied it was a poetry. Ok, Not my in my strength but let's play anyway. I asked her what is poems about She replied they are the religious one. And that was the end of the discussion. I ask my permission to leave and left. I knew, If I stayed there any longer I would have asked a question on the faith or something that may not be appreciated.

I left the room to move out and stood there for a good 20mins while my stupid brain was getting marinated with thoughts and question. The rest of the group also stepped out and we all headed down. The time was 11:30 am and Bala has asked the volunteers to join the Bhajans (Prayers). And I joined the group. The prayers started and I am being frank here I was lost in my thoughts, But the good thing is none of those thoughts were evil, I mean the usual ones. The prayer ended at 12:30 pm. It was almost getting time for lunch. I was asked to carry the vessel in which has the sambhar in it (I will never forget that moment because Bala was carrying the Manga Thokku, which a baby could have flung to the dining hall) That was the first time I was stepping inside the dining hall. I was wide spacious and well ventilated. One by One all items started arriving. That is when I came to know that there were volunteers who had been in the kitchen since morning 08:00 am preparing and making everything ready. Bala then introduced me to his mentor who actually was managing the Old age home and was helping with the operation of the charity events. I was talking to Bala about something which was probably related to Steemit and Indian community when I heard the enchantments from the dining hall, Bala explained them to be the prayers.

IMG_20181111_124738.jpg
Photo courtsey - My New Mi6Pro
And the lunch began, the volunteers were serving the elder peoples. I went along with one of the volunteers to deliver the lunch to one other elder person who hurt his legs and was having trouble walking (I hope he is alright now). Once the lunch was over I saw the personal side of the volunteers. But the smiles never left their faces. Some of them were making movie plans and couple were asking to leave early, they probably were having some assignment to finish. Bala called up for a small meeting before the people get back to their lives, He has asked for the experience from the new Joinees that was me and other 4 members. And Mr Shiva had given a briefing on the upcoming events. To which I am looking forward to.
It is simple, just show up and offer a helping hand.

IMG-20181111-WA0004.jpg
Photo Courtesy - @bala41288
(Me in Horizontal stripe and Bala in Vertical stripes)

IMG-20181112-WA0005.jpg
Photo Courtesy - @bala41288
(Here a group of people who can say they do something selfless for someone, I am glad that I made it to this)

EOD.png

I am inuke.png

If you close enough in the last pic you can actually see me smiling :-)
Oh!!! and I met Nayanthara.

EOD.png

inuke2.png

Also I am a proud member of Indiaunited a community committed to help and support quality contents and guide the new minnows. If are new to Steem and has no clue please join our IndiaUnited Discord Channel. Do check, IndiaUnited trail, a dedicated trail to support fellow steemians to write and promote quality content, Community growth is the precursor to Individual growth. To find more about the trail, please visit : Indiaunited Curation trail

Sort:  

Good work with pure and pious heart never get wasted. Great to see the religious and charity sentiments behind such nice work......steem on

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks man.

That's an excellent deed. And yours is an amazing writing! This shouldn't have gone unnoticed.

After reading this post, I really miss south Indian food!

Thanks @sathyasankar for the compliment.

it is so nice to read this even though I came across it earlier and voted.

Thanks for revisiting the post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84