Jazzyfish's #chasethelight Challenge For Photographers - Win SBD Weekly! - Weekly Theme Announcement

in #chasethelight6 years ago (edited)

I would like to use my 9+ years experience as a professional photographer to help my fellow Steemians become better photographers and win SBD!

One of the key components of creating amazing, professional-quality photographs is knowing how to use your camera to capture the light.

To capture good light, sometimes you must chase it.

I want to teach you how to look at light differently and use it to your advantage as a budding photographer.

Each week will focus on a different theme in the study of light and participation in this challenge will make you a stronger photographer and artist!

The themes for each week are as follows:

Week 1: Golden Hour & Rim Light (Scroll down for your first lesson!)

Week 2: Window Light

Week 3: Reflections

Week 4: Pocket of Light

Here are the rules to Jazzyfish's Chase the Light Challenge:

Rule #1:

Resteem my theme announcement post each week! (For week 1, resteem this post you are reading right now!) That means there is no limit to how much SBD you could possibly win! I'm splitting all of the SBD rewards from those posts with the weekly winners.

After the week's theme announcement post pays out, I will split the rewards between each of the winners as follows:

1st Place: 50% of the SBD payout of weekly theme announcement post

2nd Place: 20% of the SBD payout of weekly theme announcement post

3rd Place: 10% of the SBD payout of weekly theme announcement post

Rule #2:

Read each lesson included in the week's theme announcement post, then go out with your camera and practice what you learned in that lesson.

Rule #3:

#chasethelight

Submit your photo to win SBD by creating your own Steemit post with the #chasethelight tag. (BONUS: Comment on this post with a link to your submission post so I can resteem it for you!)

Any photo that does not meet that week's theme will be disqualified, so please read the week's lesson about the theme carefully.

The photo you submit to the Chase the Light Challenge MUST BE YOUR OWN PHOTO. We (@winstonwolfe and myself) will be researching the finalists before payout to make sure the photo is legitimate.

Rule #4:

You may enter as many photos as you wish as long as they fit the week's theme, but only one entry per post, please.

Practice, practice, practice!

Post, post, post!!

The better you are at capturing the week's theme and the more SBD the #chasethelight weekly theme announcement post earns, the more likely you are to win that SBD!

Week 1 Theme: Golden Hour & Rim Light

What is Golden Hour?

It's an outdoor photographer's favorite part of the day, that's what!

It's the last 1-2 hours of the day when the sun is making its decent for a good night's rest. Just before it kisses the horizon goodnight. When the sun is at an angle like this, it is softer, less intrusive. It is also warmer and has a glow that is hard to replicate with artificial light:

I know there is a very popular tag for #goldenhourphotography already on Steemit, and you can find some very beautiful images there.

However, you may notice that most of these images seem to interpret golden hour photography to be about one subject only: the sunset.

I want you to challenge yourself to point your camera away from the sun during Golden Hour, and onto a subject that is lit by that beautiful, warm, inviting incandescence.


What is Rim Light?

Rim light is a fine, thin highlight that outlines your subject and provides more depth, overall, in your photo. This can be achieved many ways, but my favorite is with the use of natural light at Golden hour.

To create rim light at Golden Hour, place your subject directly between yourself and the setting sun.
By lowering your exposure and dimming the front of your subject, you can increase the drama of the rim light. Make sure to keep good focus on your subject so that it is bright and crisp and defined so your audience doesn't have to wonder what it is you have photographed. You should never have to explain your work. Just like a good joke, if you have to explain it, the magic is lost.

During this weeks #chasethelight challenge, photos of sunsets WILL NOT BE CONSIDERED for the SBD prize. Only photos of a subject lit by golden hour light and/or photos showcasing your ability to capture Rim Light during golden hour.

Below, is some of my recent work that was created at golden hour, some with rim light captured. Use these as inspiration when creating your own submissions to this week's Chase the Light Challenge!



(The above images were taken by me on my Canon 6D. You can see more of mine and @winstonwolfe's work over the course of our careers as professional photographers by visiting our WEBSITE)

Now, It's your turn!

Go! Chase the light!

Sort:  

oh i have been experimenting with photos lately too, never too it serious enough to think i can capture something amazing like you

But it seems like you are mastering the art of drawing by hand, which I could never do. Even my stick figures need help! lol
The best tip I have for you: if you are using a camera with manual capabilities, start learning on those from the very beginning. Auto settings will limit your growth as a photographer.

Oh thanks ,I know yes,a little bit scary too at first

Wow! Awesome!

Either you or someone who valued your post shared this post on Pimp Your Post Thursday in the Steemit Ramble discord. Looking forward to you visiting us again.

Wow! This is awesome! I didn't kno wyou were a professional photographer, I will be bugging you even more now lol I have only just recently bought my DSLR and I am still learning how to use it. I love this contest as it combines learning with competition which is perfect for me! resteemed, read and...ah I just missed sunset. I will head out tomorrow ;)

Yes, that is one of the reasons I've had to take long absences from Steemit - usually during the height of busy season. I specialize mostly in family, newborn babies, and high school senior portraiture, but @winstonwolfe and I have been a wedding photography team for the last 8 years.

I love teaching, so I occasionally do mentoring and workshops locally. I'm here for any questions you have along the way!

If you're an early bird like me, you can catch morning golden hour, which is the first hour after the sun starts peeking over the horizon. The light is just as low, soft, and pretty!

well, I am a little disheartened today, there is no sunshine in England, just grey on top if grey :/ I will try again tomorrow!

It's all clouds for us here today, too. Don't give up! :)

I am soooooo excited! The sun was out today for the first time this week and i have just got back from my shoot! I need to upload and edit the pictures then create a post for the contest. I really have learned so much from this lesson, thank you!!!

wow! I love this challenge!! I will try my best to get an entry together 😍

I love how you push the entrants to not take photos of sunsets. Amazing!

PS I found you via #steemsugars - kisses!

Hooray for #steemsugars!!

I was a little amazed at the abundance of sunset photos in the #goldenhourphotography tag. There are so many other ways to use Golden Hour!! lol

I can't wait to see what you come up with for your entry. Good luck and I'm here if you need help. :)

well! I don't have a camera lol. I use my iPhone 8 plus which has an AMAZING camera (you can check my blog for that) but I would love to get a good camera soon

Wow!
Good challenge.
I enjoy this very much.

You should come join us in World Of Photography on Discord
https://discord.gg/PVEtyA

I just noticed you are in there.

Thanks, @bluefinstudios! I joined yesterday. Still figuring out the flow. :)

Thanks, @bluefinstudios! I joined yesterday. Still figuring out the flow. :)

This is such an amazing contest, and it's also very educational! :) I love your lesson about golden hour, it is definitely my favourite time of the day to take photos. I will take a chance on the contest, if I'm able to take photos this week :)

I can't wait to announce next week's theme - window light. Aside from Golden Hour, it's my favorite lighting to use, and I prefer to use it over studio lighting if stuck taking photos inside.

I look forward to seeing your entry!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-09T16:09:09
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 56.03/100.00
Total Photos: 2
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 1
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by JazzyFish from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20