Meaningful Conversations with Children

in #children5 years ago

When I was a child my dad used to tell me, that the most important thing in Life is dedication and commitment towards what ever you are doing then be it the most simplest thing but put your heart and soul into it and it will never fail. And he walked his talk every single day. I used to see him a man of hard work and 100% commitment in whatever he used to do, then be it as a single parent raising me or towards his job, but he would always be at his best.

I used to spend a lot of soulful moments with my dad and we used to have some really good conversations around life. He would share all his experiences with me and I would enjoy listening to them. The other one thing that I never forget about him is that he was always there for anyone who would be in need, and he would tell me this very often that it is ok to not be a part of someone's happiness but always be a part of them when they are in need. But I also used to see that people would take advantage of his kindness. He would not spend money on his ownself but if someone would be in need he would immediately lend and there were many a times when people would not return it back. And somewhere I follow the same pattern which I am trying to break through. But then all of these talks that I used to have with him and all of these experiences taught me a lot of real values of life.


Source

When I had my own child, this was one thing that I wanted to inculcate between us, that we should have that kind of a bonding to sit and do these meaningful conversations and I am happy that we have build that rapport to on and off sit and talk out. He was with me last couple of days and we had many such moments. This time a night before he was leaving and he came and sat down with me for a chat. I was checking on how his progress is happening towards his work and I also told him that I was a little worried about the kind of work that he does as he would be facing a lot of opposition and don't know when something can strike him. So he told me one thing, see Mom fear is completely out of my periphery and you have brought up one amazing child who has a very good balanced understanding of life and knows how to deal with situations, so stop worrying about me.

When I heard this I was really feeling very proud of him and also of myself, I felt that what my father gave to me, I could also give it to my son. It is so important for every parent to spend quality time with their children, have meaningful conversations with them. Make them understand the realities of life. I may not be a perfect parent in every way but what was important for me was to inculcate the right values in my child just the way my father did it for me. I had a very troubled childhood with my father, but still today if I have to think back these were the moments which made our relation special besides all the tough conditions.

I see that a lot of parents miss this part out, either they are so busy in their day to day life or they feel that their children are too small to understand these things. I believe the earlier it starts the better.
I will not deny that I used to give in to my son's every demand, if he would ask for something he would have it and my family used to get angry with me on this, but at the same time when I used to fulfill all his demands I used to take him along with me to the slum areas and orphanages and make him see the life on the other side. I used to make him realize that though life is very good for him, there is an other side to it also and he should value every single thing that he gets in life and I am glad he does that. Over a period of time by himself he started cutting down on his demands and would tell me No Mom I do not need so much and if I need I will manage it by myself but not on your money.

I personally believe that if I would have kept denying his demands may be he would have had some other type of feelings and simultaneously showing him the other side of the coin did help him understand by himself to value things in life.

It becomes so important for a parent to give enough enough valuable time to their children in their growing up. A lot of people do that but there are many I see that they are so involved in making up their own life that they forget to give these valuable moments to their children and when the children grow up their understanding of life is very different. They are not equipped to deal with situations and then there is all this stress thing. I cannot imagine a child of 15 years having stress issues, but it is a reality that many children have that. They easily fall into depression. Everything starts with the brain health and if that is not strengthened enough in their growing up, be it in the way of providing nutrition or in the way of boosting their mental health they fail to handle tough situations of life.

You can also read my another important blog related to Children well being Disorder of Parent's Induced Wastefulness

Thank you for visiting my blog. 👼🏻👼🏻💖💖🌹🌺🌸

My other blogs of Interest


Sublime Sunday - Soaking up in the High Energies of Mother Nature
"The Road to Steem Fest | The Thai Life and what to expect"
"What's your most embarrassing story from your newbie days at Old Steem"
Celebrating the Festival of Ganesh Chathurthi at our Home
"2 Years and 20K SP Milestone achieved......"

Member of


Supporting People Who Help Make The World A Better Place @ecoTrain

Sort:  

You got a 18.11% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @nainaztengra!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current min bid is 2 SBD and max bid is 10 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM. Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16