OST of the Day #24: MapleSEA - Go Shanghai! 🐷

in #chinese5 years ago (edited)


Hey Steemit!

Happy Lunar New Year! 🍊 新年快樂!Hope you guys had some fun celebrating (if you do). It's finally the Year of the Pig which is my zodiac so yay! Hopefully this means more good fortune and stuff for me this year! 😅

Related image

Anyway, If you're unfamiliar with this series, basically I share a soundtrack and my thoughts about it, and I highly recommend listening to the song while reading! 😊

Since it's still Chinese New Year (it lasts 15 days, fyi), I thought I'd pick a song fitting for this feastive season.

Image result for maplestory chinese new year

Yup, today we'll be reminiscing the good 'ol times in Maplestory yet again! Maple was one of the first online games I've ever played and it was also the game I wrote about in my very first OST of the Day post!

Just to recap if you're unfamiliar with this game, Maplestory is a free-to-play, 2D side-scrolling MMORPG, developed by Wizet. There were actually many different versions for specific countries and regions with their own publishers. I played the MapleSEA version which was published by Nexon and was released in 2005. Specifically I played the pre-Big Bang version so I'm not too familiar with all the newer jobs and areas.

Related image

I remember I used to spend countless hours training and gaining exp for my character and sometimes I fell asleep on my keyboard training. 😅

Maplestory had very unique regions, some of which were copies of real life locations, such as Singapore's CBD area, Malaysia's Kuala Lumpur, Taiwan's Taipei 101, etc. Today, I chose a song from the Shanghai area, called Shanghai Wai-Tan!

Related image
This picture is from a Maple private server which is pre-Big Bang, so if you wanna relive those sweet memories do check it out!

Here's the song of the day!

I recommend listening with headphones because you get to enjoy the sweet reverb from the starting melody. I'm not entirely sure what instrument it is exactly, but I imagine it's a kind of vibraphone. The crisp sounds from the pipa (a four-stringed plucked Chinese musical instrument) give a sharp contrast to the echoey vibraphone notes. The dizi (a Chinese flute) comes in briefly, and bells follow after that as percussion. The vibraphone comes in more strongly for the bridge (with guitar as support) and the rest of the percussion (including crash cymbals and slight maracas) build up for the climax of the song.

I really like this song because it's so upbeat despite the mellow beginning. The tempo increases quite rapidly until the first climax, and settles just a little bit in the middle through the next bridge up until the second climax. I also like that the composers combined the traditional Chinese instruments (such as the cymbals and gongs) with more modern beats and hihats towards the end. Overall, it's a pretty catchy and pleasant song, don't you think? 😊

Related image

Obviously, Chinese instruments are very prominent throughout the song (and fittingly so), which is also why I chose this song. Not only because it's fitting for Chinese New Year, but also since I'm quite familiar with them, having been in a Chinese Orchestra for 4 years in high school. I guess I'm not only reminiscing the game but my musical background as well. 😄 Even though it's been a while, those years I spent playing the zhongruan were really fun and I'll always remember them fondly.

I found out there was an alternate version of this song which I guess was in an earlier version of the game. Unfortunately I didn't have a chance to listen to it in-game because it's pretty awesome! Check it out!

Sooo many people in the comments say that this song reminds them of an anime opening and I couldn't agree more! It's just got that beat that's like a classic anime song. Perhaps that's why it was changed so they wouldn't get sued from the anime production companies? I think I like this version better but I'd say the first one suits the game better. I'm glad I got to at least enjoy the song regardless, so their hard work didn't go to waste (also because it's pretty damn epic).

Hope you guys have a fantastic Chinese New Year! Thanks for reading!


To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://tacocat.vornix.blog/2019/02/07/ost-of-the-day-24-maplesea-go-shanghai-%f0%9f%90%b7/

Check out my previous post in this series!
OST of the Day #23: Phoenix Wright Ace Attorney - Trial ‍⚖️
pw aa.jpg
Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by TacoCat from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @taco.cat! Your post received a small up-vote from @wod-game as little gift.
We are a small group of people who want to create the next big Video game for Steem.
Want to know more about us?
Steem: @wod-game
Discord: Click here!

Have a nice Day!

Hey thank you so much for the upvote!

Happy Chinese New Year!!
more fun travel, more music OSTs and gaming posts im awaiting from you! :D

Happy Chinese New Year to u too!! Yes more posts and stuff coming up! 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98