To Comment...or not: An observation.


I must admit that I find the lack of “social” interaction at Steemit very surprising. Steemit has a lot of potential. I like Steemit, but out of 420 followers that I presently have, two – maybe three – of them will comment on a post. Don’t take this the wrong way. Not every post will merit a comment, but two or three out of 420 followers and 192 posts? I find that very strange. Comments are more valuable than an upvote to me. I love comments, because I love to interact with people. Otherwise it doesn’t seem like I am posting to a real audience. Sometimes it feels like I am posting to a bunch of bots or some artificial intelligence. Am I? I am truly beginning to wonder.

At least I know that some of you are real. The few that have commented on my posts are definitely real and much appreciated. I try my best to reply to every comment made on my posts. I am humbled by every comment. You are blessing me with your time. I rejoice over a simple “Amen”! Seriously I do! It means a lot to me. I would like to add that commenting on others posts is not only good for the poster but to the commenter as well. What you say in a comment can get upvoted by other viewers. Plus, others see your comment and may end up following you. So, it’s great for exposure. It’s a win-win situation.

What brought the lack of “social” interaction to my attention was the lack of comments on someone else’s page. The other poster has many more followers than I do and a much higher reputation score. He is a Christian author and television host. I comment quite often on his page. It’s just crazy to me that out of all of his posts, he too has very few comments to his stuff. It seems strange, but I am beginning to feel weird commenting on his page. It makes it look like I am “star-struck” or something, because I am the ONLY one leaving comments. I like to let people know that I appreciate their material, that’s all. And guess what, he appreciates it. He is a brother in Christ. I am thrilled for him that he is able to work in the ministry full time.

Am I alone in my observation? Have any of you wondered why there is very little commenting? Is it because many folks are ONLY here to make money? I suppose that could be it. If I came to Steemit to make money, then I am failing miserably. I would have already starved to death if putting food on the table depended on Steemit. No, my friends, it’s not about the money to me. It’s about the Gospel, the Word, and reaching out to people.

Thanks for reading. Feel free to comment…or not.

Sort:  

I have definitely noted the lack of comments. I often try to comment on as many articles as I can. This makes me look like a loudmouth in some ways but I know how much time it takes to think out and write a post and it's a shame that so many have so few comments.

Part of what makes your posts a little harder to comment on is that they deal with deep subjects and I often feel reluctance to throw an off-handed little comment at you when you're talking about such serious things. And a good comment takes time to think through and formulate.

Yes, if Steemit was supposed to make a livelihood I wouldn't be able to make it either. Mostly because it takes me days to make a post.

You have a very unusual background and perspective. It's valuable because I suspect you see things other people would just wave off or overlook as innocent. You are appreciated and I pick your posts out of my feed to read.

Thank you for taking the time even when it's underappreciated!

I know what you mean about looking like a "loudmouth". I have felt that way too. It is a shame that so many have so few comments. I have read some really good posts with no comments. Plenty of upvotes, but no feedback.

Please do not hesitate to comment on what I post no matter how "deep" or "serious" they may be. I must admit, it is difficult for me to not be deep or serious about the things of YHWH. I came from a very dark place as you know. I had an encounter with the true God that changed my life. Service to the King is serious business and it comes out in my writing. And you're right, because I am the same way, "a good comment takes time to think through and formulate".

I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to read my posts and commenting. And since you are one of the "two or three" that I mentioned, do you have any suggestions for me? In my writings, has there been anything that peeked your curiosity? Much of what I write has come from conversations in the past. So, I am open to ideas.

I apologize for taking a few days to respond! It takes me two days to get ready for Sabbath currently...part of raising a houseful of toddlers.

Your posts are valuable because you can call attention to things that you know from experience aren't innocent that would be easy for me to pass up as innocent. While I think many of us have had our unrealizing brushes with the occult, you knew what you were looking at because that's where you wanted to be at the time.

If you've told this story and I've missed it, I apologize: but hearing how you came from occult to belief in YHVH to something of a messianic or whole Bible understanding (versus more standard Christianity) would be really interesting to hear. My husband came to belief in God and then to a whole-Bible approach all at once, for instance, but I was raised in a believing home that gradually began realizing there were things we needed to remember like keeping the Sabbath and eating the way God commanded.

Hearing how people discover God and the way they've gotten to know him is always wonderful. It's a little different than "I was saved on October 15, 1978". It's more like, "I met my wife when we were both at a party and I thought she was the most beautiful girl in the room".

I'm also always interested in hearing the "secrets of the Kingdom of Heaven" that people have come to understand, things that make God's way narrow and hard to find.

These are kind of broad topics, but...you asked! :)

There is no need to apologize for anything. I hope I haven’t given the wrong impression in regards to commenting. I would hate for people to think that I am demanding readers comment on my posts. That is not the case. I deserve nor are worthy of anything. I give all the glory to Him. I wouldn’t be writing the things I write without Him. All praise goes to the King.

I believe a majority of people have “brushes” with the occult. Some intentionally and some not intentional. It’s all deception whether intentional or not. The Luciferian agenda is hidden in plain sight. It’s in children’s cartoons, movies, and music. It’s our ignorance of such things that get us in trouble and trapped. Some readers may believe that I focus too much attention on darkness. I can see that, but how else can we wage effective warfare if we do not know the battleplan of the enemy? And if that is something one believes a follower of Yeshua shouldn’t be concerned about, I disagree 100%. We have an enemy and the enemy wants nothing more than to destroy you.

I tried my best to lay it all out in my testimony, which I know is super long but it had to be. It is difficult for me to throw out a few words and have the reader “get-it”. Know what I mean? We have stories to tell and none are more important than the other. Some are more interesting, I must admit, but not more important. When I came into the fold, I was truly a new creature; a real baby in the faith. However, my hunger was so great that I was not long on the milk. I went from baby to toddler very quickly. And like a toddler, I wanted to get into EVERYTHING! Next thing I know the Pastor is talking to me about ministry and preaching! Whoa! I grew up very quickly even bypassing some who have been warming a pew for 30 years and who were raised in the “Church”. I was on fire. My most passionate prayer to my King has been to reveal deception to me and help me to spiritually discern no matter how ugly. I hated the thought of being deceived so much that I was angry about it. I had been deceived for so long that it became my mission to wage war against it. In a nutshell, that’s how I moved beyond just doing “church” to understanding that I am the Church, i.e. a set-apart one. We are the Church. The Church is not a building or institution. It’s you and me. It grew from there. Perhaps I will pickup where I left off in my testimony and bring it forward, because it hasn’t been an easy road. The enemy is subtle. The adversary will do everything to trip you up in your walk with Messiah if he views you as a threat.

Many believers claim to believe in the fullness of the Word, but I learned after years of walking with Him that they really do not. They focus their attention on one-third of the Word and ignore two-thirds of it and then claim to understand the fullness of it. Impossible! There are Hebraic idioms present in the New Covenant writings. There are Aramaic idioms present. There are subjects discussed in the New Covenant writings that can only be understood by reading the other two-thirds of the Word. And Paul, man o’ man, the letters of Paul. He is the most misunderstood Apostle of them all. Why? Because he had the toughest mission field to tame. We read his letters 2000 years removed from his point of view and have created doctrines based off of his so-called theology. Look, even Peter said he was difficult to understand for crying out loud! What makes us think we have his theology pinned down? Newsflash! His “theology” was not anti-Hebraic nor was it anti-Torah. He had to go head-to-head with Pagans who understood NOTHING of YHWH let alone Yeshua. He did the best he could by the power and direction of the Holy Spirit. I suppose I could write some on that, but man what a subject.

Still a wonderful work in progress. He truly is worthy of all praise and glory. Getting to know Him comes through prayer and witnessing. He gives us the undeserved opportunity to be apart of His will and see Him work. It’s awesome!

Thank you very much for commenting and bringing up some great points! It really gets my mind going. Bless the Most High!

I think you and my husband Ben might've been twins separated at birth or something. This whole post sounds like him. He even ends so many of his posts with "Bless the Most High!"

He still didn't manage to get quite as deeply involved with occultic things, but his progress in belief was very, very similar to yours, right down to his pastor wanting him to get involved in teaching after he'd been a believer for less than a year. He is still on fire like that, though these days we have a lot of energy going into our children and less into writing and researching.

The writings of Paul become a sorer sticking point as time goes by, mostly because it's galling how completely misunderstood they are and how difficult it is to unlearn the twisting of them that seems to get into everything.

I remember reading the testimony you posted earlier, but I don't remember the whole progression from coming to belief to coming to Torah. I should go back and look!

You're very welcome and it'll be good to see what thoughts come to post out of this.

I'm only familiar with Marcione in passing, enough to recognize his teaching laced throughout the church today. What's amazing is that if most Christians heard the whole of what he had to say, they would be horrified (I think). And yet here we are, putting his twisting of the Scripture into everyday use.

Well, you and Ben are sort of fellowshipping through me reading your posts aloud. He's @ironshield.

Our three daughters and our son are our biggest commission by a long, long shot, and their different characters and development take up the core of our concentration every day. Failure isn't an option here and it's not a place for sloppy Godliness.

Thank you for continuing to post!

You familiar with Marcion of Sinope? Once you learn about him, you will understand what we are dealing with and why there is a misunderstanding of the Old and New. There are Marcionites running around everywhere and they don't even know it. In fact, I personally know of some that have stepped away from their first love and have gone after Marcionism. Of course, to bring that up to them is met with sharp rebuke, because they still claim to serve Yeshua/Jesus. Perhaps a post is in the works...

I would like to fellowship with your husband. We do sound alike. It's because we serve the same King. We're all growing together in this. And as far as focusing on our children, that's what we are supposed to do. My son's are my immediate ministry. They are very different and have different levels of understanding. I have to trust the process of sowing and reaping.

Again, THANK YOU for being so gracious and blessing me with your comments. Shalom!

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

I have been reading and appreciating^1 your posts, I just think that my small upvote is more helpful than some random comment. But perhaps this will get me posting comments more often.

1: I'd be lying if I said I agreed with everything you said. ;) I am a Catholic.

Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment! I appreciate the upvotes too. Stop by anytime!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70463.21
ETH 3549.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.87