The Final Installment: The Book of Ahikar Part Twenty Four


Image Source

It's been quite a journey, but here we are. We will read the final parables and wisdom given to Nadan before his demise.

The Final Installment of the Story of Ahikar


So this man Ahikar is the chief adviser for Sennacherib, king of Assyria. He is considered very wise, but he was growing old. Having no son to succeed him, he raised his sister's son Nadan as his replacement. Nadan turns out to be a bad dude. He tricked the king to believe that Ahikar had betrayed him and the king had Ahikar executed. By the wisdom of Ahikar, and the favor of the Most High, Ahikar was spared.

King Sennacherib repented of eliminating Ahikar when he found himself in trouble. Pharaoh of Egypt attempted to take advantage of this situation by demanding some answers to impossible riddles. The king finds out that Ahikar is still alive and he regains his position as adviser to Sennacherib. Ahikar travels to Egypt to match wits with Pharaoh. Ahikar outsmarts Pharaoh and returned to Assyria with many Assyrians and great wealth. The king is very pleased and grants Ahikar anything he wants (up to half his kingdom) and Ahikar says, "give me Nadan." So here we are. Ahikar is about to have some words with Nadan.

The book of Ahikar can be read here.

Here resumes the story of Ahikar.



Image Source Pexels

You have been to me like...

My boy, you have been to me like a lion who made friends with an ass. The ass kept walking before the lion and one day the lion sprang upon the ass and ate it up.

Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour. 1 Peter 5:8

My boy, you have been to me like a weevil in the wheat, for it is good for nothing and spoils the wheat and gnaws it.

My boy, you have been to me like a man who sowed ten measures of wheat and when it was harvest time, he arose and reaped it and garnered it and threshed it and worked over it until completion and it turned out to be ten measures. The master said to it "Oh you lazy thing! You have not grown and you have not shrunk!"

My boy, You have been to me like the dog that was cold and he went into the potter's house to get warm. And when he had gotten warm, he began to bark at them and they chased him out and beat him that it might not bite them.

My boy, you have been to me like the pig who went into the hot bath with people of quality and when he came out of the hot bath, he saw a filthy hole and he went down and wallowed in it.

“Do not give dogs what is holy, and do not throw your pearls before pigs, lest they trample them underfoot and turn to attack you." Matthew 7:6

My boy, you have been to me like the goat which joined his friends on their way to the sacrifice and was unable to save himself.

My boy, you have been to me like the dog which is not fed from his hunt and becomes food for the flies.

My boy, you have been to me like the hand that does not labor and plough, but is greedy and cunning and shall be cut away from his shoulder.

And if your right hand causes you to sin, cut it off and throw it away. For it is better that you lose one of your members than that your whole body go into sheol. Matthew 5:30

My boy, you have been to me like the eye in which light is not seen, the ravens shall pick at it and pluck it out.

If your right eye causes you to sin, pluck it out and throw it away. It is better for you to lose one part of your body than for your whole body to be thrown into sheol. Matthew 5:29

My boy, you have been to me like a tree whose branches they were cutting and he said to them "If something of me were not in your hands, truly you would not be able to cut me."

My boy, you have been to me like a cat to whom they said "Stop stealing, unless we make a chain of gold for you and feed you with sugar and almonds." And he said "I am not forgetful of the craft of my father and my mother."


Image Source Pexels

The Parable of the Serpent and the Wolf

My son, you have been to me like the serpent riding on a thorn-bush when he was in the middle of a river. A wolf saw them and said "Mischief upon mischief! Let him who is more mischievous than they direct both of them!" And the serpent said to the wolf "The lambs and the goats and the sheep which you have eaten all your life, will you return them to their fathers and to their parents?" The wolf said "No." And the serpent said to him "I think that you are after me - you are the worst of us."

Ahikar Continues His Lesson

My son, I fed you with good food and you did not feed me with dry bread.

My son, I gave you sugared water to drink and good syrup and you did not give me water from the well to drink.

My son, I taught you and brought you up and you dug a hiding-place for me and hid me.

My son, I brought you up with the best upbringing and trained you like a tall cedar and you have twisted and bent me.

My son, I was had hope concerning you that you would build me a fortified castle, so I might be concealed from my enemies in it, but you became to me like one who digs in the depth of the earth. But YHVH took pity on me and delivered me from your cunning.

My son, I wished you well and you rewarded me with evil and hatefulness. Now I would tear out your eyes and make you food for the dogs and cut out your tongue and take off your head with the edge of the sword and repay you for your abominable deeds.

Nadan Responds

And when Nadan heard this speach from his uncle Ahikar, he said "Oh my uncle! Deal with me according to your knowledge and forgive me my sins, for who is there who has sinned like me, or who is there who forgives like you? Accept me, Oh my uncle! Now I will serve in your house and groom your horses and sweep up the dung of your cattle and feed your sheep, for I am the wicked and you are the righteous. I am guilty and you are the one who forgives."

Final Words to Nadan

And Ahikar said to him:

Oh my son, you are like the tree which was fruitless beside the water and his master was thinking of cutting it down. He said to him "Move me to another place and if I do not bear fruit, cut me down." And his master said to him "You being beside the water has not borne fruit, how shall you bear fruit when you are in another place?"

A good tree cannot bear bad fruit, and a bad tree cannot bear good fruit. Every tree that does not bear good fruit is cut down and thrown into the fire. Matthew 7:18-19

My boy, the old age of the eagle is better than the youth of the crow.

My boy, they said to the wolf "Keep away from the sheep lest their dust should harm you." And the wolf said "The dregs of the sheep's milk are good for my eyes."

My boy, they made the wolf go to school that he may learn to read and they said to him "Say A, B." He said "Lamb and the goat in my belly."

My boy, they set the ass down at the table and he fell. He began to roll himself in the dust and one said "Let him roll himself for it is his nature, he will not change."

Can the Ethiopian change his skin, or the leopard his spots? Neither are you able to do good— you who are accustomed to doing evil. Jeremiah 13:23

My boy, the saying has been confirmed that says "If you beget a boy, call him your son, and if you raise a boy, call him your servant."

My boy, he who does good shall meet with good and he who does evil shall meet with evil, for YHVH repays a man according to the measure of his work.

May the LORD repay the evildoer according to his evil.” 2 Sam 3:39

My boy, what shall I say any more to you than these sayings? For YHVH knows what is hidden and is acquainted with secrets and mysteries. He will requite you and will judge between me and you and will repay you according to what you deserve.

The Death of Nadan

When Nadan heard that speech from his uncle Ahikar, he swelled up immediatly and became like a blown-out bladder. His limbs swelled and his legs and his feet and his side and he was torn and his belly burst asunder and his entrails were scattered and he perished and died.

His latter end was destruction and he went to sheol. For he who digs a pit for his brother shall fall into it and he who sets up traps shall be caught in them.

Conclusion

This is what happened and what we found about the tale of Ahikar. Praise be to God for ever and ever. Amen and peace.

This chronicle is finished with the help of God, may He be exalted! Amen, amen, amen.

The End


It is my theory that the story was incomplete, likely ending with Ahikar requesting Nadan from the king. The final parables and demise of Nadan was perhaps added to 'finish the chronicle' as the text states. Is the final section authentic? I don't know, but it's certainly a surprise ending indeed! Nadan repents, Ahikar calls upon God to determine Nadan's fate and Nadan dies by super-natural means.

He who does not listen with his ears, they will make him listen with the scruff of his neck! And then inflate like a balloon and burst!

Bless the Name of the Most High, the God of the Heavens, in fear and reverence, that He may receive glory among the nations

@ironshield


SmartCashSXJLtozyeJeCxYMd5ckXU2rGHGjAwUePMa
Bitcoin14USVaf7cnCZzMtvFaqGuSXdKcVq4pFHzf
LitecoinLPRHooiVYgvM6Jp7jsDYhcvXeTB2qnBfk9
Ethereum0xAd1E93433DD92d07425ADa83d9192d6bD1ee08e0
Bitsharesir0nshield <----with a "zero" for an "o"

ALL PHOTOS ORIGINAL TO THE AUTHOR UNLESS OTHERWISE SPECIFIED.


Benjamin Turner: God fearer. Rooted in Messiah. Husband of @lturner. Father of four wonderful children. The guy behind the camera. Steemit enthusiast.

Bless the Most High!

Do you want to learn how to format your Steemit posts?


Make your steemit posts more appealing! Check out the course by @sumatranate on markdown and learn how to make your Steemit posts stand out. Check it out here.

Sort:  

Congratulations!!!
You will be rewarded 1 SMARTCASH for using this resteem service

ABASINKANGA RESTEEM SERVICE

  • This post just got resteemed to 7000 followers.
  • For anyone to use my resteem service, send 0.1 SBD to @abasinkanga + post link as memo.
  • Earn SmartCash rewards when you resteem your post
  • Tip with SMARTCASH or Upvote this comment if you appreciate this service.

    How To Use SmartCash?

I didn't like the end of the story. It was against all that Ahikar said about repent and forgiveness. Maybe Nadan should have a quest to prove that he was not the same Nadan and at the end he could be forgiven. Or not.

I agree, I did not like the ending of the story. It would have been much better if Ahikar had shown Nadan mercy in all his wisdom. Disappointing end to an otherwise enjoyable and edifying story. @ironshield

howdy today @ironshield! wow what a great story but I agree that it may have been an ending which was not original but either way it was a surprise and justice was served! great job and great post!
I hope you have other stories lined up!

I didn't quite follow it from the beginning, wish I had started following you earlier. I'll pick it up during my free time and have some fun reading this wonderful blend of biblical history

WARNING! The comment below by @erudire leads to a known phishing site that could steal your account.
Do not open links from users you do not trust. Do not provide your private keys to any third party websites.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

@smartbot tip 1

Your post has been tweeted to 2000 followers. Follow me on twitter
Your post has been shared with 2000 facebook members. Join facebook group

Σ$$$ Tipped @ironshield Σ1 SMART! Comment @smartbot help to claim. Currently the price of SmartCash in the market is $0.077 USD per SMART. Current value of the tip is $0.08 USD. To find out more about SmartCash, please visit https://smartcash.cc.

This User is on the @buildawhale blacklist for one or more of the following reasons:

• Spam
• Plagiarism
• Scam or Fraud


35474576.jpg
Please show support show your support for @spam-detector by following and upvoting this post.
Thank you for your support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17