A Faith That Will Sustain

in #christian-trail6 years ago (edited)

god endures.jpeg

Psalms 102:18 (KJV)
This shall be written for the generation to come: and the people which shall be created shall praise the LORD.

The promise of this Psalm is, Psalms 102:28
The children of thy servants shall continue, and their seed shall be established before thee.

The Word of God, and this Psalm in particular, is written so that those who follow us will continue in the faith and be established (perhaps an allusion to heaven) before God.

So what does the Psalm teach that delivers this promise?

The psalmist was in desperate straits. He had enemies and his heart had been crushed. It seemed as if he was all but lost
(vs 3-11)
Like a pelican in the wilderness
Out of place.

Like an owl in the desert
Out of resources. And

Like a sparrow on the rooftop
Out of protection

He prayed
He cried and
He called out for speedy help

(Vs 1-2)

And then he said this, Psalms 102:11-12
My days are like a shadow that declineth; and I am withered like grass.But thou, O LORD, shalt endure for ever; and thy remembrance unto all generations.

The point is that all of us, every one of us, withers and dies (on this earth). Only God endures forever. So the key isn’t to live as if I am going to live forever. The key to providing a faith that will sustain the next generation is to live as if God will endure forever.

I will fade from life and then from memory. Rather than trying to preserve myself I would be better off investing in others the knowledge of and relationship to my Eternal God.

To my readers:
First of all, thank you! It is a great joy to me to know you read the thoughts and lessons God has given me in His word. Secondly, I would love to hear from you. Please feel free to leave comments.

For this and more than 4300 earlier Daily Visits with God visit https://mckenzie-visit-with-god.blogspot.com. There you will find daily visits going back to 2006.

If you have been blessed by this blog, please subscribe to my feed and share it with others.

For more resources from Pastor Marvin McKenzie visit http://puyallupbaptistchurch.com.

My books are available at:
My author spotlight at Lulu.com:
http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/marvinmckenzie

My author Page for Kindle/Amazon
http://www.amazon.com/author/marvinmckenzie

Psalms 102:18 (KJV) A Faith That Will Sustain

Please consider helping our church’s teen department by signing up for cash back shopping at http://www.dubli.com/M04VB. This program has three levels of participation, the first being completely free.

Sort:  

Psalm 102:11-12
My days are like a shadow that lengthens,
And I wither away like grass.
12 But You, O Lord, shall endure forever,
And the remembrance of Your name to all generations.

From this verse we see forever and all generations. In all of your studies over the years have you every come across a situation where forever didn't mean forever and all generations meant only for a limited number of generations?

I take both words to mean exactly what they say.
Forever is forever and
All generations means "all"
God is forever. We are too in the spiritual realm, but on the earth we only last 70 or so years. I am at 60. Getting close to the beginning of real living :-)

Glad to hear that. There are some things in the "Old" testament that says we are to do things forever that seemed to not be done anymore. Now I get not everything that says forever can be done, for the most part that reason is the lack of a temple and the Levitical priesthood!

Have a peaceful weekend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77