I Stand With HimsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #christian-trail5 years ago (edited)

loyalty to God.jpeg

Daniel 11:1 (KJV)
Also I in the first year of Darius the Mede, even I, stood to confirm and to strengthen him.

Various students of the Bible have differing and sometimes even opposing interpretations of this passage. Gill says the first person in the verse is not Daniel, but the angel who revealed himself in chapter ten. He also says that students disagree concerning who is being strengthened and confirmed.
Some believe it is Michael the angel of Daniel 10:21
Some, like Gill, believe it is Darius (and Cyrus as they ruled together)

For the purposes of this devotional thought, I am going to take the position that the one being confirmed and strengthened is the king. I am also going to accept what I believe to be the most obvious understanding, that it is Daniel standing to confirm and strengthen. Certainly, Darius had reason to trust and promote Daniel. Perhaps this is at least one reason.

Imagine. This is at least the third King Daniel had served while being technically a prisoner in this land. Darius has defeated a king that Daniel was loyal to and yet, now that Darius is king, he stood with Darius. I believe he could do that because his ultimate loyalty and service were to God and he accepted that it was of God that Darius is the ruler at this time. In our country, we have a unique opportunity to see leadership change frequently and sometimes extremely. We can be loyal to our leadership, regardless of who they are, so long as we accept that our God is directing in these affairs.

To my point. I choose to stand with our current President and his Vice President. I am convinced that Trump and Pence are the men for their jobs at this hour. I choose to support them. I choose to pray for them. I choose to encourage them.

Mr. Trump and Mr. Pence may be the most spiritually uncompromising men we have had in these offices, perhaps in a century. President Trump has a checkered past, but we are not to judge him for his past. We are rather to look at what he is doing right now. I see in him a man who seems to daily be gaining a better understanding of biblical truth and doing his best to apply those truths. Whether he will ever come completely to understand the Word of God in the way we independent Baptists do, I cannot say. (We do understand the Bible in a pretty strict way.) I do appreciate that he and Vice President Pence see the Bible as a rule of faith and practice and not merely as a religious keepsake.

I stand with President Trump. I confirm him as my President, and I pray that God will strengthen him and use him as long as our Lord is pleased that he is in this office.

To my readers:
First of all, thank you! It is a great joy to me to know you read the thoughts and lessons God has given me in His word.
Secondly, I would love to hear from you. Please feel free to leave comments.

For this and more than 4500 earlier Daily Visits with God visit https://mckenzie-visit-with-god.blogspot.com. There you will find daily visits going back to 2006.

If you have been blessed by this blog, please subscribe to my feed and share it with others.

For more resources from Pastor Marvin McKenzie visit http://puyallupbaptistchurch.com.
My books are available at:
My author spotlight at Lulu.com:
http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/marvinmckenzie
My author Page for Kindle/Amazon
http://www.amazon.com/author/marvinmckenzie

Daniel 11:1 (KJV) I Stand With Him

Photos from pexels.com
Marvin Feb 5 2019 HBBC cropped.jpg

Please consider helping our church’s teen department by signing up for cash back shopping at http://www.dubli.com/M04VB. This program has three levels of participation, the first being completely free.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84