Keep It To YourselfsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #christian-trail5 years ago (edited)

venting.jpeg

Daniel 7:28 (KJV)
Hitherto is the end of the matter. As for me Daniel, my cogitations much troubled me, and my countenance changed in me: but I kept the matter in my heart.

Daniel has received a vision that troubled him, I think, for a number of reasons:
It was ominous to say the least
Its fulfillment would be disastrous to the world
It seemed like there was little he could do about it
It was only one of a number of similar visions he was to receive

Then he said this vision troubled him so much that his countenance changed. It made a visible impression upon his appearance. But he said that he kept the matter in his heart.
There is a lesson here for all of us that experience troubling and difficult things.
Some of us are troubled by the circumstances life throws at us.
Some are troubled at the terrible news we hear about the condition of the world
Some are troubled at thoughts of a failing economy
Some are rightly troubled at the turning away from God we see today

What do we do about our troubled thoughts?

Many people break down in fear and panic.
Others dump their troubles on others.
Some these days vent over social media.

Daniel did, I think, three things:
First, he wrote it out
This was not the typical vent of today’s generation. He was reporting what God had given him for the benefit of others. Venting is for the benefit of the venter. It can be toxic to those upon whom it falls. What Daniel did was beneficial to those who heard and read.

Secondly, he prayed
And in prayer God gave him the meaning of the vision. Sometimes knowing why there is trouble helps us get through a troublesome time.

Thirdly, he kept the matter in his heart
Far from venting, he did the very opposite. He kept it to himself. He did not panic or explode in anger. He kept the matter in his heart.

I know people say it’s okay to “get it out”. They tell us it’s unhealthy to keep our burdens locked inside. God says just the opposite. Take it to God, find answers from heaven, use those answers to help others. But keep your venting to yourself.

To my readers:
First of all, thank you! It is a great joy to me to know you read the thoughts and lessons God has given me in His word.
Secondly, I would love to hear from you. Please feel free to leave comments.

For this and more than 4500 earlier Daily Visits with God visit https://mckenzie-visit-with-god.blogspot.com. There you will find daily visits going back to 2006.

If you have been blessed by this blog, please subscribe to my feed and share it with others.

For more resources from Pastor Marvin McKenzie visit http://puyallupbaptistchurch.com.
My books are available at:
My author spotlight at Lulu.com:
http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/marvinmckenzie
My author Page for Kindle/Amazon
http://www.amazon.com/author/marvinmckenzie

Daniel 7:28 (KJV) Keep It To Yourself

Photos from pexels.com
Marvin Feb 5 2019 HBBC cropped.jpg

Please consider helping our church’s teen department by signing up for cash back shopping at http://www.dubli.com/M04VB. This program has three levels of participation, the first being completely free.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75