No Spiritual ValuesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #christian-trail5 years ago (edited)

christian action.jpeg

Mark 8:3 (KJV)
And if I send them away fasting to their own houses, they will faint by the way: for divers of them came from far.

Jesus uses the word fasting to describe what would only have been not eating for lack of food. In this case there would have been absolutely no spiritual value attached to the act and none expected of the people. It just was what it was – hunger because they could be nothing else. They wouldn’t eat because there was nothing to eat.

I see people doing all sorts of acts normally associated with spiritual endeavors:
Church attendance
Prayer
Singing of hymns
Etc

But, because of the condition of their heart, there is no spiritual value attached to these acts, and none expected.

Years ago, I read a book on prayer from a well-known Christian author. He claimed that the value of prayer was not that it is communication with Almighty God but that it disciplined the mind to remain calm and focused for certain periods of time.
He expected no benefit from heaven by prayer. I am sure in his case heaven attached no spiritual value to his prayer.

Christian practice is more than religious activity. It is worship from a heart that is connected to the God of heaven. It does expect a spiritual benefit from the act. And God, I am sure, applies a value to it.

To my readers:
First of all, thank you! It is a great joy to me to know you read the thoughts and lessons God has given me in His word.
Secondly, I would love to hear from you. Please feel free to leave comments.

For this and more than 4500 earlier Daily Visits with God visit https://mckenzie-visit-with-god.blogspot.com. There you will find daily visits going back to 2006.

If you have been blessed by this blog, please subscribe to my feed and share it with others.

For more resources from Pastor Marvin McKenzie visit http://puyallupbaptistchurch.com.
My books are available at:
My author spotlight at Lulu.com:
http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/marvinmckenzie
My author Page for Kindle/Amazon
http://www.amazon.com/author/marvinmckenzie

Mark 8:3 No Spiritual Value

Photos from pexels.com

Please consider helping our church’s teen department by signing up for cash back shopping at http://www.dubli.com/M04VB. This program has three levels of participation, the first being completely free.

Sort:  

Thank you, pastor.

Following...

Blessings upon you!

Back at you, Sir!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31