Not SacrificesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #christian-trail5 years ago (edited)

mercy not sacrifice.jpeg

Hosea 6:6 (KJV)
For I desired mercy, and not sacrifice; and the knowledge of God more than burnt offerings.

I know some folks who need to get this. While the Old Testament law had some benefit[1]it was never God’s intention, God’s desire for men to hold to it. God desires mercy and not sacrifice, a relationship with Him and not religious ritual.

There have always been those who, in one form or another, fall back on religion: sacrifice and offerings. It seems, in our modern rebellion against the faith of our fathers, many are turning back to the old heresy of the Judaizers; those who attempted to mix Christianity with Judaism.

To them, and for the benefit of all, I present these passages:
1 Samuel 15:22 (KJV)
And Samuel said, Hath the LORD as great delight in burnt offerings and sacrifices, as in obeying the voice of the LORD? Behold, to obey is better than sacrifice, and to hearken than the fat of rams.
Psalms 40:6 (KJV)
Sacrifice and offering thou didst not desire; mine ears hast thou opened: burnt offering and sin offering hast thou not required.
Psalms 51:16 (KJV)
For thou desirest not sacrifice; else would I give it: thou delightest not in burnt offering.
Proverbs 21:3 (KJV)
To do justice and judgment is more acceptable to the LORD than sacrifice.
Isaiah 1:11 (KJV)
To what purpose is the multitude of your sacrifices unto me? saith the LORD: I am full of the burnt offerings of rams, and the fat of fed beasts; and I delight not in the blood of bullocks, or of lambs, or of he goats.
Jeremiah 7:22-23 (KJV)
For I spake not unto your fathers, nor commanded them in the day that I brought them out of the land of Egypt, concerning burnt offerings or sacrifices:
But this thing commanded I them, saying, Obey my voice, and I will be your God, and ye shall be my people: and walk ye in all the ways that I have commanded you, that it may be well unto you.

[1]It was to point to Christ; its precepts picture the perfection of Christ and its demands teach us that righteousness cannot come by the Law. We need an advocate – Jesus Christ.

To my readers:
First of all, thank you! It is a great joy to me to know you read the thoughts and lessons God has given me in His word.
Secondly, I would love to hear from you. Please feel free to leave comments.

For this and more than 4500 earlier Daily Visits with God visit https://mckenzie-visit-with-god.blogspot.com. There you will find daily visits going back to 2006.

If you have been blessed by this blog, please subscribe to my feed and share it with others.

For more resources from Pastor Marvin McKenzie visit http://puyallupbaptistchurch.com.
My books are available at:
My author spotlight at Lulu.com:
http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/marvinmckenzie
My author Page for Kindle/Amazon
http://www.amazon.com/author/marvinmckenzie

Hosea 6:6 (KJV) Not Sacrifice

Photos from pexels.com
Marvin Feb 5 2019 HBBC cropped.jpg

Please consider helping our church’s teen department by signing up for cash back shopping at http://www.dubli.com/M04VB. This program has three levels of participation, the first being completely free.

Sort:  

Yeshua said if someone is about to offer his gift (sacrifice) and had anything against his brother, leave the gift at the altar and make things right with his brother before offering the gift. This shows God that is more concerned with relationships than with sacrifice. He also says "then come and offer your gift." Matthew 5:23-24.

God is not kicking against His own words, telling His people to abandon His statutes, but was warning about hypocrisy. They were putting great value in ritual of the Law while disregarding the weightier matters of the Law: Justice, mercy and faithfulness. Matthew 23:23

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02