Temporary DutysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #christian-trail5 years ago (edited)

temporary.jpeg

Numbers 3:36-37 (KJV)
And under the custody and charge of the sons of Merari shall be the boards of the tabernacle, and the bars thereof, and the pillars thereof, and the sockets thereof, and all the vessels thereof, and all that serveth thereto,
And the pillars of the court round about, and their sockets, and their pins, and their cords.

It occurs to me that God knew all along He was giving these men only temporary assignments. The tabernacle only served the children of God for 400 years. The sons of Merari could not have known it at the time God’s plan for them was limited. The tabernacle would be replaced with the temple and their job would be no longer required. God had something else for them in the future.

The same is essentially true of whatever assignment we have today – it is temporary. Whatever part of the plan of God we have charge over today is but limited in time. Whether it is something as simple as a board that needs constant replacing or an ornament of gold, it will one day give way to that temple not made by hands, eternal in glory.

Take good care of the charge God has given you. But don’t get too concerned about how big or small it is. God’s plan for your eternal future may be vastly different than what you are doing today.

To my readers:
First of all, thank you! It is a great joy to me to know you read the thoughts and lessons God has given me in His word.
Secondly, I would love to hear from you. Please feel free to leave comments.

For this and more than 4600 earlier Daily Visits with God visit https://mckenzie-visit-with-god.blogspot.com. There you will find daily visits going back to 2006.

If this blog has blessed you, please subscribe to my feed and share it with others.

For more resources from Pastor Marvin McKenzie visit http://puyallupbaptistchurch.com.
My books are available at:
My author spotlight at Lulu.com:
http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/marvinmckenzie
My author Page for Kindle/Amazon
http://www.amazon.com/author/marvinmckenzie

Numbers 3:36-37 (KJV) Temporary Duty

Photos from pexels.com
Marvin Feb 5 2019 HBBC cropped.jpg

Please consider helping our church’s teen department by signing up for cashback shopping at http://www.dubli.com/M04VB. This program has three levels of participation, the first being completely free.

Sort:  

I had to do some looking but found the below interesting..as in God is saying I never told you to build me a house nor do I require it!

2 Samuel 7:1-7
Now it came to pass when the king was dwelling in his house, and the Lord had given him rest from all his enemies all around, 2 that the king said to Nathan the prophet, “See now, I dwell in a house of cedar, but the ark of God dwells inside tent curtains.” 3 Then Nathan said to the king, “Go, do all that is in your heart, for the Lord is with you.” 4 But it happened that night that the word of the Lord came to Nathan, saying, 5 “Go and tell My servant David, ‘Thus says the Lord: “Would you build a house for Me to dwell in? 6 For I have not dwelt in a house since the time that I brought the children of Israel up from Egypt, even to this day, but have moved about in a tent and in a tabernacle. 7 Wherever I have moved about with all the children of Israel, have I ever spoken a word to anyone from the tribes of Israel, whom I commanded to shepherd My people Israel, saying, ‘Why have you not built Me a house of cedar?’ ” ’

I too have pondered whether Israel should have ever built the temple. Israel certainly did no better in the practice of their faith with the Temple. Some things I have observed though: God says David was a man after His heart. God blessed the Temple with the same presence He blessed the Tabernacle. And, whether it was "made according to the pattern" as the tabernacle was, or not, it did replace the tabernacle. Once Israel was in the Promised Land, there was no need for the mobility of the tabernacle, and therefore no need for those ministry duties that were designed to provide the mobility.
My point of the devotion is that, regardless of what we do today, how significant or insignificant we may think it to be, God has His own plans for us in eternity. And we may be surprised who has the more significant functions then.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84