Good Evening Devotion :-)❤️

Don't Tell Me What to Do!

A wise child accepts a parent's discipline; a young mocker refuses to listen. Proverbs 13:1

No one likes to be told what to do. We are self-sufficient creatures who would rather stumble along until we get it right. A natural shield zips into place when we feel the zing of correction coming our way. But how much time, effort, and frustration could we avoid if we listened to the counsel of those older and wiser? Many times their life experiences have sharpened their insights. Think of the misfortune we might have missed if we had heeded their instruction. Of course, not every piece of advice is valuable, but we can weigh it in light of God's Word. When someone rebukes you, pause and examine what you hear. Is there truth in the instruction? Is the Lord trying to show you something through it? What practical steps will you take to apply the instruction to your life?

Although it's not easy to welcome discipline or instruction from others, it has the potential to shape your character and make your journey through life a little less bumpy. Ask God today to develop in you a teachable heart that accepts discipline and correction and listens to those he puts in your path to teach you and prepare you for what is ahead.

FATHER, thank you for people who will be honest with me and even correct me when I need it! Help me to be receptive rather than defensive and to grow in maturity and character. One day I will be older and wiser, but until then, thank you for those who share their insights with me. Help me to discern what is helpful, to examine instruction in the light of your Word, and to grow! In Jesus' Name....Amen.

Source: text message from a friend

Good Monday evening my fellow steemians and uloggers. Tonight's devotion is a reminder for me to be receptive rather than defensive when someone rebukes me. I get irritated a little bit when my eldest corrects me, (yes, it's my pride, that is) and I really get so defensive at times instead of listening to her and evaluate myself. I know that we have had some petty arguments in the past and there were times that it gets out of hand. The thing is (I must admit) that I'm still hurting and we know that hurt people, hurt people. We are both hurting and we hurt each other sometimes. This is when parenting gets a lil bit challenging. I think I need to change my parenting method because my eldest is no longer my toddler...She will always be my baby of course, but I need to change and I need to listen to her more.

In the office, I praise and thank God because I don't get defensive hahaha I don't have a choice, do I? They're all my superiors so when they correct me and or rebuke me, no matter how they do it, I need to be receptive and take note of it because it is for my own good. They are all doing it for me to become better public servant. :-)

When it comes to relationships with friends, I think I don't have much pride, (at least for me) considering the fact that I'm almost always the last one to realized about something bwhahaha! They call me the late bloomer hahaha..But I thank God for my friends because they correct me and or rebuke me properly and of course, lovingly and gently. Who wouldn't want to be corrected like that? It's a blessing to be corrected or to undergo such discipline and I praise God because it is always for our own good. :-)

I am @sashley a.k.a. shirleynpenalosa, a recipient of God's love, mercy and grace. ❤️

Have a blessed and hoping to be a cool month of August 2018 everyone :-)❤️

I am forever grateful to God every day of my life for giving me everything that I need and praise Him all the more for not giving me everything I want. To God be all the honor, praise and glory ❤️ :-)


(thank you sis @sunnylife)

@surpassinggoogle is such a generous person and has a very big heart for all of us here. Please support him as a witness by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" at the first search box.


(Photo credits: from sir @surpassinggoogle's post footer)

If you want to give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses again and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.

@paradise-found is a wonderful person, a very humble and generous encourager, let us also support him by voting and typing in "gratefulvibes" at the search box. Please do check out @paradise-found's posts for the great announcement, our dear Papa Bear :-)❤️ Please join the curation trail. :-) And win SBD :-)


(Photo credits: mam @sunnylife)

Please check this link and join our prayer warriors here in steemit https://steemit.com/christian-trail/@wilx/christians-on-steemit-let-us-follow-and-support-each-other-pt-7-join-the-christian-trail

Other good witnesses to recommend:

@yabapmatt
@teamsteem
@jerrybanfield
@hr1
@acidyo
@blocktrades
@curie
@beanz
@arcange
@yehey

They need our support

Follow us on #gratefulvibes discord channel (positive and uplifting attitude)
https://discord.gg/7bvvJG


(credits to @bloghound)


(credits to @jhunbaniqued)

Sort:  

The right atitude with gratitute brings many Blessings!
I enjoyed you post.

thank you so much for the visit @rebeccabe :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77