Pontius Pilate’s Ring Discovered In Israel?

in #christianity5 years ago (edited)

Howdy folks and greetings from the Great Plains of North Texas!

This is a perfect Biblical news item to share on a Sunday. A daily newspaper in Israel is reporting that a bronze ring found 50 years ago at the Herodion excavation near Bethlehem has been found to have historical significance.

It bears the name of Pontius Pilate, the Roman governor of Jerusalem and the man who ordered the crucifixion of Jesus, according to the New Testament. The ring was actually found 50 years ago but the writing on it was not deciphered until now.

The name was deciphered with the use of a special camera at the Israel Antiquities Authority labs. The letters on the ring spell out in Greek writing the name “Pilatus.” The words surrounded a picture of a wine vessel.

Signet-ring-750x400.jpgsource

Professor Danny Schwartz, who teaches at Hebrew University says that Pilatus was a very rare name in Israel. “I don’t know of any other Pilatus from the period and the ring shows he was a person of stature and wealth.”

The ring was used in ancient times as a sealing ring to seal letters and stamp official documents using molten wax.

Researchers believe it was used by the governor in day-to-day work, or belonged to one of his officials or else someone in his court, who would use it to sign in his name on documents or orders.

The daily newspaper, called Ha’aretz, said "Adding weight to the possibility that this ring belonged to the Pontius Pilate of the New Testament is the fact that this type of ring was a “hallmark” of the cavalry in the Roman era, to which Pilate belonged."

Pilate was the fifth prefect of the province of Judea, serving under Emperor Tiberius from approximately 26 C.E. to 36 C.E.

I love this kind of news and we hear about such discoveries almost weekly which prove or lend credence to the Biblical accounts. This ring most assuredly belonged to Pontius Pilate or one of his officials.

a0esw215rr.png

Thanks for reading folks, God bless you all!

-jonboy
Texas
the gentleman redneck

l1xgphrt5d.png

a0esw215rr.png
PS- ya know...you might just be a redneck if:

You own a home that is mobile and five cars that aren't!

a0esw215rr.png

uvsylyennv.png

ak059z170l.png

Sort:  

An interesting historical artifact! It's kind of sad that gummed envelopes replaced sealing wax.

Howdy tonight Melinda! yes I haven't gotten a waxed sealed one in years, people used to do that occassionally for special occasions didn't they?
How have you been today and what have you been up to?

I wonder if wax seals would go through the postal sorting equipment. Or if you would have to pay additional postage for hand sorting. I went out this afternoon for a few minutes looking for signs of spring but all I could find were dirty snow piles. And then I spotted a couple daffodils just beginning to poke through the dirt! Yay!

haha! you went out looking for signs of spring, that doesn't sound very good but at least you found something! We have 15.5 acres here and mow about 10 so that's what I started today. I should have been mowed a couple weeks ago though.

It must feel good to get started on the lawn and will feel even better when you finish.... Even though I know it is one of those never ending jobs!
I think spring will begin to happen quickly during the next few weeks and I do not want to miss a moment of it!

haha! yes you guys deserve to enjoy every moment of spring and summer that you get! I hope it doesn't rain much.

We have been in a cycle of excess precipitation ever since last year at this time. The poor river has just been constantly in flood stage. It will be interesting to see what this summer brings.

yes it will, I hope it's not a big flood. are the beavers still there?

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Howdy today esteemapp and thank you for the upvote and for helping so many people!

Hi, @janton!

You just got a 7.43% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Howdy there steem-plus! Thank you so much for the upvote and for the great platform.

That is interesting
There is so much to discover there

Howdy sir wolfhart! yes sir it's amazing what they are uncovering on an almost daily basis!

😮😮😮

Whoaa Cowboy! That's Wild 💖 Pretty amazing 🔥🔥🔥

Posted using Partiko Android

Howdy reikigirl! I know, that's pretty cool. I'm coming over to your blog tonight. just thought I'd warn you. lol.

😮😂😂😂😂☺

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm still working my over to your blog reikigirl so stay warned. I'm mowing today, should have started last week but it was raining. Grass is tall, temperatures should get to 70 and it's sunny all week so I gotta get on top of it, we have 10 acres of grass to mow so it may be later today I know you're hoping I never show up but unfortunately it's inevitable. lol.

I look forward to your visit 😎😂😂
..and my getting to mow as well someday this year 😂😂 for now I'm still snow mowing 😂😂😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Modern technology is discovering so much these days janton. I didn't know about Pontius Ilate's ring. I recall him as a man who was most reluctant to condemn Jesus to death. i wonder if he ever regretted this action?

That is a great question angiemitchell! He is condemned and hated by everyone but he was the one who was trying to spare Jesus's life until he was forced into it and I'm sure he regretted it. I don't know if he had the right reasons for the regret but I bet he did.

That's a very interesting story, @janton!

Howdy today sir Keith! yes I thought it was an interesting little story and thought-provoking.
thanks for reading and commenting!

Wow, what an exciting news! Thanks for sharing!

Posted using Partiko Android

Howdy there zirochka! yes, it's very interesting for Bible or history buffs! lol.
How has your weekend gone?

Hello, janton! We visited my girlfriend on Saturday night. And she is so welcoming person that we went home too late, actually it was almost gawn, so Sunday was a day to sleep and do some housework.

And you? Did you celebrate St. Patrick's Day?

Posted using Partiko Android

howdy zirochka! so you guys spent all night talking? wow that must have been a lively conversation!
We didn't do anything but part relax and part work outside and also on steemit but got alot done so it was very good.

That’s an interesting ring, Cowboy! I love reading about these old relics.

That is a very cool find. The only thing I ever find while out rock hunting are bullet casings, pull tabs and nails...

Howdy again sir rt395! (I'm assuming you are a sir!) You never find any old coins? are you talking about in Japan?

Yes, a sir. The only old coins I've found were on Ebay! Collected many years ago. I have detected both in the US and Japan, but never found old coins, just new ones.

Howdy again sir rt395! Interesting. I assumed that you would find alot of old rings and an ear ring occasionally and of course coins but I was way off! lol. But if you keep at it then eventually you may find something but your main hobby is rocks and gems right? I think I first saw your posts on Melinda's feed.

Rocks and gems, but I started with gold prospecting. I've found earrings, necklaces, iPhones but no rings. Usually those are found in the surf or picked up by the beach comber rigs. I was talking to a city worker and those beach cleaners find a LOT of jewelry, much of it "disappears" too. I'd like to get a detector again and hit the ocean. That's where the good stuff lies in wait.

Howdy again sir rt395! Very interesting, you mean under the water? Close to the shore?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28