What's wrong with New Age?

in #christianity6 years ago (edited)

I recently followed my intuition or what I believe to be the direction of God to a local church. When I arrived, all the doors were locked; the two men inside watched me try to open all of the doors before letting me in.
"I'm here for guidance."
After looking at each other, they decide to let me in and talk to me. We introduced ourselves, and I explained that I kind of used my inner guidance to get me to the church. I felt like I needed to be there at that very moment. The older gentleman asked me what my idea of god was. When he stated his rebuttal about who he knew god to be, it sounded very condescending to my definition of god. He said that the living God isn't in everything and everyone like New Agers believe; underneath all of the semantics, I believe that he and I were saying the same thing.

My experience with spirituality differed from theirs; keeping that in mind, I decided to smile and nod even though deep down, I wanted to roll my eyes. I've never been keen on the strict and sometimes hypocritical way of the church; All I know if that I believe in Jesus and I know that God is love and he loves all. I accepted Jesus into my heart again after being distant and hesitant to claim that the amazing events that had been happening to me were because of him and his father. I'm still learning, but I really don't see a difference in New Age beliefs and Christian beliefs. I don't believe that there is more than one god, but different interpretations of the same source of divine energy.
What do you think/know?

Sort:  

God is a personal being. The Bible is the only source of spiritual truth. The Bible contains history, poetry, theology, and prophecy. The Bible is perfect as written in the original languages. If you have an NIV Study Bible you'll see footnotes sometimes that say, "This verse is not found in the oldest and most reliable manuscripts."

You become a Christian when you repent of your sins, accept what Jesus did on the cross as payment for those sins, and you accept Jesus as your Lord. That means you do the best you can to live a holy life and to do what the Bible commands.

If you follow God with your whole heart God will change you into a different and better person in ways that would be impossible through self-effort.

God is not a force. You can't create your own reality. Crystals are nonsense. Occult objects are dangerous. There are no such things as nature spirits or fairies. They're all demons.

I've never even heard of fairies or nature spirits. "Occult" objects are just objects. It's kind of like saying tupperware is dangerous because it has meat in it which is true. Meat is dangerous to the planet. Inanimate objects don't have the power to be dangerous and demons can use just about anything or anyone to do their bidding; That belief comes from established and passed down biases/stigmas that manipulate personal perspectives.
You do have the choice of creating your own reality through free will, but as soon as you let go of the illusion of control, you can really let God do amazing things in your life.
Everything else is agreeable. I'm still learning; I'm curious to find people who are open minded yet educated and well versed in all things god.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73