It has begun.... 🎄

in #christmas5 years ago (edited)

I wasn’t going to do it...


For a myriad of reasons I had decided to skip it this year.


  • Too much effort...
  • Putting it all away is a pain...
  • Not everyone would be home to enjoy it...

But then the FOMO set in and I said,

F-CK IT!

And with that, I decided to put up the Christmas Tree!

image

Only the beginning.

I didn’t make it very far. It took awhile to assemble. Then 2/5 strands of lights were all messed up. So, I had to hit the shops to buy fresh strands. The ornaments will get hung today or tomorrow, but for now we have lights!!! 🤩


image

Sparkle


image

Even the pooches are soaking up the holiday glow! 🐶🐶

EDIT!!! I forgot! Every post in December I am going to add a favorite Christmas song to the end. Sort of a musical advent calendar.

Today’s tune: Carol of the Bells performed by Trans Siberian Orchestra. ☺️

Happy December!!!


Proud Member of:

steemsugars, steemusa, teamaustralia and steemsilvergold

87C8ECBA-BDED-40D7-A449-D62A560518BA.jpeg
A9BC5D5F-2D90-4394-976C-BB2B40E2A4A1.jpeg
9C1DE9BA-F1C1-4A7C-B82C-B9AA7C734CF5.png
F9E6C07A-9DE7-41B9-A51A-175443C6F231.png
5F4D64DD-4C08-4F40-A39F-76BF2AEAC8D5.png

Sort:  

tumblr_nj9iyn51js1u2uymso1_500.gif
You just received a 100% upvote from @rewards-pool. Thank You for being apart of the @rewards-pool community

I'm so glad you decided to do it. I think you will be glad you did too.

I have gone through nearly the same thing, I don't know why, because it really isn't me. The tree hasn't gone up yet, when it normally is up Thanksgiving weekend, but one knee was fussing and I had a freshly pulled muscle in my right hip (dang I'm getting old !) and at the time it ALL seemed like too much trouble. I was getting out my other Christmas doodads though and it is going to look very MERRY around here, but still not sure of the tree.

I did buy a silver tinsel pencil tree for my bedroom though and it is on and holds some vintage/antique ornaments that belonged to my Mom and Grandmother. My Mom is still here, but she had some from way back that she wasn't using anymore, so, now they are happily hanging again on the tinsel tree. I guess that can partially count if my big tree doesn't make it up. :)

Love the photo of your puppies and the tree, but are they really JUST enjoying the glow?.... or are they figuring out their plans to play in it? LOL.... time will tell.... right?

Yes!!! All of this.

I usually have my tree up the day after thanksgiving too! One year I even had it up the night before because we had a Christmas party the day after hosting thanksgiving.

But putting it all away after Xmas is always a struggle. And with a fake tree there is no rotting tree smell to force you along!!! 😂🤣 One year with work and life and laziness the tree was up until the day before Easter!!! Lol shameful.

So this year my husband will be overseas seeing his family. Prices for one airline ticket this time of year are a lot. Two tickets are dumb. So I am staying stateside for Xmas. Because it is just me and the dogs enjoying the house, I was like....maybe I can just put up some Christmas stuff but not the tree. But then it just wasn’t feeling Christmas-y. So up everything is coming. Lol.

You get no shame from me ! One year I put my tree up November 11th, because I had bought a new tree and well.... it was just sitting there in the box, so up it went ! .....and taking them down? I am notorious for leaving my tree up till sometime in February....LOL.... a time or two it has been longer, because it wasn't hurting anything and I wasn't in the mood. I never get tired of turning it on and seeing it, although I don't leave the curtains open at night after two weeks past Christmas. :))

I have had some years where nearly no one saw my Christmas decor but me, but each year, I still somehow decide that I really enjoy having it all out and I am worth the trouble....ha ha.... I think it is ok if it is mostly just for me. I like it and if I want more people to see it, I should invite them over.... .right ??

I'm sorry the air fares as so high that you feel it is too much for you and your hubby to spend Christmas together, but life is like that sometimes and we always seem to make it through ... don't we? I had a friend years back who was single and had no family one year to spend Christmas with. He decided to have a "Misfit" Christmas dinner and invited others who had no place to go to have a potluck Christmas dinner at his house. He called it "misfit"...... like the island of misfit toys in the Christmas cartoon Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer and the Island of The Misfit Toys. He said they had a wonderful time. I thought he made the very most of his situation and it was good for the other's that came as well.

Misfit xmas sounds awesome! ☺️ My whole family is here (parent’s, cousins, grandma, aunts, uncles and such) so I will just hang with them like every year minus the hubs! 😄

LOL.... that's wonderful that your family is all around. Mine is too and I feel so fortunate !

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Whatever is that painting on the ledge with the stuffed crow? Right behind the tree.

☺️ Well first it is a metal rooster. 😄
D5391E78-4FFC-44D4-A9F0-3D2E42691131.jpeg

Second the picture is an original watercolor by Opie Ortiz. http://www.opieortiz.com/about/

E73ECC6A-CED9-4ED0-B06B-A5E2D1F31A62.jpeg

Opie Ortiz is a tattoo artist and he is in the band Long Beach Dub Allstars. My hubs is very into certain genres of music. Especially ska and reggae rock. Amongst his many odd musical hobbies he runs the the Long Beach Dub Allstars instagram page. ☺️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33