Snowman Bubble Light.....

in #christmas5 years ago (edited)

I love Bubble Lights !

I thought that statement deserved a line all it's own. 😉

A couple of years ago I saw a vintage snowman figure holding a Bubble Light (who knows where?? I forget) and I googled it to see if I could find one. What I did manage to find was a repro sold by Vermont Country Store.

Sometime near that time my brother became ill right near his birthday and to help cheer him I ordered one of these to be delivered to him. Although our whole family is pretty gah gah over Christmas, he and I shared a lot about it, talking, memories and giving each other fun things over the years. The bubbler got to him the end of August or 1st'ish of September that year. He put the bubbly light on his counter in the center of the living area, where it bubbled happily every day for the rest of the 9 months of his life.

I tell that so you know the special attachment I have to it now.... not in a way that holds sad memories, but in a way that holds happy.... very fond ones. The below photo was taken of it at his house. 🙂

Bubble light snowman sent to David 2.jpg

Last year I decided that my Mom and my other brother and two sisters needed one too. (and me !!) THAT is how special it is to me. So.... I bought them all one and gave it to them as I saw them earlier before Christmas, so they could put him out and enjoy him through the season. Of course I had to take them all out to make sure they worked and then of course..... I had to take a group photo. Fun.... huh?

group of bubble snowmen.jpg

Such a sweet face !

bubble light closeup face.jpg

I read in some comments somewhere that the original vintage Snowman Bubblers had a stub of a cigar sticking out of the side of the Snowbubbler's mouth, but it was left off of the repros for fear it could be offensive now. (Ain't THAT a subject for another blog??).... sigh LOL !!! Below shows that stub.

(disclaimer, below photo is not mine, but a section cropped from a photo I found on line of a real vintage figure)

vintage-plastic-bubble-light-snowman_1_f5f6d147a7525e3f07ceb7f848dc385e.jpg

The old ones only had colored fluid in the bubbling part of the light, but the newer versions also have some glitter.

You gotta luv these.... right?

Hope you are all having a happy Friday. I know I am because I have the day off !

Love you !

Jacey

Bubble On !

Sort:  

You know I am going to have to get one of these now! My grandparents had one of the vintage ones, but who knows what happened to it. I guess I really do like the glitter ones anyway! :)

Glitter me happy !

I can see where you would want to give everyone one of these little fellas!

I'm taking him home with me!

Upped and Steemed

!tip

You need one ! There is also a Santa holding a bubble light too. You may need one of both. ha ha.... yes.... the more glitter the merrier in my book.

After he got his, he sent me a photo and mentioned the glitter. At first I was miffed thinking he meant it was only like a glitter light and didn't bubble, but then he assured me it bubbled also...... and all was right with the world. LOL !!

🎁 Hi @jacey.boldart! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

What beautiful figures.) Looking at them, I already think how to arrange them and highlight what the original photo would be.))
The penultimate phototography reminds me of a frame from some kind of cartoon.)))

Beautiful... yes. It does look a bit like a cartoon figure.

I love that bubbling snowman! I remember that old string of bubble lights that we had on the tree when I was a kid. As a matter of fact I think my mother gave it to me to put on my very first Christmas tree after I was married, because I loved those bubble lights so much. Pretty soon so many of them had burned out that it was just a string of regular lights on and old frayed cord and had to be thrown away. But I agree with you the Snowman guy is the best, cigar or no cigar!

My Great Grandparents had some bubble lights on their tree each year and I was SO mesmerized by them. I've had a string many years back and they didn't seem to last that long. I got where I kept a bubble light in one of those single electric window candle sticks each year just so I could have one going. There is always a way !

I'm ordering a snowman so I can have one just like yours!

Wonderful ! You will love it I am sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63478.09
ETH 3067.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81