My Advent Calendar – 5 Dec – Last choir rehearsal for 2018

in #christmas5 years ago

Short and sweet tonight, as I’ve been out at choir. Though actually more sad than sweet, as it’s our last Wednesday night rehearsal for two whole months!

choir-newtown.jpg

We only rehearse during the school terms, so won’t be starting back till the schools go back at the start of February. What am I going to do with myself? Maybe I need to toddle up to the shed / bike workshop / home gym at the back of our property once a week or so and have a loud sing, by myself.

You know how I like to share what we’ve been singing, so here’s two wildly different pieces we’ve been working on lately.

One is an old Pete Seeger song from, oh my gosh, over 60 years ago – If I Had A Hammer. The version we’re doing is a bit slower than this version from Peter, Paul & Mary, and with a lot more harmonies, so it’s coming out really nicely.

The other is an African tribute to Nelson Mandela called Asimbonanga, performed here by the Soweto Gospel Choir

In other Xmas news, today I’ve been finishing some updates to our business website for Xmas, highlighting some products we have that are suitable for Xmas meals or gifts.

Advent-Calendar-Day5.jpg

Day 1 – Carol singing with the NZ Symphony Orchestra
Day 2 – Kilbirnie Santa Parade
Day 3 – Posting overseas Xmas cards & a Xmas themed exercise class
Day 4 – Last minute book buying

What will Day 6 be all about?

Thanks for reading and listening

Top photo from Pixabay, others from Amazon.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts. For an archive of 2016 & 2017 posts, by category, see my last post of 2017.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (Then put a comment on my most recent post, so I know to find you.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.

If you’re from New Zealand (Aotearoa) and are looking for other kiwis, use #teamnz as one of your tags // check out other posts with #kiwi or #teamnz tags // follow @teamnz // or join the South Pacific channel on Discord. There is an old list of kiwis on this post.

5-tips-for-newbies.jpg

Sort:  


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Peter, Paul and Mary..nice song. I bet it sounds lovely with more harmonies. You will have to just let it rip and belt out some songs while working around the house, Deb. 😊 🎶

I do that if I'm home alone, but if @frot is home, I'm a lot more reticent!

Hope you have music loving neighbors :-)

Might be more appropriate to say - hope you have a sound proof shed! Luckily none of our neighbours are that close to it.

sounds like a good use tor the "outback" shed. The old saying is true, "Use it, or, lose it"

And we can't do with losing any more than we've lost already, can we?

When the choirmaster suggest that you stand behind the curtain, or even better, take the night off, then you know you have problems. Until then sing your heart out, it does you good, emotionally as well as controlling your breathing.

Luckily ours is an open choir and everybody is welcome. I'm a lot more confident to sing out when with the group!

group/choir singing is a lot of fun, even at the top.[or it was mega years ago]

Yes, as you say, good for the soul.

Great job, wishing you & the team a beautiful celebration... Cheers!

Sounds like a good plan!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89