My Advent Calendar – 8 Dec – Xmas spiced nuts and other food prep

in #christmas5 years ago

We have a number of people who help us out during the year, including local merchants who help us out with packaging materials, our courier who collects from us 4 times a week, and health practitioners. So it’s nice to recognise them at this time of year.

Usually I make Xmas cakes in different shapes and sizes and distribute them around. But since I’m eating keto, and can’t really eat fruit cake, I just can’t get enthused this year. I will make one small batch, but that’s all. So for some people, I decided to do spiced nuts.

spicy-nuts0.jpg

Last year I made a small batch of savoury spiced nuts, mostly for us, and used a Moroccan spice mix. But so far this year, I haven’t been able to get the mix I usually use, which is pure spices. The ones in the supermarket locally have rice flour or other unwanted additives. So I decided to try a sweeter blend.

So as I go, I’ll give you the instructions for both. This is the quantities for 6 cups of nuts. Last year I used macadamias, cashews and walnuts. This year I used just the first two. If you live somewhere where you can get good pecans, they would be nice. But pecans here tend to be a bit old, and not nice.

Start with 2 egg whites (save the nutritious yolks for putting in a smoothie, using in scrambled eggs, or making mayonnaise) and 2 teaspoons of water and whisk them together in a large bowl, till frothy.

spicy-nuts1.jpg

If you don’t eat eggs, there are recipes around that use plants oils instead. But I’ve found that the spices don’t stay stuck on, and the nuts don’t dry out, so this is the way I like.

For a savoury mix, I add 2 teaspoons of coconut aminos or tamari plus 2 teaspoons coconut or maple syrup, plus 4 teaspoons of Moroccan spice, then whisk again.

For the sweet, I was making it up as I went along. I still used 2 teaspoons maple syrup, but for people who are used to more sweet than we are, you would probably want to double that. As well as the sweet and spice, you still want a touch of salty taste. I didn’t have coconut aminos, so I put just ¼ teaspoon of tamari. I think I would increase that a little too, or maybe just go with some sea salt.

For the spices, I decided to use 1 teaspoon each of cinnamon, mixed spice, vanilla powder and dried orange rind. I thought if I put them in the coffee grinder, the orange rind would get fine. So in they all went.

spicy-nuts2.jpg

But as you can see in the next pic, it didn’t work at all. Never mind, it will just have to go in as it is.

spicy-nuts3.jpg

So into the bowl, and more whisking.

spicy-nuts4.jpg

Then I stirred in the 6 cups of nuts, till they were well coated and there was no mixture floating on the bottom.

spicy-nuts5.jpg

Into a lined oven tray and into the oven.

spicy-nuts6.jpg

I cooked them for about half an hour at 160 C, stirring after 10 minutes, then again every 5 minutes till they seemed done. Once they cooled down, I put them into jars.

spicy-nuts7.jpg

You can see a little space in the jars. I’m going to add a few other bits and pieces, like some coconut chips, or maybe chunks of dark chocolate.

And while I was in the kitchen…

… I also whipped up a batch of my cashew bread. I didn’t have any pumpkin, so made the yoghurt version.

I also made some keto chocolate brownies. I’ve taken some photos and will share that recipe with you soon.

Advent-Calendar-Day8.jpg

Day 1 – Carol singing with the NZ Symphony Orchestra
Day 2 – Kilbirnie Santa Parade
Day 3 – Posting overseas Xmas cards & a Xmas themed exercise class
Day 4 – Last minute book buying
Day 5 – Last choir rehearsal for the year
Day 6 – Choosing gifts for the Xmas game
Day 7 – Xmas lunch with my exercise class

I know what I’m doing tomorrow, but you will have to wait and see…

Thanks for reading

Photos by me.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts. For an archive of 2016 & 2017 posts, by category, see my last post of 2017.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (Then put a comment on my most recent post, so I know to find you.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.

If you’re from New Zealand (Aotearoa) and are looking for other kiwis, use #teamnz as one of your tags // check out other posts with #kiwi or #teamnz tags // follow @teamnz // or join the South Pacific channel on Discord. There is an old list of kiwis on this post.

5-tips-for-newbies.jpg

Sort:  

YUM! I love food gifts and nuts are such a healthy way to go! I can't wait to see how the brownies turn out.

Maybe I need to slip in another recipe post in between my xmas posts then :-)

You just go a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66