December 🎄

in #christmas5 years ago

D542BE9B-07F7-4361-94ED-79756C86E226.jpeg

Hello! So it seems that I can post photos from my phone but not from my laptop...so you are in for a double treat 🤓 Two posts from me tonight! 😆

Ahhhhhhh December. What does this mean to you? I am currently creating Christmas traditions that I hope will spark joy and feelings of belonging and love and community in my boys for years to come.

I wish that when December strolled around that memories from childhood would bubble up within me and I would overflow with melancholy and wanderlust.

But sadly I don’t have many solid memories of Christmas traditions and therefore I want to create them for my children and their future generations.

So this year we started with going together to choose a Christmas tree from the Christmas tree farm. We played Christmas carols in the car and the boys had a tractor ride and it was all fun and jolly and festive!!

6CF10EEC-4A6C-492F-B5C6-28EFE52C4C8E.jpeg

Here is my strapping husband strapping the tree onto the car!! Yes Christmas in Australia is in SUMMER and it’s getting HOT!!! We’ll sort of...not really yet....but it was on Dec 1st.

So we decked the halls and started the advent calendars and lit the first candle of the advent wreath on Sunday.

My next wish is to take the boys to Big W and let them buy a book each to donate to The Smith Family, an organization we already support, to give books to children around Adelaide this Christmas. The Smith Family supports children through their schooling to help break the cycle of poverty and to help them with basics such as school uniforms and excursion money as well as tutors. I’m sure I’ll post more about them another day!

But the main thing I want is for the boys to learn to GIVE not just to RECEIVE at Christmas, and to grow empathy and love for all.

I have plenty of ideas for December and can’t wait to share them with the kids and also with you :)

9E0CCD93-EC25-4595-AD47-A97134EB7454.jpeg

Here is Hubby helping mr8 put the star on the tree.

Good memories.

Have a blessed night and let me know some of your new or old family traditions!

Jessi ✨

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99