8th and Final Island Hopping Through the Cyclades-- SYROS, GREECE {#SteemitChallenge Day 22 of 28}

in #cityscapephotography6 years ago (edited)

Today I arrived at my eighth and final island of my island hopping journey through the Cyclades.

Departure from Paros took place at 14:45. Less than two hours later we had arrived in Syros. From the ferry, I could tell that this place was far different than any of the other islands I had been.

DSC01309.JPG

The standard blue and white housing and small village feel which is generally attributed to Greek culture was few and far between.

DSC01342.JPG

The town was quite large in comparison to any other port city I had seen thus far, and the buildings in the distance appeared a copious collage of colors- yellow, orange, tan, peach, beige, purple.

DSC01348.JPG

Far different from anything I had experienced on my seven previous islands.

As soon as we disembarked the ferry, the island brought back vivid memories of my time in Athens.

If I had to describe Syros to someone, I would say it reminds me of an upscale Athens, but a rundown French Quarters.

DSC01317.JPG

DSC01323.JPG

There is graffiti on the walls, but not an overabundance, as seen in Athens, and the architectural design of the city depicts an image of an elaborate and historic French Quarters District.

DSC01321.JPG

DSC01322.JPG

This island is unlike any other and is unique in its very own facet.

Tomorrow should be a day full of island exploration, so stay tuned for some pretty neat stuff the next few days!

Sort:  

I had a great sightseeing with you :)

thank you, I appreciate you dropping by!!

always nice to see hear from new steemians from time to time :))

glad you enjoyed, STEEM ON !!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-09T18:18:45
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 30.00/100.00
Total Photos: 4
Total comments: 4
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28