It's good for me...

in #classical-music5 years ago

So just a quick post from me tonight as I'm heading off again in the early hours of the morning tomorrow. I figure I've got a few moments to type whilst my toddler is resisting sleep.

So, tomorrow I fly to Prague to join a Czech ensemble. It's only the second time that I've played with this particular group, and I really do enjoy it a lot! Part of what makes it enjoyable is the fact that they do pieces by the little known Czech composer Zelenka... who is notorious for writing fiendishly difficult parts! Often, in some other orchestras this would just attract grumbling and a defeatist attitude of playing it safe. However, in this orchestra (and other young orchestras) it is just seen as a challenge to step up and master the difficulties!


This above excerpt is a case in point (it is from the video at the top of the post). This painfully fast figure in the centre of the photo is roughly 8 notes at roughly (800-900 notes per minute), luckily there is only eight! Most other orchestras would take the easy route of slurring (bowing all eight with one motion, instead of 8 seperate ones!) or complaining until they had a slower tempo. I don't forsee that happening, so I've been practicing away, making sure I'm not going to be the one that can't do it! When I say that this is tricky, it is from the point of view of someone who is seen to be a player that normally finds fast things very easy!


This is another example... it's deceptively simple looking, actually the earlier one is easier, just fast...

This one is bizarre in it's harmonic language and the fact that it contains some near impossible chords combined with ornaments at the same time... Zelenka was an arse!

... but it is actually really great music, just that the musicians need to be in peak condition!

As a little funny story, the first time I played with them, they just had a short day of rehearsal before the concert. Which I thought was really odd for such a difficult programme. When I hit the first rehearsal, I was completely stunned by how good it all was in the first reading!

It wasn't until later in the day that I was told that they already knew the programme and had played that particular piece many times already... and that I was the only one sight reading (ahem, I mean, having practiced hard and joining in at a later date...).

Anyway, I was worried that they wouldn't call me back, but in the end they did several times (but I couldn't fit them in due to existing commitments). So, then there was the usual freelancer worry of having said "no" so many times that that would be the end of the relationship... but I'm happy they called again, and this time I was able to go! Now, I just need to keep up with them and not embarrass myself!

PS: It's NOT the group in the YouTube video!



Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones





The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

SB_new.png



steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.gamerjokerbreadder.com/2018/11/09/its-good-for-me/

Sort:  


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community.

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.

The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord.
Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio.
Follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto or help us out with a delegation!

howdy sir bengy! go get em Bengy you can do it! And let us know how great it turned out.

Haha... surprisingly well, I tend to underestimate myself and overestimate others when coming into a new situation. I guess it is the usual imposter syndrome sort of thing....

sir bengy! I think it's going to turn out wonderfully good!

One of my frustrations with the #classical-music voting is when I come across a work that I haven't heard and really enjoy, but have to listen to it in segments while I continue to go through the remaining posts. This Zelenka piece is an example. Thanks for introducing me to it. Hopefully I'll eventually get a chance to listen to it without interruption some time.

Ha... that's a nice problem to have! The particular mass that I embedded is much more than the single Credo that I featured, so make sure to collect it all! Zelenka is one of those lesser known composers from the Baroque era... strange harmonies, and some fiendishly difficult writing. He is better known to Czech audiences and double reed players (he wrote a lot of chamber music for them!).

I'll have a nice post with some great music by Buxtehude going up some time this week. Just editing it, and will probably put it up in the middle of the week.

Congratulations @bengy! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 5750 replies. Your next target is to reach 6000 replies.
You published more than 500 posts. Your next target is to reach 550 posts.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Congratulations @bengy! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 6000 replies. Your next target is to reach 6250 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16