Dance of the Siren (Original Composition)

in #classical-music5 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone! Several months ago, I posted the first draft of this original composition which I was writing for a competition. I submitted to the contest on Sunday, and have decided to post the piece today as a result. Some notable changes are that I made changes to the a section and manually wrote out the repeat. I also made some harmonic changes in several places in cleaning up the voice leading (and avoiding parallel motion). The piece is in minuet and trio form, meaning that it contains a minuet (which is dancelike) and trio, which is different in character than the minuet. I called the trio the song of the siren, and the overall piece "Dance of the Siren" because I think it sounds like a sea shanty, and I enjoy Greek mythology. Here is the piece:

Thanks for reading/listening to this! Please remember that feedback is always appreciated! Hopefully I will see you tomorrow!

(Note) In order to encourage meaningful feedback on the platform, I will check comment trails of users who leave superficial comments (ie "Awesome post," or "Upvoted.") and will mute any users who exhibit a pattern of leaving "spammy" comments.

Sort:  

I am no musician, however I was brought up on classical music as it was my Mother’s favourite, and this has brought back so many memories of time spent listening with her.

I was especially taken with the portion between approximately 1.32-2.58 as I could visualize a scene in a movie with ladies and gents dressed in elegant clothing participating in a group ballroom dance. Wonderful.

Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful piece and I wish you every success for the competition.

I am glad that my music touched you in this way! I tried to make that section different in character to the A section, and I am especially glad that that idea of eloquent dancing was perceived. Thank you for your kind words!

You are very welcome, it is indeed lovely... hope you win the contest!

When i listen to the music, I thought i sit in a theater and listen to a concert. Yes, this is how good is this music. Who play the musical instruments? All the instruments match very well. When we stress from work, this type of music i would like to listen. It release my whole day work stress.. Are you a professional composer @cmp2020? This Dance of the siren really make me want to dance. You should compose more and share with us :P

If this was for a contest, I sure you already won the contest with this amazing music of yours.

Thank you very much for these kind words! The computer is what is playing the instruments. I am glad that my music has made you feel this ways. Technically, I am a professional composer because I make money (via Steemit), but I don't consider myself a professional in any way (because I have much to learn and develop). But, feedback like this helps encourage me to continue my studies, so thank you!

Once you have patience and love on what you did. We always find room to improve it. This is how i value every music, because it was the end result of studied and performance of composer.

Posted using Partiko Android

I’m speechless, this is absolutely stunning. I think there is something amazingly special about classical music and I’m so happy to see you representing it so well. Thanks so much for sharing this.. I’m going to go listen again..

Thank you very much!

Oh wow!!

That was great! I was closing my eyes as I listen to it. I was swaying my head too, i feel like dancing to the tune of it like I am doing an interpretative dance.. you got it soft at first then it goes fiercer..It was dramatic!!!! I love it!

You have done a superbly beautiful piece. I totally enjoyed it.

Thank you for sharing your god-gifted talent to us. You had blow my tiredness away..gotta listen to more of this.

Cheers!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you very much! I am glad that that dynamic contrast was enjoyable. I am glad you enjoyed it!

You are most welcome.. thank you for sharing! ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

Resteemed, your post will appear in the next curation with a SBD/STEEM share for you!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community.

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.

The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord.
Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio.
Follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto or help us out with a delegation!

Thanks as always!

I have to admit I can not tell the difference between minuet and trio but as I listen to the composition, I thought I was in an opera concert. I even tried to imagine the dance that would match the music.

At first I did not "feel" the siren dancing until the sudden upbeat at 0:38 and its repeats. That portion came out again at 1:23.

Is the result of the contest out yet? If not, good luck! Whatever the result is, your composition is very good!

Thank you! Yes, sometimes distinguishing the different sections is hard (especially when a computer is playing the music). However, I am glad that my music had this effect on you. The result will most likely come out in January. Thanks again for your feedback!

You're welcome.

Absolutely beautiful, I love classical music and performance with traditional orchestra, that makes the music sound really differently. You composition is rich in sounds and has easy start up then reaches the peak. Thank you for this notes, that is demonstrated the notes, like the way of your presentation and really enjoyed it.

Thank you very much! I am glad that you liked it!

Hi cmp2020,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you for your continued support! This project is a blessing to the blockchain!

On a fast first approach I can feel the scene you painted and it's surprisingly unknown to me somehow.
I don't know what the result will be but I must congratulate you in advance for such precious job.
Tones of thanks for sharing it with us.
My best wishes.
Cheers

Thank you very much! I am glad that you can hear what I was trying to convey!

I have enjoyed how you changed the soft, soothing playing to loud and dynamic at around 40 seconds. It was very unexpected. Then you did the same at 1:30. The whole composition is very pleasing. It sounds like you would be telling us a story with your music. It's absolutely amazing.

Good luck with the contest. This is the winning entry in my humble opinion :)

Thank you very much! I am glad that this dynamic contrast had the jarring effect that I had hoped for. I am glad that you enjoyed this piece!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77