My 1st post for @cleanplanet: let´s go out and do something for Mother Nature

in #cleanplanet5 years ago (edited)

Hi there my Steemit friends and followers!

I first came across this amazing project called @cleanplanet a few months ago but it was not until now when I finally decided to make a post for them. So what is this initiative about? Well, as the name suggests - it is all about keeping our planet clean :) It is quite simple - just go out and pick some trash (can be anywhere - on a beach, park, forest, street...) and take photos or videos of the action. Then, you just write a post about what you did, add the photos or videos and use the #cleanplanet tag. @cleanplanet will then reward your effort with an uvpote (they currently have almost 33,000 SP at their disposal).

This is also my contribution to the initiative by @czechglobalhosts who decided to support @cleanplanet with this post. Thank you for organizing this initiative Tomas, I really appreciate it!

IMG_20181129_145655.jpg

As a devoted conservationist, I pick trash in nature quite often but this was the first time I got myself a really huge bag just for this purpose. I already showed you the result of my first official @cleanplanet action in the photo above but that was because I wanted to use that image as the thumbnail shot.

So let me now present this little photo documentation of the clean-up from the beginning. Me and @liltammy decided to clean the beach that is right behind our current home in a little coastal village in northwestern Yucatan, Mexico.


That is me with the empty bag. The clean-up begins :)
IMG_20181129_134321.jpg

We spotted first pieces of plastic immediately after entering the beach.
IMG_20181129_134440.jpg

The concentration of garbage was really disturbing in some places. Especially if you consider that there are actually very few people living in this part of Mexico.
IMG_20181129_134653.jpg

The bag was filling up fast.
IMG_20181129_134730.jpg

First weighing. It was getting heavy.
IMG_20181129_144145.jpg

@liltammy was a great helper. She did a great job.
IMG_20181129_145830.jpg

We filled up the bag in about one hour. I think the final weight of the trash we collected was about 25 kg (55 lb). I figured out dragging the bag along the beach was better than carrying it :D
IMG_20181129_145942.jpg

And this is the photo you have already seen. The bag filled up to the top right before we threw it into the garbage can.
IMG_20181129_145655.jpg

Collecting trash may be a kind of dirty job but you will feel really good about it in the end because you know just did something for the planet. You can definitely expect more posts like this one on my blog and I will be really glad if you join this awesome initiative too :)



pokus-maly.jpg


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, feel free to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about. Have a wonderful day and keep on Steeming!

Sort:  

Congratulations very good first post! You two did a really good job. It is so important to clean up the beaches so that this waste does not fall back into the sea!
Next time couldt you try to put the date on your photos and also to show where you put all this collected waste.
Congratulations again to you
How @cleanplanet works
@cleanplanet

Oh am I sorry I forgot those... Will definitely make sure to do that in my text post for you guys ;) Keep up your amazing work, I really appreciate what you have been doing!

Hey fantastic! This reminds me of the post yesterday from the cleanup the folks did at steemfest.

I had no idea this existed and is it inspiring to see not only people out there cleaning up the planet, but the blockchain encouraging and rewarding it!

Nice work and thanks for spreading the word!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Exactly - I love the idea of rewarding people for their conservation efforts, it is just so cool! Thanks for stopping by Zeke, have a great weekend :)

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @for91days and earned you a reward, in form of a 100% upvote and a resteem. Your work really stands out! Your article now has a chance to get featured under the appropriate daily topic on our TravelFeed blog.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

Wooow, you are awesome guys, thanks!!! I am especially happy for the resteem this time as it will surely help to spread the word about this amazing initiative on the plaform. Thank you!

Thank you so much for the resteem and of course for using our tag!

I think this is nice job every one can do it for good future of our planet.
I appreciate your post.

Thanks! Feel free to make a similar one :)

Wow, you guys did extremely well!!! The earth needs more people like you doing this on regular basis. I am wishing you a great weekend.

Thanks Tomas! We will definitely be doing this on regular basis. Have an awesome weekend too :)

awesome that you did this! I think most of the time the trash just comes from the ocean, not the actual peple living there (or at least a little bit of both). Hopefully people saw you doing it and will want to imitte your behavior =)

Great job you guys!

Hey Eve! Thanks for stopping by, I thought you would like this post ;) And it was a pleasure for me to write it and clean that beach. Not really sure where exactly the trash came from but looking at the locals who don´t even bother to install trash cans at so many places as they just throw everything on the ground, I think I must blame them too...

yeah true, locals are definitely to blame...or rather lack of education. I think the young generation will save our planet (at least I hope so!)

Great job. I am going to have to copy you and hopefully many people do. I didnt even know about @cleanplanet. Thanks for posting.

That would be awesome Beth :) I am glad you like their initiative. Have a great weekend!

congratulations attitudes like this one that is changing the planet

Good Job Guys, thank you for that! Will do a Post about it as soon as I´m back on Bali. Unfortunately there is plenty of trash!

That would be awesome guys! I would really appreciate you joining this great project :) Yeah, I heard that not just Bali but pretty much all SA Asia is flooded with trash :(

Good job! :).. It's really sad to see how much trash are laying around on the beach! :/..Anyhow, amazing project! :)

Thanks buddy :) I would tell you to join too but I guess Finnish countryside where you live is spotless right? :D

No, it's definitely not spotless but quite clean yeah! :)..I simply can't understand why people litter. I hate it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17