Cleanplanet City Walk – A Little Late

in #cleanplanet5 years ago

It seems like weeks now since we left Krakow and I had meant to post my Cleanplanet Citywalk article last week or earlier but somehow didn’t get around to it.

dxgharc1gv.jpg

In fact, the photographs I took had ended up in my ARCHIVE folder and were bound to never see the light of day.

wwqrqujx9r.jpg

I may as well post them though and string my thoughts on the Sunday morning trash collecting event.

c3la2bsl3u.jpg

Many people had left by this time, and I would estimate around 40 people convened outside the Qubus Hotel at 11am. It was a last chance to talk and contact people, something I had been woeful at so far and today would not be much different.

x496dr8kmh.jpg

We were given plastic bags that we had to write our Steemit names on. I smudged mine quite badly; @bingbabe did much better and has much better writing than me.

4cwvnabgey.jpg

2jf9tbglf1.jpg

There were rumours floating around that you could earn STEEM depending on the amount of crap collected. This seems to have not have happened, but what the hell. It doesn’t really matter.

We walked up one side of the river next to some bars. The amount of cigarette butts was quite staggering. It seems everyone and his dog smokes here. I would say 80% of my trash was made up of these.

vknjsc1avs.jpg

Besides this, the city is not exactly filled to the brim with junk to collect. At times, I found myself heading for something only to find another Steemian beat me to it. I guess it was the promise of STEEM to be earned.

6rtvwfr3yj.jpg

@yann0975 was leading this event and handing out more bags when the original one was full. We crossed the river and headed back on the other side. There was even less trash on this side, which was right by the river.

18q39dtvrk.jpg

y6c4q3gzdg.jpg

The whole event lasted I would say less than an hour but it seemed to fly by. I have never picked up trash before but the spirit I felt from everyone was great.

i1gvy5d3zy.jpg

tewve769c3.jpg

We were all upbeat and feeling good about ourselves having done our little bit for the city of Krakow.

i972svfjcy.jpg

These photographs of the event are well publicised already. I say that as a general comment as.., well mine are not as they are mine!


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Makes you feel good, doesn't it?

About 3 days a week Sam makes me take a grocery bag to pick up trash out on the desert. I always feel good when I'm throwing the bag in the trash bin. When I'm picking it up I'd like to meet the dickheads that leave stuff behind casually. But that's probably another story for another time.

Thanks for picking up some of the bullshit from the world. It's a better place because you did.

It did feel good.. the vibe was great from everyone.. though the promised STEEM never did show up. Was it a hoax comment? Still I got a vote from @cleanplanet... they are good guys.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Wow what an awesome gesture by a great community. You guys got active (physically and socially,) did something nice for the planet, AND represented STEEM positively for the public to see!

Imagine a Blockchain contributing directly to the cleanup of the planet!

Wish I was there!

BRAVO!

It was a cool event, I thought I may get some problems with all the bending but I was OK.. I'm an old bugger you see.

Wow, what a lot of trash!! Good for you getting out there and cleaning up the town!! :D

It was really a great experience this cleanplanet CityWalk at krakow...
We felt with you a great enthusiasm for the cause of the planet.
Limiting pollution on land is really a great and beautiful adventure.
And we are really three times winners by participating in the eco-citizen action of collecting waste in nature or in the city.

  • STEEM earning its place in the global ecology
  • The planet gains a good cooling by limiting its pollution.
  • And the user earns Steem

Thank you for coming to the Sunday 11am event.
See you soon
@cleanplanet

Awesome that you guys did this to help spruce up the city a little. Also kind of awesome that they didn't have that much trash to collect in the first place. I know that most bigger cities in the US that would not be the case :P

This made me laugh, especially the bit about chasing scraps of litter, it sounded like pigeons scrambling after tasty crumbs! I've been plogging (picking litter and jogging) for some time but I had to buy special equipment - disposable gloves and a grabber thing. The childhood conditioning to not pick up things from the ground is very strong (mind you, so are the admonitions to not drop anything in the first place). I also treated myself to a special plastic ring that conveniently holds the rubbish bag open for you. Next I'm going for a tabard and a peaked cap 😂
Cleanplanet is a great idea, although I'm astonished that we need to have such an initiative.

We did get a single glove and were advised not to use your free hand.. good advice but not really necessary. Some of the stuff on the floor can be nasty. I wont tell you what was under the bridge.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 326 (11/30/18)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Slobberchops from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hi, @slobberchops!

You just got a 12.07% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62482.14
ETH 3044.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76