Adapting to Climate Change | It's May, the flowers are here but it's COLD...!

The beauty of spring can still be seen everywhere!

20190423_071032.jpg

Here's a purple trillium.. isn't it so pretty?

Steem line 2.png

So we've been back from Costa Rica a while now... and still it seems not much has been done here at Dreamland Express but we've been hard at work the wholr time!!! And learning tons of new things.

I really love spring time, especially when it's still a little chilly and the sun is out. Seeing the change in the trees and observing the fast growing vegetation is really amazing to me.

What is also clear is that once you learn to identify a plant, it really sticks with you... just like with our alphabet, can you imagine ever dorgetting what the letter "Z" looks like or any other letter for that matter??? I'm sure a lot of people reading can relate.

Listening to Arthure Haines the other day, I found found one of the plants he had mentioned, the two-leaved toothwort. It realky does taste like horseradish, not as strong but it has something just like it.

20190423_070215.jpg

I'm going to have to be on the lookout for wild rice at some point, though I'm not sure there is anything near by... hmmm maybe I could make it grow in our pond!


I've been getting into our "Wild Edibles"

20190507_115818.jpg

These common blue violets are delicious, I went out and collectes a bunch of the leaves, some flowers, a bit of plantain leaves and of course a good handfull of dandelion leaves to make a salad... It was really good!!! Especially with a lemon, olive oil and mustard dressing. It was so good, we made the salad again for our guests 😁!

20190502_195419.jpg

So yeah, I got to taste the dandelion flowers too... we made a tea. The first batch was a bit too bitter for everyone, but the second one and the third one were excellent!

I took the pettals off of about thirty dandelions, added a small handfull of violets, boiled some water, stired in honey, poured the sweet water into a jar with my flowers and let it sit for about 10 minutes.

There's something wonderfull aboit seeing our four and a half year old wanting to make this tea and seeing him come back into the trailer with a masson jar full of pretty yellow dandelions!

20190509_224143.jpg

It's really a lot of fun being outside all the time and getting to know the wild! We only left the big city a year ago... and i don't miss it very much at all. I don't want it out of my life but I am much happier here in the forest now for sure.

Going back to this climate change thing, I really believe the best thing we can do is have an awareness to the harm we can do to our environment, though it may not change the course the planet has been on for quite some time, it will help you the individual. Instead of fighting for change, be the change you want to see, but more importantly be prepared to adapt to different environments. And this is something everyone can practice, you don't need to live in the woods to become adabtable to change, but you do need to have variety of abundance and scarcity.

Anyway, before I start ranting, I just wanted to say it's been a little cold and mostly rainy but as long as I can learn something new everyday, it'll be all good 😁!

We still need to fabricate quite a lot of things to be self reliant here... freedom doesn't come without work, but eventually we will be a lot more sustainable than we used to be.

I do hope it will get a little warmer soon... we're going to a festival this weekend!

Untill next time...

PS: If you don't know, I have been writing for @Homesteaderscoop lately and I am doing a series of interview, here is the latests one https://steempeak.com/homesteaderscoop/@homesteaderscoop/hsco-featured-vendor-of-the-week-or-meet-elamental-earth

Steem line 2.png

QUOTE OF THE MONTH: @chireerocks

Birds will not teach you how to fly, they will show you how your dreams will make you fly.

(If you want your quote featured here, lookout for the next contest!)

THANK YOU FOR LOOKING, YOUR SUPPORT IS GREATLY APPRECIATED

Steem line 2.png

coop-logo-1.png

Join Us On Discord

If you want to know what really is inside this Coconut, take a look at my Humans Of Steemit.

And don't forget… Dreams Come True!

Sort:  

The need to ADAPT to the changes of our environment is the big one. Learning more about wild things that grow across seasons, learning how to preserve, dehydrate and store things naturally.... there is much lo learn. Loved the violets i your salad - very yum! I also enjoyed your article for the @homesteaderscoop - well done you!


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

Ah, thank you so much. It means a lot to me what you said about the interview article on @Homesteaderscoop.

Yes there is a ton to learn in order to adapt to thr coming changes.... Everyday I see people fighting it, staying in the air conditioning when it isn't needed or continuing to waste product as if everything was disposable... I just hope they don't suffer too much the day they will absolutely need to adapt in order to stay alive.

@senorcoconut, Every season brings it's own beauty and then it's an breathtaking experience to see the Transformation of mother nature. Hope that soon you can grow your own Rice Field. Stay blessed brother.

Posted using Partiko Android

It's true, every season is beautiful... the changes is what I like most I think.

Thanks

Welcome and it's true.

Hey there! Did you still want your Steem button? Contact me on Discord @FirebirdVelitas#4492 if so. :)

Oh wow... completely forgot!!! I'll try and reachout, otherwise... no worries about it 😁!

I can't seem to do it from my phone... my name on discord is the same as here.

I need to know the numbers that come after your name, it won't let me search for you without them. :)

Congratulations! I just stopped by to say that your post has been selected as a daily Featured Post of my personal curation project! You can find the daily Featured Post HERE.
I upvoted your contribution and I put it on the list because to my mind your post is what I call a quality content!
I am @miti, a manual curator that shall make available all his Steem Power to authors deserving of support. Let's make STEEM great again!
Have a nice day and keep up the good work!

hey there Senor, it's been a while, I love this post, what a wonderful journey of discovery you are on with your family and I love the excitement you share with your boy. I hope you are all well xxx

it really is true, once you get to know a plant it becomes a friend for life. Love the photos!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30